Boise Cascade Reviews | Glassdoor

Boise Cascade Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 100 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Boise Cascade CEO Tom K. Corrick
Tom K. Corrick
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low Pay, long hours to make money(in 5 reviews)

  • "They just fluff the title to try and compensate for the low pay, I guess(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boise Cascade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work

    Cons

    Recommend by current employees

    Boise Cascade2019-06-13
  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stacker Operator in Roxboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boise Cascade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, paid time off, hours were great for parent w/minor children

    Cons

    Hot summers and extremely cold winters, no climate control

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee’s concerns more and try not to pick and choose who are offered better positions there were a lot of favorites that were able to do anything they wanted. The biggest concern I had as a former employee was observing the unfair treatment of you were friends with the supervisor or he liked you then it was smooth sailing if not then your job would be made more difficult and it was always a chance you could...

    Show More
    Boise Cascade2019-05-03
  3. "Not bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boise Cascade

    Pros

    Vacation, 401k match, good benefits

    Cons

    A lot of busy work from corporate and regional

    Boise Cascade2019-03-31

    Boise Cascade Response

    April 4, 2019Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for the feedback!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MEH2 in Roxboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boise Cascade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment. Excellent benefits. Great work/life ratio, Safety Matters, Boise is one of those companies that will let you work to your full potential without holding you back.

    Cons

    Boise Cascade is not in South Central Arkansas,

    Advice to Management

    Keep Up The good work. Keep Listening to your employees. Keep Building Up and Expanding. GET A PLANT IN EL DORADO ARKANSAS, Please.

    Boise Cascade2019-01-13

    Boise Cascade Response

    January 14, 2019Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and the positive sentiments!

  5. "excellent company with advancement opprotunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boise Cascade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most are willing to invest in employee development

    Cons

    not a lot of negatives unless you can't start out working an off shift

    Boise Cascade2019-01-08

    Boise Cascade Response

    January 9, 2019Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for being part of the team!

  6. "Freight Specialist/ Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Specialist, Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boise Cascade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Phenomenal Benefits! Boise has nailed the work life balance down for its employees. I worked 7 wonderful years with the Chicago Branch, not that it was all perfect everyone has bad days! The only reason I left this company was the commute from the Chicago suburbs to the branch location (nowhere near Chicago) was getting to be too much. Excellent 401k, Excellent Time off program, profit sharing, paternity leave...

    Show More

    Cons

    Perhaps this is localized... but, there is a clear disconnect between sales and OPS without a “real” effort to try and correct it. Technology seems to be average at best.... Salary for Frieght Specialist is not competitive with the current Market

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I was extremely satisfied while working at Boise Cascade (Chicago) My constructive criticism would be the disconnect between Sales and OPS. Design a program that allows Sales to work alongside OPS for a few days every year... I have suggested this in past surveys... It will help with Employee Retention. Help them understand RFN, and Agility.... fixing simple errors made in SOs during surge season only...

    Show More
    Boise Cascade2019-01-06

    Boise Cascade Response

    January 7, 2019Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you very much for being part of our team for 7 years, and providing such thoughtful feedback. Wishing you the best!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boise Cascade full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, decent benefits, ethical,

    Cons

    Not open to flex time/telecommute

    Boise Cascade2018-12-11

    Boise Cascade Response

    December 13, 2018Corporate Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your comments! We're glad you're part of the team.

  8. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boise Cascade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ok company to work for, nice people nice atmosphere. Safety is huge at this company, they are diligent about their safety practices and do care about no-one gets hurt slogan.

    Cons

    Corporate is too involved and they tend to micromanage the local management team by interfering on a regular basis .

    Advice to Management

    Allow the local Branch to run as it's own profit center, stay out of the daily and mundane decisions and work on issues at a higher elevation.

    Boise Cascade2018-12-24

    Boise Cascade Response

    January 2, 2019Corporate Communications Manager

    We appreciate your feedback - it's important for us to hear! Thank you for being part of Boise Cascade.

  9. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boise Cascade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Company overall. Definitely growing and making more and more acquisitions every year. Decent pay & benefits. Really enjoyed my fellow employees and customers during my time.

    Cons

    Definitely still a “boys club” and if you’re not in the “in crowd” you are easily and often overlooked. Work environment is pretty unprofessional where vulgarities are tolerated and sometimes even encouraged by senior staff. A little behind on the technology front, operating systems are old but improving and there is little to no focus in marketing. Nepotism and lots of it.

    Advice to Management

    Create a more equal playing field for your team. Often the work load is not distributed appropriately and people are performing the duties of others and not compensated for it. Stop turning a blind eye to the social issues and hold every accountable equally.

    Boise Cascade2018-11-14

    Boise Cascade Response

    November 14, 2018Corporate Communications Manager

    We are sorry to hear your experience did not match our intention of being a great place to work. It’s not easy to receive criticism, but we welcome the opportunity to improve. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Making your mark not always a good thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boise Cascade full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As time goes on there are less and less.

    Cons

    Anyone with good experience is getting out. New branch manager is making things difficult for anyone and everyone. The yard guys are treated like they are not intelligent enough to make a decision on their own and its starting to be the same way on the inside. I used to like coming to work but now I dread seeing the branch manager pull in.

    Advice to Management

    OSHA is the standard for a reason. Picking and choosing what regulations you want to apply or (cough) improve on just makes you seem like a know it all. You have made everyone's job take longer and in most cases it's not necessary. Having someone go around and tell on the yard guys, come on thought we are supposed to be a team?

    Boise Cascade2018-11-07

    Boise Cascade Response

    November 8, 2018Corporate Communications Manager

    As hard as it is to hear, thank you for bringing this important feedback forward. We strive to maintain a culture where everyone feels like they're on the same team. We will share these comments with BMD leadership.

Found 100 reviews