Bobcat Company Manufacturing Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Bobcat Company Manufacturing Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Bobcat Company CEO  Scott Park (no image)
Scott Park
0 Rating
  1. "Fantastic Opportunity for Any Engineering Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Gwinner, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bobcat Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Working as a Co-Op for Bobcat was an outstanding experience. They make you feel as you are a vital part of the team. You will be put on real tasks and never once did I feel like the classic intern who just got coffee for his boss. I would highly recommend that anyone who has the opportunity takes advantage of it.

    Cons

    Sometimes there can be a disconnect between the engineers and the factory (Gwinner ND) workers, however often times they both become your best resources.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going in the direction with your Co-op program. I would love the opportunity to obtain an internship position next summer as well as eventually work full time.

    Bobcat Company2019-09-11
  2. "11/10 would work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Manufacturing Engineer in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bobcat Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to try out equipment, great balance of hands on and office work, lots of opportunity for building more skills, great team environment, female specific group meetings, and even as a female, my opinion felt valued!

    Cons

    sometimes the way things are done could be more efficient

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Bobcat is a wonderfully positive environment.

    Bobcat Company2019-09-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Company for Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bobcat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are countless opportunities, plenty of support, and opportunities for career advancement.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but workload is fair

    Bobcat Company2019-06-24
  5. "Manufacturing Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Gwinner, ND
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bobcat Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Genuinely seems to care about the employees Pay started off a little low but definitely seems to be fair now. Work atmosphere is fantastic.

    Cons

    It's located in Gwinner, ND. A few members of upper management seem to have their own agenda and have some crazy ideas. We spent years trying to engineer the human element out of the process and now they want to add it back in.

    Advice to Management

    Stop sending us the direction we are headed. A lot of the policy changes are things that were tried years ago, but our new leader seems to forget that and wants to send us back to the stone age. The running joke is we are being told to be "world class" but are only being given a hammer and chisel to do it. Things seem to be headed in a downward direction because certain people wont concede on their ideas and won't make exceptions where they are needed. Running out of a part that is used daily because you want to have JIT delivery is a joke, especially when the parts are small and take up very little storage space. But we are being held to 1 day OHQ no matter what. certain exceptions should apply. Having a VP that comes in and tries to change everything and send us back to trying things we tried 5 years ago is such a bad idea. When everyone from the director level down listens to him just to humor him because they don't respect him, there's a serious issue

    Show More
    Bobcat Company2015-08-12
  6. "Manufacturing Engineering Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Wahpeton, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bobcat Company for less than a year

    Pros

    -Became familiar with real-world practices and processes -Was exposed to 5S and Lean Six-Sigma terminology and practices -Lots of freedom and independence in designing manufacturing equipment -Potential for lots of hours during busy times -Good intern pay -Exposure to modern, heavily automated (robots) facilities -Good exposure to a large variety of machining processes

    Cons

    -Not always busy in Manufacturing -Sometimes assigned "busy work" -The fork lift drivers can be a little crazy with their driving - get off the path if you hear a honk anywhere nearby -Company only offers 8-month co-ops unless you've already done a co-op, then a summer internship is an option. It would be nice to have summer internship options

    Bobcat Company2015-08-08
  7. "Good product, but minimal innovation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Gwinner, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bobcat Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience with some cool products.

    Cons

    Most senior level engineers don't have engineering degrees. The pay is awful for being in such a boring area of the country.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more to attract some top level talent.

    Bobcat Company2014-10-13
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Manufacturing Engineering in Gwinner, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bobcat Company for less than a year

    Pros

    They treat their interns very similar to full time employees. They help you will challenging projects that prepare you for the real world. Management is very transparent and I enjoyed my experience.

    Cons

    Production facilities are located in small towns and that's not for everyone. Factory workers are not all friendly to work with.

    Advice to Management

    It would have been nice to see some of the other facilities and departments within the company to expand employees knowledge of that all goes on at Bobcat.

    Bobcat Company2014-08-21
  9. "it is a company to work for, and it provides a lot of opportunity for internships and Co-ops."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manufacturing Engineer Co-Op in Gwinner, ND
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bobcat Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the work is flexible, with mentor training

    Cons

    require high adaptability and self-learning

    Bobcat Company2014-05-21
Found 8 reviews