Bonnier Corporation "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonnier Corporation Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Dec 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
35%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Bonnier Corporation CEO Eric Zinczenko
Eric Zinczenko
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of great people doing great work on cool brands(in 15 reviews)

  • "Bonnier has a very relax work environment but is still demanding(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, vacation caps at 3 weeks meanwhile employees that carry WAY more time(in 18 reviews)

  • "This company is run poorly and the only "solution" upper management has year after year is mass layoffs(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation

    Pros

    Fun people. Great vibe. Fun products. If you love skiing you would love this company! Hard working people which is nice.

    Cons

    Low pay for some positions. I really loved working here super interesting. Everyone works in cubicles though. In a great location!

    Bonnier Corporation2011-09-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Location, that’s really about it.

    Cons

    Low pay, soulless corporate climate, talentless employees, conniving and fraudulent management. Mamangement has no knowledge of media, now or in the future, and it is strictly a lowest common denominator sales company.

    Advice to Management

    Resignation

    Bonnier Corporation2017-12-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    ""Eh""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people Flexible work schedule and one work from home day Great area (Winter Park Village)

    Cons

    SUPER LOW PAY - if you work on the magazine side and it's a brand that you really care about and are invested in, then the pay might be worth it for you. But overall, in shared services or marketing departments, it's absolutely not worth it. They have all of these "perks" but when you look at them closely, they're not even really perks. The gym reimbursement program is only a 50% reimbursement, their tuition reimbursement program is basically nothing. But at least it's something. Consistently pushes back reviews and merit-based raises. Doesn't followup on promises made to employees (like the raises we were supposed to get in October but never actually got) Overall, the publishing industry is slowly dying, and you will become HIGHLY keen to this fact after spending some time at Bonnier. Morale is low and getting lower, frequent lay offs and outsourcing of entire departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    INVEST IN YOUR EMPLOYEES. But like, ACTUALLY do it, not this half-assed thing you've been doing for a while.

    Bonnier Corporation2017-11-13
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Buyer Beward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of really nice/google people at Bonnier. Too bad they work for such a crappy company.

    Cons

    Basically everything. Low pay, vacation caps at 3 weeks meanwhile employees that carry WAY more time. I have people that work for me, that have worked here for less time than I have but have 2 weeks more vacation time.

    Advice to Management

    Quit. C-Level execs dont care about anyone but themselves. Brands I sell for are so varied..... we have magazines that cater to republican/conservative demographics, meanwhile the EIC of Popular Science has a twitter feed dedicated to liberal ideology and bashing POTUS. (Makes it hard to do your job)

    Bonnier Corporation2017-07-28
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Lots of negative reviews for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Ad Specialist in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning experience and great people

    Cons

    0 diversity, low pay, no growth opportunity, poor management, lack of leadership, and bottom barrel pay scale. I would SERIOUSLY consider elsewhere. There is a reason why there are so many negative reviews on this company.

    Advice to Management

    Put real managers in management roles. Seniority does not make a person qualified to manage a group of employees.

    Bonnier Corporation2017-06-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and I work with a great team.

    Cons

    Low pay. When will the 2% annual raise end?

    Bonnier Corporation2017-03-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Former sales employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ad Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hardworking people. Nice pubs and editorial.

    Cons

    Unclear company future. Lackluster middle management. Low pay. Little to no career development.

    Bonnier Corporation2017-03-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "The people are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Art Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people I work with are great, fun and enjoyable. I have a flexible work schedule and a few times out of the month I work from home, being a father of a young son, this is key and one of the reason I've stayed here for this long.

    Cons

    Low pay. High turn over rate with staff. When someone leaves or is laid off, instead of hiring someone else to replace them, their tasks are usually taken over by someone else. There seems to be no strategy for going into the future, unless you count changing business strategies every 6 months as a strategy. Low morale.

    Advice to Management

    Stick with a strategy, hiring enough people to see that strategy through and pay them what their worth!

    Bonnier Corporation2016-03-28
  9. "Bonnier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people and a collaborative work environment

    Cons

    Bad managers and low pay

    Bonnier Corporation2015-06-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not a horrible place to work, but don't expect much growth or job satisfaction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Nice co-workers - Flexible hours - Nice office space in Winter Park Village

    Cons

    - Low Pay - No growth opportunity - People in upper management that have no idea what they're doing - Company future up in the air

    Bonnier Corporation2015-04-07
Found 18 reviews