Bodybuilding.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 223 reviews

2.4
24%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Bodybuilding.com CEO   Jas Krdzalic
Jas Krdzalic
66 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Poor planning and management.(in 20 reviews)
  • "His regular temper tantrums and fits of rage, often end in the firing of his own leadership that he brought in, blaming them instead of taking ownership of his poor leadership and decision making.(in 12 reviews)
  • "The employee turnover rate is astronomical, even without the layoffs they just went through.(in 11 reviews)
  • "As most of the other reviews elude to, these individuals are put into these roles based on friendships and a 'bro culture'.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Below average pay.(in 8 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bodybuilding.com and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company culture

    Apr 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company work/life balance is amazing. Great benefits, management is fantastic.

    Cons

    Pay is below market average. Communication could be better between all departments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall just ok

    Apr 19, 2021 - Compliance 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and work life balance. Unlimited PTO and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Pay wasn't great and opportunities to advance started lacking

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place until it wasn't

    Jul 2, 2021 - Front End Developer in Meridian, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health Ins, work-life balance, FTO

    Cons

    Layoffs, poor management decisions, and low pay.

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall, it was a good experience.

    Sep 2, 2020 - Team Leader in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership listens. Work life balance.

    Cons

    Company doesn't seem to know where they are headed. HR is a joke.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't waste your time

    Sep 1, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Decent pay and benefits (for Boise market) - Flexible WFH - Pretty good work/life balance

    Cons

    Truly terrible upper management was allowed to stay in place for over a year, despite constant reports to HR of sexism, disrespect, and incompetence. In the last year, I've seen two acquisitions, two layoff waves (of ~40 and ~75 people), and literal dozens of voluntary departures. New middle/upper management is hired every couple months, upon which we scrap the cumulative "vision" of the last collection of managers and start working on a new "vision." Meanwhile, longstanding systemic problems continue to compound, with fewer and fewer resources left to fix them. Long story short, this company has no future. Look elsewhere.

    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Innovative, Fast Paced, Great Company... mostly

    Oct 7, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits at the time were pretty great with 401k matching, good medical, dental, and vision options. The benefits extended to the onsite gym, unlimited flex time off, great work life balance and flexibility and a very high trust environment. They have some very talented people that do a great job of leading their teams to success and quality software in innovative and exciting ways.

    Cons

    If you don't fit the culture or if you get one of the few bad managers the amazing culture can quickly turn a bit hostile and bit you. At least one of their engineering managers is still struggling to lead well and has ruined the culture for many on his teams.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mid Level Manager

    Nov 25, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is very employee friendly, very good work life balance. No ones works too hard. Pay is decent for the area. Good stepping stone company to build your resume.

    Cons

    It is a bro club; very unprofessional. If you don't fit the culture you will not move up. Company changes and improvements move incredibly slow. Systems built in house severely limit company potential. Management focus seems to always be on the "shiny objects" not on actual business improvements. Career ceiling is low.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Evolving into a great place to work as it grows.

    Oct 5, 2013 - Software Engineer in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome culture. Trusting environment until you show you can't be trusted. Super smart and highly skilled coworkers. Great work life balance as no more regularly working 50+ hour weeks. Top of the line in-house gym.

    Cons

    Flat hierarchy with limited room for advancement. Quick to fire or lay people off, have seen more people fired than everywhere else I have worked combined.

    10 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Director

    Oct 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boise, ID
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Free gym membership (plus they have an AWESOME gym at corporate headquarters), lots of free supplements plus great discount if you order from the store. Great benefits, and I loved my boss (CMO). I heard new management is taking over, and to me, that's a good thing! They are located in Boise, which is an area that has a very low cost of living. So even though you may get paid less, you still have a lot of discretionary income at the end of the day.

    Cons

    The pay is way below market standards - at least for my position. They work very, very slowly. I've never seen such a large development team get so little done. There were also a lot of slackers at this company who took 2 hour lunches, or worked out in the middle of the day for over an hour, or left early when there's work to be done. It was easy to hide your laziness in this company. On the flip side, I was ready and willing to work and contribute and got put off, with nothing to do. I had to find work to do and offered my services to numerous departments. There are some people who would be okay with too little to do but I was extremely unhappy about this! For one, I couldn't show them how talented I am. For another, a person needs to make a meaningful contribution to their company for job satisfaction, so I was not happy for most of my time there. I was, as several coworkers often said "a serious waste of talent." I couldn't agree more! They could have gotten SO much out of me, but never took advantage of it. Another thing I didn't like was the bro culture there. If you were in with the hardcore exercise crowd, you were taken seriously and more likely to get promoted (especially muscular women). If you weren't, forget about being heard. I don't even think this was consciously done. But management has a responsibility to be more aware of this type of culture.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Starting Position

    Feb 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. The work-life balance is utterly amazing, along with the company supporting fitness and health.

    Cons

    Lack of career development. This is a great starting point to leap off to a different company down the road.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Bodybuilding.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bodybuilding.com? Share Your Experiences

or