Bond Brand Loyalty Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
50%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Bond Brand Loyalty CEO Bob Macdonald
Bob Macdonald
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great environment, great people, great work(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great culture & benefits (the culture truly cannot be replicated and is in the heart of everything we do)(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can some time be a challenge(in 18 reviews)

  • "Extremely long days with no work life balance are NOT counteracted by parties or events(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Great place to be"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time

    Pros

    I work with some of the smartest and hardest working people in the industry. I can honestly say that I have learned something new every single day. Bond is willing to to invest and commit to you but you have to commit back. There are plenty of opportunities within the agency and doors are always open if you want to try something new. I always feel that Bond is invested in my career and personal growth. It is a large office but they do a great job of making it feel inclusive. It's a fun culture!

    Cons

    This could be a pro or a con - but you have to work hard. If you're not up to the challenge it's a con but if you are, it is a pro. You work hard but so does everyone around you and it makes you want to roll up your sleeves and dive into your project. Like many agencies I've worked at in the past, there are areas of improvement but like any good relationship - being aware of those areas and committing to fixing them is important. Bond knows where they need to focus and is constantly making improvements.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2015-07-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Harsh reality of the agency world"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Compensation was ok. Some flexibility.

    Cons

    Every marketer's nightmare: no freedom of expression, political culture, pressure of tracking hours, favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2019-07-24

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    July 29, 2019

    Hi - unfortunate that you felt this way - we aim to balance our approach to encourage creativity and innovation with the rigor we know it takes to run a successful business. I couldn't agree with you more, that people are our greatest investment - and we work very closely with our leaders to ensure our environment helps to bring out the best in everyone! Thanks, VP- People & Values

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Account executive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It's like managing your own business here.

    Cons

    No work life balance Managers are not properly trained or set up for success

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2016-02-16

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    February 23, 2016People & Values Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. You’re right, it’s an entrepreneurial environment at Bond which makes it great for learning. We’re not always a 9-5 environment, but work life balance is important to us so we would encourage you to work with your manager on finding a balance that works for you. We appreciate your advice and are focusing on developing our leaders.

  4. "The Place to Be!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I admit that not every day is the best day to answer this question but that's also what makes this place so great. An ever evolving environment that continues to build better people,processes and services for us to collaborate as a team and work through. I've worked here for almost 9 years and still love the atmosphere here. Great people and lots of opportunities/channels to connect with leadership/executive team members to discuss what's on your mind. This place has the right mixture of work driven goals, pressures, excitement and fun to truly feel accomplished every day.

    Cons

    It is important that collaboration remains top of mind as we all work together here. In our fast paced environment sometimes we put a little too much focus on the job/delivery and can lose track of the importance of cross team collaboration. This is starting to change with some recent efforts, but a current con nonetheless.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2015-07-30

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    October 1, 2015People & Values Team

    Thank you for your review. We are so delighted to have employees like you who love working here. We appreciate your feedback and agree that Bond is certainly a unique place, full of the brightest people in the industry. Your passion and engagement is what fuels Bond where every day brings a new challenge and a new excitement. It has been a continued focus of ours to create an environment that fosters better cross collaboration amongst teams through coffee chats, kitchen table workshops, all employee meetings, connect sessions and employee events. Again, thank you for your feedback and we encourage you to continue to embrace the change and be a part of the Bond evolution

  5. "Over 25 Years at Bond and Still Loving It"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time

    Pros

    I admit to being biased, since I have been with Bond (formerly Maritz Canada) for over 25 years -- since its very early days in Canada. Over those years, I have seen and been a part of the continuous growth and evolution of a dynamic organization. And, not only has the Company grown, I have grown my career with it, having had 9 promotions in my first 10 years alone. It's important to realize how many "agencies" have come and gone over the years, while Bond has successfully navigated the waves of change and disruption that have washed over the marketing industry. Today, we are a far more advanced, digitally-savvy, strategic and focused business than we have ever been. We are not a shrinking violet. We are over 300-strong, with some of the biggest and best clients in North America. Our vision that all marketing, both now and in the future, revolves around authentic consumer loyalty to the brand, is unique, and it resonates with our clients. I've always been in the "agency" business. To me, it has always been about "work hard, play hard." If that rings your bell, than Bond is a place to check out.

