Bohler Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

Bohler Engineering Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Adam J. Volanth
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employees are valued and rewarded for their hard work(in 5 reviews)

  • "I learned a lot of useful skills from my manager that I will be able to use in my career(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Terrible work life balance and bonus does not cover anything(in 5 reviews)

  • "Long hours, little pay and disorganized "leaders"(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Staff Engineer 

      I have been working at Bohler Engineering full-time

      Pros

      Bohler offers a fun working enviornment mixed with plenty of challenging but rewarding opportunities.

      Cons

      Minor inconsistencies throughout company can occasionally lead to confusion/miscommunication.

      Bohler Engineering2019-04-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "A positive experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Bohler Engineering

        Pros

        Work is work, but my experience at Bohler has been positive. When I have had challenges, I’ve felt comfortable expressing my concerns knowing that my manager will be supportive. I appreciate the focus on learning & development because I think it makes everyone better.

        Cons

        Bohler has very high standards and not everyone can cut it. I suppose that’s not necessarily a bad thing and it can be motivating.

        Advice to Management

        Keep asking for and listening to feedback.

        Bohler Engineering2019-03-22
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Bohler Engineering full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        If you are looking for a company that will support you, Bohler Engineering will do that. The company values employees that have a passion for what they do and are will to work to advance themselves. If you fit this perspective, you will have a great experience, as I did. Focus is on high quality and great customer experience. This goal was achieved in my time with Bohler.

        Cons

        On the other hand, if you lack motivation and drive, you may find yourself among people with different mindsets. Even so, I think management will make every effort to motivate and encourage you to a reasonable extent.

        Advice to Management

        Keep focusing on hiring the best people

        Bohler Engineering2019-03-14
      • Helpful (2)

        "Stay away if you have a family"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Project Engineer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bohler Engineering full-time

        Pros

        Exciting place for Jr. Staff to learn.

        Cons

        You will be expected to work long hours consistently. Your hours of work will be micro-managed. Unrealistic deadlines and stressful environment. Old-school mentality of business.

        Advice to Management

        Be flexible. Stop micro-managing, which only destroys employees morales and prevents them from taking ownership. Continue your trainings, which are gold. Trust and encourage staff in a positive way.

        Bohler Engineering2019-03-13
      • "Lack of Mentorship"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Design Engineer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Bohler Engineering full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Fellow employees were great to work with.

        Cons

        Project Manager had very limited local design knowledge, therefore quality of mentoring was poor.

        Advice to Management

        Bring in project managers with local knowledge.

        Bohler Engineering2019-03-08
      • "Good Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Bohler Engineering full-time

          Pros

          Energetic work environment, friendly staff, opportunities to work on variety of different projects

          Cons

          No big cons that really stand out

          Bohler Engineering2018-12-11
        • Helpful (8)

          "Bad work life balance"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Bohler Engineering

          Pros

          They are able to underbid all projects to get them. This enables them to have a lot of work consistently. However by underbidding, employees have to work extra hours to make up for it. Christmas party is nice.

          Cons

          Terrible work life balance and bonus does not cover anything. Working 55+ hours a week is normal. Work culture is terrible. Hire more employees.

          Advice to Management

          Lower the turnover rate by offering better work life balances.

          Bohler Engineering2018-12-20
        • Helpful (3)

          "good not great"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Bohler Engineering full-time

          Pros

          it could be a lot worse

          Cons

          higher managment doesn’t remember what it’s like being in a cube and are not relatable

          Bohler Engineering2018-11-16
        • Helpful (4)

          "engineer"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Bohler Engineering full-time

          Pros

          there is nothing positive in this company

          Cons

          Please do not work for this company. There are plenty of great companies out there that you can grow in your career. They will make you work extra hours and dont get pay you at all for all the hard work.

          Advice to Management

          n/a

          Bohler Engineering2018-11-08
        • "Positive and Inspirational Work Place"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sterling, VA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Bohler Engineering full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Exciting projects, great employees, team oriented, constantly working to improve, listens to employees and seeks/implements feedback, inspirational leadership, great CEO

          Cons

          Land development industry can be cyclical/work flow can go from normal to very busy, tight deadlines, stress

          Advice to Management

          Continue focusing on flexibility in the workplace and supporting a family friendly work/life balance.

          Bohler Engineering2018-08-27
        Found 57 reviews