Bonefish Grill Hostess Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonefish Grill Hostess Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bonefish Grill CEO David Schmidt
David Schmidt
1 Ratings
  1. "Hosts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess in Evansville, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice employees and work environment, enjoyable clientel

    Cons

    Very busy and we go on large wait times and makes it difficult to manage tables some times.

    Bonefish Grill2019-02-21
  2. "Host"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Host/Hostess in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is good, easy to move up if you work hard and let management know.

    Cons

    Miscommunication among staff can be frustrating, the guests can be catty, schedule can change day of.

    Bonefish Grill2019-06-08
  3. "Average Restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Hostess 

      I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time

      Pros

      You get discounts off of the food there and also at other restaurants within the chain

      Cons

      My coworkers were some of the most catty people I've ever worked with.

      Bonefish Grill2019-05-30
    • "Hosting at Bonefish"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hostess 

      I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Decent hourly pay, not too stressful

      Cons

      -Management could be better -Guests sometimes were really rude

      Bonefish Grill2019-04-05
    • "Poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Hostess 

      I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy job, flexible hours, nice coworkers

      Cons

      Management turnover is very high. In fact, I feel like I have a new manager every few months. Because of this, no one is ever invested in the employees. It's clear that bad attitudes come down from the top (the very top) which is really unfortunate. Good employees just aren't appreciated but bad employees aren't really acknowledged either so I guess it makes sense. There's also not a lot of room to go upwards in the company...

      Show More
      Bonefish Grill2019-03-29
    • "Overall positive experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Hostess in Secaucus, NJ

        I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Connected with many people, the business brought in a lot of customers

        Cons

        Hard to move from a hostess position to a serving position, they do not really follow through with the advancement

        Bonefish Grill2019-02-07
      • "Great job but no movement or recognition"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hostess 
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fast-paced Some good-hearted people 50% discount on food get to pick days you work if you ask decent money for part-time job

        Cons

        no recognition for hard work no upward movement workers are greedy for money and often I'm not sure if I get paid the correct tips

        Bonefish Grill2019-02-16
      • "STAY AWAY FROM WILLOW GROVE"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Hostess in Willow Grove, PA
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Every other bonefish grill I’ve worked at, has been the best experience I’ve had in a restaurant

        Cons

        The Willow Grove location treats their staff terribly. Always giving less tips (OR NONE AT ALL) at the end of the night. Paychecks have been under, unnecessary rules, managers have AWFUL communication skills- they do not understand constructive criticism and are two of the rudest people I’ve ever met.

        Advice to Management

        Stop treating your employees like garbage! The turnover rate for employees is very high and I could figure that out by my second shift working there. Poor management makes a poor staff!

        Bonefish Grill2018-12-30
      • "Bonefish in Melbourne FL's management is whack af"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Hostess in Melbourne, FL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The company... what it stands for... the coworkers

        Cons

        Management is over controlling and totally involved in all employees drama.

        Advice to Management

        Keep your word about promoting from within and reward your hardworking employees. Absolutely no integrity or value for the company's standards

        Bonefish Grill2018-08-19
      • "Over positive"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Hostess 

          I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          As a part-time FOH employee, Bonefish was a great place to work and get started in the working world.

          Cons

          Hours sometimes varied, but overall not too bad.

          Bonefish Grill2018-02-09
        Found 35 reviews