Bonefish Grill "menu" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonefish Grill Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 675 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bonefish Grill CEO David Schmidt
David Schmidt
42 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Bonefish Grill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Brandywine, MD
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to make money Usually positive work environment Half off food Easy to move up into new positions

    Cons

    Quality/selection of food is deteriorating. Menu needs revamping Poor store management (Brandywine, MD location)

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better Management needs to hold themselves accountable for issues in the restaurant instead of passing blame onto others Don't speak badly about employees to other employees because it will always get back to said employee

    Bonefish Grill2017-05-24
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Stuart, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the high volume is a bonus ! The atmosphere and new look

    Cons

    Behind the scenes it's a mess managers treat employees awfull and show favoritism. It's unfair and not rite . Everyone deserves a chance coming from a 11 year veteran being a transfer I have never in my life seen a bonefish ran this badly . Managers undermine employees treat you like your ten and don't listen to concerns . The menu has gone down hill it's not fresh .

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees notice the hard work . Your never productive with your guest like we are you just walk by them . This is not proper management don't take your divorce out on us leave it at the door . It's unprofessional and customers are complaining about manager attitudes . (Why did you break that )! Something a manger has said to employee ! Glass breaks we are not throwing it across the room . There is a way...

    Show More
    Bonefish Grill2017-06-03
  3. "Brand in Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good crew, flexible hours. Opportunity to move up if you really set your heart to it. Better business than many other area chain restaurants (but that distinction is fading). 50% discount on employee shift meals, 25% outside of work and at other Bloomin' Brands stores.

    Cons

    In short: Overstaffed; Management in turmoil; Little server support; Declining business undergoing an identity crisis. Having a large staff does make scheduling more flexible and easy to pick up or give up shifts, but it can be difficult to maintain the full-time status needed to enjoy the health and vacation benefits. Picking up shifts to bulk your schedule will have to become a second job if you want to keep them,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to maintain the "Polished Casual" description you've given yourself, then truly innovate. Overhaul the menu, commit to quality ingredients. Pay your hosts a wage and hire a dedicated busters.

    Bonefish Grill2017-04-09
  4. "Bonefish Grill bartender/waitress/headwait"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I had no problems with the company itself, the menu is always changing which is good and they're always holding staff meetings and I could really tell that the company wanted to be directly involved with each store, they always had representatives coming in and making sure everything was up to par. also, great food

      Cons

      as with any restaurant there are problems with management and coworkers and scheduling I can't really speak this as a con for the company

      Bonefish Grill2017-02-17
    • "Skip It"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Sarasota, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      -The restaurant has you actually try the food when you are learning the menu which is very helpful. -Discounted food and sometimes a shift meal if you worked a double -Not very much side work.

      Cons

      Management is rude and does not abide by the "open door" policy. I tried to voice my concerns one night and was told if I didn't like it I could just leave. I was trying to talk to my manager about the fact that I was skipped many times in rotation and was only given two tables after a few months of being there, I wanted to know why and management told me to just leave. -The environment is tense and stressful, nobody...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Allow servers to come to you with issues or concerns. Don't treat certain servers unfairly and talk about them to other servers. People are here to make money not be your friend.

      Bonefish Grill2017-03-18
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Brookfield, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The restaurant is continually Busy. Fast paced wrk environment. Good price points mean nice check totals. Great support from management.

      Cons

      The deal might bring in a totally different crowd than normal nights requiring more work and less pay. Menu items remain the same.

      Bonefish Grill2017-02-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "A glorified Ruby Tuesday"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Server/Bartender 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Get to know the regulars very quickly, easy menu, easy money when it's busy. Easy wine knowledge. Nothing more to say.

      Cons

      The restaurant is so far away from what it originated from. Thank you Bloomin Brands for destroying it. We have coupons galore, dine rewards, and weekly menus to appeal to the cheaper crowd. In my 4 years here I've never been so displeased. Half price martini Monday's (most of the time) Price fix Tuesday Bang Wednesday Endless bubbles Sunday It really hurts our pockets, and we're doing twice the amount of work. All...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      This is a sinking ship and yet we're still catering to the first class passengers.

      Bonefish Grill2017-01-07
    • "Atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Host 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Most employees are awesome! They tend to every helpful and understanding.

      Cons

      Managers typically are too serious. Employees must attend mandatory meetings that are not actually all that important. If you're an opener, expect to have a manager quiz you each day either on company policy or on the menu and the wine list.

      Advice to Management

      Relax a bit and have fun. Your employees don't like working for uptight managers. You lose our respect and it makes us want to avoid coming to work.

      Bonefish Grill2016-11-17
    • "Executive chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Culinary Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I get to build teams of people and watch them grow. I have been exposed to a lot of the GM responsibilities which i feel has made me better at my job.

      Cons

      No menu creation, no freedom, no say in regards to the menu

      Bonefish Grill2016-10-27
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server in Hilton Head Island, SC

      I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Very good food and clean environment. You will receive 50 % off menu items of fresh seafood and great steaks. Managers were always pleasant.

      Cons

      Not many to think of. Low hourly wage however great tips if working at a busy location which most are. I would work there again.

      Advice to Management

      We had small sections which consisted of 3 tables. With seasoned wit staff should be considered to have 4 or 5 tables.

      Bonefish Grill2016-09-26
    Found 675 reviews