Bonefish Grill Line Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Line Cook

Bonefish Grill Line Cook Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bonefish Grill CEO David Schmidt
David Schmidt
1 Ratings
  1. "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Baltimore, MD
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - excellent skill to master -great management

    Cons

    -hard work for low compensation

    Bonefish Grill2018-10-09
  2. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Willow Grove, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn new things in the kitchen

    Cons

    long hours and pretty demanding

    Bonefish Grill2017-03-05
  3. "Great Job but intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Metairie, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay can be good get to move up to chef

    Cons

    hot kitchen all day long plus no schedule arrangements once schedule is made

    Advice to Management

    be nicer

    Bonefish Grill2016-12-29
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Clermont, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There was plenty of training and cross training support for working in the back of the house. Everyone worked together really well to ensure that everything came out the way that it was supposed to in a timely fashion

    Cons

    It's very fast paced. Sometimes the Kitchen Manager didn't really seem like he knew what he was doing.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that your staff is ready for promotions before they are given. Know when to step in and help when it's busy on the line.

    Bonefish Grill2016-06-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Think twice before working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food. I work with a handful of hardworking, fun co-workers. Job security isn't an issue because management hesitates to fire even the worst workers.

    Cons

    12+ hour shifts, no breaks, too much stress, management disagrees on absolutely everything, employee's opinions are meaningless, poorly run establishment, women are doubted and discriminated against, I was told that I could not do prep work or learn more about what we serve because the men do not want women to do it. Sexual harassment is excused. Neither management nor corporate enforces the rules, bonefish only cares...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can not have a hardworking, loyal team who wants to work with you if all you focus on are the money and sales. Stop giving horrible workers 10 more chances instead of hiring good workers. This company is becoming just another selfish corporation with the way things are going.

    Bonefish Grill2015-07-27
  6. "Great feeling of comradery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook in Brandon, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Obviously this varies, but the line cooks are great to work with and managers are pretty cool as well. Well structured and opportunities for advancement are available to those who are willing to work for it.

    Cons

    This particular store has a big problem with employee call-outs, and also Bonefish Grill is part of a corporation. This means quality will always be sacrificed for profit; I wonder about the future of all corporate restaurants.

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to the corporate office, we should be striving to give our customers our very best, this includes food quality!

    Bonefish Grill2014-09-16
  7. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Viera, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free meals, high food standards, fun environment

    Cons

    Management never called in employees when one no showed or quit, rush to close instead of making sure all duties are done, questionable safety practices, no checks for prep so when you show up to work multiple items are unprepared.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about getting the job done right, not just fast and at a low cost

    Bonefish Grill2014-08-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "almost impossible to advance. (kitchen)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook/Prep Cook in Plantation, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    free food as long as its chicken in my store.

    Cons

    cooks treated with little respect. constant examples of sexual harassment and racism. on almost a daily basis i hear anti gay racist and sexist comments. 6 years working for this company and i have only had one minority manager. in my opinion this day and age that is a disgrace. i myself am guilty of some of the comments ive referred to but that always been allowed im sorry to say. i regret my actions.

    Advice to Management

    to home office. must have tighter reigns on your partners and managers. your managers are rude petty and just flat out disrespectful. you are a public company now and dont think it would sit well with people buying your shares to learn of the culture in some of your stores.

    Bonefish Grill2013-03-08
Found 8 reviews