BofI Federal Bank Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
BofI Federal Bank President and CEO Gregory Garrabrants
Gregory Garrabrants
96 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast-paced, great place to build technical skills and come across different problems(in 12 reviews)

  • "The coffee machine and free pretzels(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No training program whatsoever, and no HR department(in 9 reviews)

  • "Also, those 5 star positive reviews by upper management are there to mislead you(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Full Time

      Mar 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good over time opportunities for some departments.

      Cons

      There are not any cons, this company is flexible and fair

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of potential.

      Oct 13, 2020 - Warehouse Lending Specialist in La Jolla, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location, good benefits, very nice office building and facilities, stock compensation, early start time due to business demands allowed early end of day.

      Cons

      Low pay, stressful responsibilities due to daily deadlines.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst place to work

      Sep 18, 2020 - Sales Associate in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Don’t work here, create some more options for yourself

      Cons

      Food trucks at lunchtime were good

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wholesale/Correspondent AE

      Sep 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can think of none.

      Cons

      Management is vulgar, profane, denegrades staff, and is sexist. The feel of the place is of being in the middle of a melt-down, each and every day. There is a lack of professionalism from the top down, and if you are one who values a professional environment, you will not find it here. All disputes are handled openly, and aggressive personel thrive. There is no professional privacy, no professional courtesy, and no thought to handling individual employee concerns in a in a manner that does not involve absolutely everyone on or off your team. Any employee can be overwhelmed all day, every day, by loud, vulgar, aggravated conversations which flow straight through the phone to the client. Rather than this being considered the height of unprofessionalism, it is constant behaviour. Management denegrades personnel in a sexist, vulgar manner. I cannot comprehend this still going on in 2018. In my time at BofI, 4 top producing colleagues left, one loudly, and with much vulgarity and dissatisfaction - which by the way had been tolerated for a long time. Unbelievable. Just remember - commissioned employees do not leave well paying jobs at this rate EVER. These are jobs people rarely leave, so enough said. I'll move on to working for a company who knows how to handle a professional staff.

      Continue reading
      21 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company to work for.

      May 17, 2019 - Audit Senior in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, they provide for their employees. They will grow and there will be chances for growth with them

      Cons

      Politics can be difficult, but it's a common problem I guess

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overview

      Apr 15, 2019 - Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good experience and high learning curve

      Cons

      long hours and repetitive tasks

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fast Pace, Forward Thinking, Challenging Work

      Sep 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything! If you want to be challenged, heard, and feel that your input is valued and appreciated, even if it isn't the consensus, then this is a great place for you. You are challenged with tasks and projects you may have never done, but you have the support and encouragement to be successful when jumping into something new to you. You get to focus on things that are also important and interesting to you that make you successful as well. No day is ever the same, new things all the time.

      Cons

      Nothing to add.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to learn

      Jan 27, 2019 - Data Warehouse Developer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot of skills, always something to do

      Cons

      Low morale, too many meetings

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Hard Work; Very Challenging

      Mar 15, 2016 - Analyst in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The bank is growing very quickly; so by nature, the environment is fast-paced. Your ideas will be heard by senior management if they are cost-efficient and ultimately increase production. Very seldom will you be bored – or at least it won’t be due to a lack of work. You work very closely with senior management and will likely have several interactions with the CEO if you are located at HQ. Overall I would consider BofI to be a very encouraging, supportive and challenging employer that rewards you for your hard work. I have recommended BofI to many of my friends who are interested in transitioning away from a brick-and-mortar institution.

      Cons

      You may find that in various departments people have a “that’s not my job” attitude; this may hinder your workflow, but you can build relationships with colleagues in other departments to avoid this. In some ways, BofI still operates with a “small-bank” mentality (tons of manual processes, excel-based monitoring and limited infrastructure/resources). The technology that you are provided with to perform your duties is subpar – for an internet-based bank, I would expect technological infrastructure to be much more efficient and reliable.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      People quit bosses not jobs.....

      Jul 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We all walk in here wanting to fix and better the company. The company asks for your ideas and keeps track of which department has the most continuos improvement ideas. There are snacks and for the more part everyone is great to work with.

      Cons

      Supervisors lack professionalism and the tools to help their employees grow. Instead of being happy when someone gets promoted or moves to another department they get resentful. Customer service and helping to fix the company's reputation is not a main concern which is terrible since that's the reason we have a job. I have been asked to under perform simply because "it's not my job" or "we don't have time" which is really outside my work ethic. At some point it just becomes sad because I like to believe I was hired to make a difference, unfortunately I get reprimanded for something other jobs would seek in an employee.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 154 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BofI Federal Bank Job Seekers

    VP
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at BofI Federal Bank? Share Your Experiences

    BofI Federal Bank logo
    or