    Cons

    Bond is not for the faint of heart. This company, from the CEO and on through the entire organization, sets high expectations. Of ourselves. Every day is a challenge to do my best, put on my thinking cap and rise to the level of excellence set by the people around me. Our clients also place high expectations on us, as they should. They come to us because they are looking for great work, and great results. The people who do well here are self starters who love to be challenged, prefer to take initiative rather than orders, are passionate about service, and of course, are fun loving animals. People who like structure, 9-5 repeatability and find change difficult, will have a tough time at Bond. It would be great if we had all the money in the world to give our people all of the training and development opportunities under the sun. But the fact of the matter is, like most every company today, we have limited resources and given that, do a pretty damn good job with what we have.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2015-07-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great for those who want a career, not great if you just want to get paid"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I see both sides of the reviews that have been written and they are mostly true. The difference in the good reviews and the bad reviews are the outlook of the employee. This is a great company to work for because it is constantly adapting to new opportunities and growth. Pro's as you have read is team spirit. The company hires people who have passion for what they do. The people you work with are so talented and forward thinkers. When I fist started here about a year and a half ago the first thing I noticed was how nice everyone was. The company culture is the best I've ever had. I am a mid level employee and it took me a year (normal) to learn my role and master it and it was hard work. After that year I understood the business and decided it was time to make some changes to our department and to our offering. My initiative to change things for the better has been embraced and implemented. I have been rewarded for forward thinking and received very little push back. This company wants people to contribute and pull their weight of course. It is not a place you can "hide" like in large corporations. If you have drive, passion for what you do and initiative you will love it here!

    Cons

    Work life balance depends on the time of year. If it is busy, you are working hard. The thing is, you work long hours because you care. You want to do a good job for your clients, for your team and for your opportunity to prove yourself and grow in the company. When it is not busy, you have the freedom to relax and enjoy the pool table in the cafeteria, the rooftop patio, study rooms, the gym and common areas and no one looks at you like you are slacking. All jobs come with cons and parts you don't like about it but I have to say for me, it's time sheets. The system to input your time is old and touchy and it is a pain to have to account for every half-hour in your day.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2015-02-05

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    April 14, 2015Vice President, People & Values

    Thank you for your feedback. So glad that you appreciate what we offer here at Bond. People like you make all the difference in the world. You're not alone about the whole hate-on for timesheets. But, as you can appreciate, it's a necessary part of our ability to manage projects effectively (as well as account for our work for our clients). But we here you and the PMO is looking to improve the timesheet system. Stay tuned for more soon on that. Thank again for your comments and for making Bond a great place to be.

  7. Helpful (5)

    "Smoke & Mirrors"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time

    Pros

    - It's a nice building to work in - Benefits are decent - They work hard to ensure the bonus is given out each year - Employee events are a lot of fun

    Cons

    - Workload is excessive on teams and people end up working crazy hours - Work life balance is a struggle here - Leadership struggles to keep top talent and keeps those who are damaging morale - HR department is not trustworthy - The pay is dreadful

    Bond Brand Loyalty2014-10-24

    Bond Brand Loyalty Response

    April 14, 2015Vice President, People & Values

    Thank you for your feedback. While we always offer exiting employees an opportunity to share their experiences with us through exit interviews (so that we can learn and improve), I'm not sure if you were able to have one with us. Nonetheless, I would still like to better understand your concerns, especially as it relates to trust. Please feel free to contact me at: michael.kyritsis@bondbrandloyalty.com. Thank you again for sharing your views.

  8. "Great place to work and grow"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1) Working with incredibly smart and caring people - while we work hard, we have a lot of fun along the way 2) Great opportunities to collaborate, problem solve and create innovative solutions for clients 3) Environment supports continuous learning - if you love learning and stretching yourself, there are many opportunities for that

    Cons

    Working in professional services, there are times where you have to commit to longer hours depending on the engagement/project. While exciting, this is not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2020-05-22
  9. "Fantastic Culture and Bright Future"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bond cares about its clients', employees and the well being of their employees families, especially during the times of COVID. Bond was one of the first organizations to declare full work from home almost a week in advance of others. Allowing employees to not have to stress about their own personal health and safety when things were very uncertain with their children and the economy. That says a lot about the type of organization this is. Several cultural elements like Cocktail chats, videos and recognition have continued to keep people connected. I hope you don't believe the negative reviews. To me, it appears there is someone who is on the attack trying to get back at their previous employer and based on their reviews, it probably goes without saying that toxic individuals will not last here.

    Cons

    There are some people who are hierarchical and let that get in their own way, overall that's not the culture but specifically what they're trying to break down.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2020-04-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Truly care about their people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bond Brand Loyalty full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of a kind culture - Bond is really doing a lot to keep people engaged virtually, through Zoom meetings, weekly all employee Coffee/Cocktail Chats, Spirit initiatives like Zoom BINGO, Caregiving initiatives that support our local communities and Wellness Wednesday's with initiatives that remind people of the importance of keeping active during this working from home situation as well as mental health support for people and their families. Annual Bond Choice Awards – recognizing peers and leaders. All contributing to being recognized as a 2020 Best Workplaces Canada. Leaders care and do the right things for their people - balance business decisions with empathy and compassion for its people. Exciting and challenging work, amazing clients, innovative thought leadership.

    Cons

    The pace of agency life can be tricky to manage but when you get the hang of it, hang on tight and enjoy the ride.

    Continue reading
    Bond Brand Loyalty2020-04-19
Found 130 reviews