Bonnier Corporation "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonnier Corporation Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Feb 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
35%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Bonnier Corporation CEO Eric Zinczenko
Eric Zinczenko
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of great people doing great work on cool brands(in 15 reviews)

  • "Bonnier has a very relax work environment but is still demanding(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, vacation caps at 3 weeks meanwhile employees that carry WAY more time(in 18 reviews)

  • "This company is run poorly and the only "solution" upper management has year after year is mass layoffs(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great team to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior IOS Developer in Winter Park, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Open to suggestions and willing to listen to your ideas. A no-pressure work environment, for the most part. Friendly co-workers.

    Cons

    Little to no room for advancement. Development workstation I was given was outdated and too underpowered to perform the daily tasks necessary. Went to the store and purchased a new system with my own money to get the job done.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping the star players around, and promoting them accordingly, would help the company shine brighter. Having the right tools to do the job would certainly make the job easier.

    Bonnier Corporation2014-02-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Years of cuts with no strategy are coming home to roost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Casual work environment and creative colleagues

    Cons

    Morale has been an issue here for years. I left on my own and didn’t realize how bad it was until I had something to compare it to. Cliques and who you know matter more than what you know. Leadership does not make employees feel valued. Focus has always been on the bottom line except for favored brands that hemorrhaged money. They dragged the company down to a point where recovery changes are slim.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck. You have bled out talent and let the poor decisions of past leadership linger on.

    Bonnier Corporation2018-02-08
  3. "top dog for all TV/video production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Autonomous work environment within a semi-casual, open-door facility

    Cons

    Difficulty with internal coordination and sharing of sponsorship dollars

    Advice to Management

    Better pay will result in better employees that stay longer

    Bonnier Corporation2017-12-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review #126"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Winter Park, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bonnier has a very relax work environment but is still demanding. It is great that I am not micro manage but when I need help it is there for me.

    Cons

    I am truly disappointed that I work for a magazine/publishing company and there are no magazines in the bathrooms to read.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency and clear communication; I found out whats going on first through the rumor mill.

    Bonnier Corporation2017-06-13
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome coworkers but no reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, work from home day, cool location in Winter Park village. Coworkers are the best part of the job!

    Cons

    The pay is not great and upper management refuses to invest in their talented/hard working employees so every one just ends up leaving because they are fed up. Seems like the same few people at the top miraculously get promoted every year.

    Advice to Management

    reward those who are valuable to the company so that they want to stay and help the company grow and succeed. Its hard to be motivated when you're underpaid and have no chance of getting promoted.Stop hiring cheap labor and put that money back into the employee who are loyal so that they know they are appreciated.

    Bonnier Corporation2017-05-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Trying to figure out shrinking revenues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in Winter Park, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment Great people Great place to start your career

    Cons

    Print industry is shrinking and there is no vision for the future

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are your asset, please treat them as such.

    Bonnier Corporation2016-09-02
  7. "Content Intern for Weddings and Honeymoon Magazine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation

    Pros

    Independent work environment; semi-flexible hours

    Cons

    Wished I could've had more feedback; many articles I wrote for publication were edited to the point where they were no longer my work, but that was most likely just a difference in writing styles/tone

    Bonnier Corporation2016-07-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good as a job to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    casual work environment, fun brands to work with/on. Fairly friendly office environment.

    Cons

    Anemic pay and benefits, company lacks direction. Shrinking business. Low moral. Seems like someone is getting let go every week.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is that they should all quit their jobs.

    Bonnier Corporation2016-04-26
  9. "Bonnier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people and a collaborative work environment

    Cons

    Bad managers and low pay

    Bonnier Corporation2015-06-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Low paying company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonnier Corporation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and friendly people.

    Cons

    Low pay and benefits are lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Pay should be based on experience, time with company, and market,... wages are far too low for most employees here.

    Bonnier Corporation2014-08-15
Found 14 reviews