Bonefish Grill "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonefish Grill Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 675 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bonefish Grill CEO David Schmidt
David Schmidt
42 Ratings
  1. "server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible schedule, nightly tips, walk away with you tips every night, cash basis.

    Cons

    standing and walking long hours

    Bonefish Grill2014-08-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It was a pleasure working for such a great company for eight years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Crescent Springs, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They allowed me the ability to start from the ground floor and work my way up. I was given the opportunity to meet and work along side the best of the best.

    Cons

    Working long hours on a weekly basis infringed on my quality of life. Communication was a lacking factor in day to day operations.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication.

    Bonefish Grill2014-02-11
  3. "Great money for a part time serving job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My store was like a family, it was fun to come to work. You can transfer to different store locations making it easy if you're young and moving around.

    Cons

    They are starting to attract a different clientele with lower prices and specials like Bang Wednesday. Restaurant schedule: late nights, long hours.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Bonefish Grill2013-10-24
  4. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time

    Pros

    Reasonable customers, decent work hours, accommodating to students, decent tips, decent menu, thorough training,

    Cons

    Low wages, long hours, Sundays were pretty bad. a little difficult to move up. "Manufactured" specials.

    Advice to Management

    I wish you could be more exploring with the menu! There was so much to go off from, that you could run different specials almost every day.

    Bonefish Grill2013-09-13
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company on the right track, if you can live on low salary and hard work for years..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front-of-House Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time

    Pros

    Bonefish Grill is a growing concept that does many things right in terms of restaurant operations and corporate support. Opportunities for Management Positions seem endless if they continue on their current path.

    Cons

    Like most of the restaurant industry, most of the money goes to the top, and most of the work is done at the bottom. Expect to work long hours for low pay (40-50k for beginning managers) for many years. The right people can go on to become Managing Partners (joint owners of a restaurant with the company) and expect to make in excess of 100k depending on the profitability of the restaurant. Do not expect any relief in...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Corporate support borders on being almost too much. The expectations of managers is very high, but most restaurants are only staffed with two or three managers. Perfection in the position is almost impossible. Staff restaurant management teams in proportion to company standards and expectations, to achieve the goals you have set.

    Bonefish Grill2013-06-17
  6. "Fun, Constant Change/ Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill

    Pros

    Always challenged, ever changing work day. You never get bored!

    Cons

    Long hours, can be overwhelmed with tasks from time to time

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Bonefish Grill2012-05-17
  7. "Great place, loved the experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bonefish Grill

      Pros

      Great training, stable, passionate people, the training allows you to learn every aspect of the restaurant, the food is great

      Cons

      Don't pay enough if you live in a metro area, long hours but that is part of the business, as long as your passionate about the restaurant business and dont mind not making much money you'll be fine

      Advice to Management

      learn as much as you you can

      Bonefish Grill2012-11-27
    Found 675 reviews