Boeing Industrial Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Boeing Industrial Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
Boeing President and CEO David Calhoun
David Calhoun
0 Rating
  1. "Great experience working in different teams on real-work projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Industrial Engineer Intern 

    I worked at Boeing part-time

    Pros

    Exposure to plane industry, training, fast-paced, friendly environment

    Cons

    Not many honestly. Red tape, but that's everywhere and hope it is there for a company that builds planes!

    Boeing2019-08-15
  2. "Alright but joined during a rocky time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boeing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    really good benefits, management supportive of my ideas

    Cons

    company going down due to the 737

    Boeing2019-12-11
  3. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer IV in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    excellent tools, high energy environment, great benefits, numerous locations

    Cons

    too dependent on electronic media for communication, difficult to enter company; retention system is neutral

    Advice to Management

    none

    Boeing2019-10-19
  4. "Big Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer in Renton, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to explore throughout the company

    Cons

    Hard to make change. Lots of bureaucracy

    Boeing2019-09-25
  5. "Supply Chain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer 

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot of growth opportunities. Overall a great company to work for.

    Cons

    Nothing stand out as a negative for the company.

    Boeing2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Where are all the adults??"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Industrial Engineer in Everett, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing for less than a year

    Pros

    Pros? I guess the factory floor is pretty nifty. Being surrounded by huge partially built airplanes is fun.

    Cons

    This company is the most poorly managed hunk of bureaucracy I have ever seen. It's also the worst and most toxic work environment I've ever seen. I don't even know where to begin so I'll just list some complaints in no particular order: 1) The factory, workplace, and shared areas are disgusting. They hire only barebones janitorial staff so the common kitchen hardly ever gets cleaned, the floors are covered in stains, earplugs, food remnants, garbage...Planes have literally hat mice damage to the interiors that have to be ripped out. The bathrooms are covered in...well bathroom stuff. 2) The management structure is entirely top down. In my immediate vicinity, I have a team lead, a senior team lead, a supervisor, and a manager. So I often get emails filtered through four layers of management. It also means that no one owns any decision. We routinely have meetings where no one in the room can actually do anything about the things we're talking about. "Hey, that's not my responsibility" is the most common phrase I hear around this place. 3) It really doesn't feel like anyone's voice matters or, more to the point, that anyone cares about the employees' voices. My team spent the summer implementing a system we knew wouldn't work and it costs the department and the company tons of money. Everyone said it wouldn't work, that the plan was poorly laid out - from the shop workers to the engineers. Doesn't matter, do it anyway. That's a sure ticket to low morale. 4) Holy heck these people snipe at each other! Everyone is passive aggressive and rude, from notes left written in the kitchenette to rude comments in meetings. I've seen meetings devolve into angry tirades, meetings where people walk out or refuse to even show up, blame games...Makes it hard to do your job. On top of all of that, work-life balance is literally a joke in my team. Constant jokes about not being allowed to go on vacation, needing to work on weekends, people working 10+ hours a day EVERY DAY. 5) The larger management strategy around here seems to be...non-existent. I don't think that any upper management personnel ever walk down to the shop floor to see the issues or understand the complaints. I keep wondering when competent people will show up to help. 6) I haven't been here long but I hear the compensation and benefits are pretty bad. No yearly bonuses, no year to year inflation increases, poor advancement opportunities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Uhm, please quit and let someone competent take over.

    Boeing2019-08-11
  7. "Ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, good work life balance

    Cons

    Lack of direction, bureaucracy

    Boeing2019-07-13
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Poor Culture is Extremely Tiresome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of smart, good people who are a joy to work with. I personally do not work long hours so work life balance isn't bad. There is room to grow in your career if you plan to stay at Boeing a long time.

    Cons

    Boeing has a very toxic work culture. It rewards people for exaggerating about the success of the work that they do. Only positive information is shared with management, and failures are blamed on others. Teams point fingers at each other and never self reflect. Some teams are worked into the ground with forced overtime. There is a huge lack of respect for people. Lower level employees are completely ignored when they approach management and higher level engineers with ideas. The leadership culture is very top-down. There is a lot of pressure on management to push forward with projects in order to obtain desired metrics, at the expense of the happiness of employees. I want it to be clear: There are lots of different teams in Boeing, and the culture varies a lot between different manufacturing sites. The 737 site is struggling the most.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't just listen to your employees, take action. Some of the best ideas come from the people on the floor, closest to the action.

    Boeing2019-06-25
  9. "Industrial Engineer 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can learn alot, good benefits. The will pay for education.

    Cons

    Can sometimes be stressful environment.

    Advice to Management

    Make work more fun so people can want to come to work and do a good job.

    Boeing2019-05-11
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Engineer in Everett, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boeing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work there and so do my friends

    Cons

    Further Parking and my boyfriend doesn't work there

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing

    Boeing2019-05-09
Found 67 reviews