BonWorth Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
BonWorth President & CEO Loren W. Wells (no image)
Loren W. Wells
20 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Diverse team with good working dynamic

    Jun 28, 2018 - Product Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in the corporate headquarters has allowed me to work with such a great team. The diversity of women working in the company just lets us have more fruitful discussions on what it’s like to be a woman in the modern times and how important it is for every woman to be represented in how Bonworth clothing aims to make all women feel beautiful. The team has really taught me so much about how fashion isn’t just about the clothes but how they can make a woman feel confident about herself.

    Cons

    Misunderstandings within a diverse group of people are cons, but since some of the more senior staff are more used to handling such situations, most misunderstandings are easily resolved.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Disaster

    Jan 20, 2021 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No pros. It's total chaos. Executives don't know what they are doing

    Cons

    Bad culture, bad compensation, bad W/L balance, all bad

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good people, bad management

    Apr 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Greenwich, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people who work at HQ are all very friendly and welcoming, good atmosphere overall aside from the CFO and some other top-level employees

    Cons

    -Everyone is overworked, lots of outdated practices and equipment -Current employees are overworked and doing a lot of things that aren't even in their job description so they are taking advantage of salaried employees and working them to death but they are good people are hard workers so they deal with it to try and save the company -No time to train new employees, not very good communication -You never know when your going to be the next one fired

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Needs Improvement

    May 14, 2019 - Sales Associate/Keyholder in Greenwich, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing management team, easygoing work environment

    Cons

    Poor upper management, low pay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome first job

    Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked full-time for Bonworth for one year. I was hired fast and straight out of college. I enjoyed working with everyone at the company. Since I was the youngest in the team, there were mixed expectations from everyone. Nonetheless, I found teammates who were patient enough to mentor me and teach me the ropes of the job. My supervisor always motivated me to take on challenges and learn new skills while working for her at Bonworth. Despite not having much experience, everyone treated me like a valuable member of the team. It is so cool that you get to talk to the COO (Guru Gurumoorthy) and it is so exciting to know that he returns calls from anyone and listens to feedback all the time

    Cons

    I had some difficulty paying off my student loans with the pay of the job, which is the main reason why I had to change employment. But for the job itself, the pay was more than enough for what I had learned from the company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Chance to help women feel Bonworth Beautiful

    Jun 19, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in Henderson, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’ve been working for Bonworth for almost ten years now and I still love the feeling when I get to help women in the store find the perfect outfit that’s both a mix of comfort and style. I guess it’s because I’ve been with the company for so long that I have grown a bit attached to the loyal customers at the store. I enjoy my job so much that I’ve really made it a point to make sure that every customer who walks out of the store feels more beautiful and more confident from when they came in. The culture of satisfying a customer starts right at the top with the COO- Gurusankar Gurumoorthy known to go to extra ordinary lengths to satisfy a customer. It’s really fulfilling for me.

    Cons

    Well, I can’t really think of any cons from my end.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    So far so good.

    Aug 2, 2017 - Assistant District Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our customer base is amazing. Nothing like getting a hug from a little old lady to make the rest of the day feel "worth it". Pay is above minimum from the get go. That is a blessing. Schedules are very flexible, which is also a huge blessing.

    Cons

    Available hours per week are based on last years store performance. This is typical of retail, however...if your store had a poor staff last year and sales were low - and this year your store is back and "winning", having more staff on hand would be nice. You normally work alone, which can be a little stressful at times. I find it makes me WANT to work harder, since if there is a screw up..its definitely on me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Gurumoorthy Gurusankar is awesome!

    Jun 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have just recently started working for the company Bonworth and I have loved every day of it. One of the best memories I have thus far, is meeting Gurumoorthy Gurusankar, or "Guru" as I call him. He was such a lively person and very open to helping myself and other employees out in anything we would need! I would recommend working for this company to any of my friends.

    Cons

    I think that we should have more company outings, my coworkers are great as well as upper management, but we do not have as many organized events. I would enjoy that a lot!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Mentorship from my manager

    Jun 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’m a sales associate for Bonworth, and I’ve been with the company since 2017. Nowadays, it’s rare to find a manager who cares enough about their employees let alone to consider them as a mentor. My manager has been with the company since 2011 and has had good feedback from all of us at the store because she listens to our concerns, values what we do, and helps us to grow career-wise. She isn’t just loved by her employees but also all of the customers who come by at the store.

    Cons

    There are times when some of our customers become a little difficult to deal with but nothing we can’t handle with the help of our manager. Other than that, it’s a great job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Employee discount is great

    Jun 15, 2018 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I’m a sales associate working part-time in a Bonworth retail store and I’ve been working with the company for more than six years. The job is simple once you get used to it. Sure, there are changes every now and then especially since they changed management up top (The COO- Gurusankar Gurumoorthy is extremely dynamic and believes in keeping current fashion trends in mind) but the general idea is still the same. Other than the relatively light work load at the store, I think the employee discount is really a great bonus to the job! I just love the stuff I get at the store at discount prices.

    Cons

    The pay isn’t the best but the employee discount helps! It could be higher.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Work at BonWorth? Share Your Experiences

or