Boehringer Ingelheim Scientist I Reviews | Glassdoor

Boehringer Ingelheim Scientist I Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
67%
Recommend to a Friend
Boehringer Ingelheim Chairman Hubertus von Baumbach  (no image)
Hubertus von Baumbach
0 Rating
  1. "Just started and already feel at home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientist I in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim

    Pros

    Benifits are as good as they come.

    Cons

    No cons noted at this time.

    Boehringer Ingelheim2015-05-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A good place to learn at the start of your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientist I in Fremont, CA

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibilities between projects, you can learn by helping with other projects.

    Cons

    Limitations as a contractor, the communication between management is not enough.

    Boehringer Ingelheim2016-10-18
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Disconnected company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientist I in Fremont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boehringer Ingelheim

    Pros

    Ability to work cross functionally ( CC, Purification, Analytical, Manufacturing, Logistics, etc) Ability to make game changing products.

    Cons

    -Company has lost a lot of good talent. Poor financial planning/ estimates prevents raises, bonuses, and conferences which leads to top talent find better paying jobs else where and ultimately poor research and development of products. -Upper management does not know how to manage work load. There are times where work load is very very low. -Old mindset discourages innovation -Temps will learn the necessary skills and jump ship to other companies. -HR is a joke. They have a power issue within the company. Salary is determined with the same poor financial planning as the management of the company. Paying an exceptional scientist less than an incompetent scientist is a sad reality at this company.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2015-07-21
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Good work life balance, great benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist I in Ridgefield, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boehringer Ingelheim full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best part of my work experience at BI was working flex time and the amount of PTO that I had. The people that I worked with were pleasant even though they were stressed and confused.

    Cons

    Very stressful environment, communication was horrible; right hand didn't know what left hand was doing, kind of management. Company outsources way too much. Years ago it was loyal to the employees but that is no longer true. There was a time when you felt the appreciation from upper management on down, again, this is no longer the case. They've created a culture where data is not shared and it's dog it dog; throw each under the bus! They definitely don't appreciate the mature worker and have put many out to pasture, unfairly so.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2014-06-11
  5. "Good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist I in Ridgefield, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great people to work with

    Cons

    Lack of comunication. The managers dont tell their emploees what is really going on and many rumors spread making everyone nerveous.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2014-05-21
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Scientist I in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boehringer Ingelheim for less than a year

    Pros

    great facility great cafeteria with reduced priced items learned a lot good experience people are great likelihood of getting hired permanently after temping are good if a position opens up

    Cons

    They were looking to hire people or switch people to be overnight (3rd shift).

    Boehringer Ingelheim2014-03-21
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist I Process Development in Fort Dodge, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good resources, job security, friendly environment

    Cons

    No room for advancement, No learning opportunities, bad location

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2014-02-01
  8. "I've been working here as a temporary employee for a few months now. Work environment is good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Scientist I in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and great co-workers.

    Cons

    As a temporary employee, you are basically underpaid and also get no benefits. Basically, cheap labor.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2013-07-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientist I in Danbury, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim

    Pros

    Benefits are great (full tuition reimbursement, 100% 401k match up to 5%, pension, annual bonus, 4 weeks vacation), well staffed, flexible work hours

    Cons

    Salary could be better, boring work, career advancement means chasing promotions for years while your job function stays the same.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2009-08-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Boehringer Ingelheim a Quality Place of Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Scientist I in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boehringer Ingelheim

    Pros

    The benefits are outstanding, Boehringer makes it a priority not to hire too many employees to prevent layoffs. As a result, layoffs are extremely rare for salary employees. Boehringer pumps 10% of the profits back into R&D which makes my job so much easier and more exciting.

    Cons

    As Boehringer grows, so grows the political environment. Management is not well organized, but this can be said for most companies. Because it is such a good place to work, people do not leave. This can make career development and moving up the ladder very difficult. When a new process is introduced, Boehringer tends to hire someone new rather than develop an existing employee into the new process, slowing any chance of career development/improvement.

    Continue reading
    Boehringer Ingelheim2009-03-05
Found 10 reviews