Bonefish Grill "menu" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonefish Grill Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 674 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Bonefish Grill CEO David Schmidt
David Schmidt
42 Ratings
  1. "Better than most restaurants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to meet new people, team-based setting, management supportive if you ever need anything non-job related, schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Lots of "politics" and favoritism, constantly running out of menu items, inexperienced staff, LOTS of material to cover ever changing menu, etc

    Bonefish Grill2014-09-22
  2. "Management Team is the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server, in Naples, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonefish in Naples is always busy; in season and out of season. Offer health insurance, paid vacation, and opportunity to cross train and learn many positions and advance. Naples store has the best management team. They run a fair and efficient place that is fun to work at. Bonefish stays fresh with changes and additions to the drink and food menu, making it a popular place...thus always busy.

    Cons

    Bonefish as an operation is fine. The locations and the guests dining can make the work experience vary. Naples has some very rude, entitled, and old crabby guests...some tip crappy but for the most part if you can deal with annoying old people day in and out....the money is worth it.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management is referring to corporate, not the immediate managers in the Naples store...if you are going to continue to make changes, to food and drinks...at the very least, someone that has actually worked in the "trenches" should be apart of the decision making process....i.e add a new cocktail with 10 ingredients, and 8 steps to make it....be realistic with the timing....(there are a dozen other 10 step drinks...

    Show More
    Bonefish Grill2014-08-21
  3. "It was fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wait Staff in Southern Pines, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Its good money and fast money. Easy to learn menu

    Cons

    Management changed alot at one point in 8 years of me being their. That was hard. And very clicky compared to other restaurants i have worked in.

    Advice to Management

    Things arent always as they seem

    Bonefish Grill2014-07-06
  4. "Great place to be a hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hostess 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great food, good atmosphere that brings in customers and management makes sure you comfortable with training

    Cons

    When the menu constantly changes

    Bonefish Grill2014-05-20
  5. "Once a great place to work that now is being driven too much by shareholder profits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender/Server 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training and continuing education for hourly staff. Unique and ever changing menu items. Food and drinks are a good value which keeps the restaurant competitive and relatively busy.

    Cons

    Over staffing, product quality continues to degrade. Company is too aggressive with growth vs. maintaining quality and availability of product particularly with fresh non-farm raised fish.

    Advice to Management

    The cross training between FOH & BOH management is great however, it's appalling how many salaried managers have little to no people skills. People Skills really needs to be emphasized during the transition from hourly to salary positions.

    Bonefish Grill2014-05-03
  6. "Fast paced team environment, where one can really get behind every menu item."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Gainesville, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every menu item is delicious so selling special and paring drinks a cuisine is much easier. The management is strict and keeps everyone working to the best of their ability keeping our reputation as one of the best places in the area.

    Cons

    Long volume shifts now cannot be avoided with the new brunch and lunch menus. Breaks are minimal to non existent.

    Bonefish Grill2014-02-18
  7. "Once a great place to work, now just another corporate restaurant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good schedule, only nights, although I'm told they are now open for the dreaded Sunday lunch. Although the menu quality has declined, overall the product decent.

    Cons

    * To be fair, I should say upfront that all stores are different. Some of the negatives I point out are likely not present in all locations. Extremely hostile work environment Money is not very good relative to other restaurants with a comparable menu The corporate decision makers though it would be a good idea run ridiculous specials in order to maximize the number of "butts in seats." This unfortunately...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees well and they will take care of you. It is better to have a good clientele that spends a lot of money and takes care of the staff than a slightly larger one that tries to get as much for free as possible and treats the employees poorly.

    Bonefish Grill2013-10-28
  8. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonefish Grill part-time

    Pros

    Reasonable customers, decent work hours, accommodating to students, decent tips, decent menu, thorough training,

    Cons

    Low wages, long hours, Sundays were pretty bad. a little difficult to move up. "Manufactured" specials.

    Advice to Management

    I wish you could be more exploring with the menu! There was so much to go off from, that you could run different specials almost every day.

    Bonefish Grill2013-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good menu and atmosphere, good drinks.

    Cons

    Incompetent management. Corporate philosophy is scaring you to make you do your job. Every day is a battle with management and corporate people.

    Advice to Management

    Try living your values. I was a manager there and couldn't do my job because of constant interruptions by the JVP over petty, meaningless issues when he completely ignored the big issues, like his completely incompetent managing partner (who has since been fired.) No support, no praise for doing an excellent job. Only negative communication about irrelevant issues. (Once the ice machine was broken and all he talked about...

    Show More
    Bonefish Grill2013-08-30
  10. "Great place to be a server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Waiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonefish Grill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good food, good atmosphere that brings in good customers that usually pay 20 percent. Also benefits is a plus for full time employees. As a head waiter I was always offered a meal at the end of my shift. Fantastic training.

    Cons

    Starting to "expand" their menu to bring in cheaper options(ie. handhelds). These cheaper menu items bring in lower income individuals that don't tip properly.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to take care of your people.

    Bonefish Grill2013-08-15
Found 674 reviews