Bonusly Reviews | Glassdoor

Bonusly Reviews

Updated Mar 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Bonusly CEO Raphael Crawford-Marks (no image)
Raphael Crawford-Marks
8 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative, positive, flexible, and non-competitive. The company is growing quickly, and you have the ability to contribute both in your work and with regards to company policy, etc. Very transparent and it seems the transparency is always increasing - this is a really good thing. The people here are amazing!

    Cons

    Some growing pains, but very few actual negatives.

    Bonusly2019-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paid Media Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - smart and talented co-workers. - clear company goals and the freedom to approach them creatively. - good equipment: Macs, external monitors, a variety of desk options, and a home office stipend. - real investment in professional development, from a $2K/year learning budget to weekly 1:1s to career development planning. - extremely accommodating of flexible working arrangements, whether it's WFH or taking time off for personal obligations.

    Cons

    - open-office environment can be distracting. - feels like some teams work harder than others.

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2020-03-11
  3. "Good environment to contribute to a well-liked product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonusly is a pretty great place to work! The team makes a genuine effort to adhere to our core values. The work-life balance is good, and we do a good job of practicing what many companies preach. We actually have a flat structure, with approachable senior and directors-level folks. The team respects everyone's working styles and hours and so far, we've maintained an actually-functional unlimited PTO policy with a strong WFH culture. The product is loved. There's a culture of autonomy and responsibility and usually (thought not always) openness to new ideas. Although we sometimes disagree, there's a genuine effort to hear employee opinions. We have generous education and team-building budgets, and most teams have nice cultures and sweet bonding activities/retreats. I really like almost everyone I work with.

    Cons

    We're a startup doubling in size every year, which is often a bumpy ride. There's a bit of an old-guard/new-guard mentality, especially as the company grows; on one hand, resistance to change, on the other, company-wide changes without much input from the employees. There's sometimes a disconnect between customer-facing teams and the product team. There's a DEI effort, but we have ways to go, particularly in Boulder (this is getting better, I think).

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2020-02-15
  4. "Culture, culture, culture: truly a unique place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been with Bonusly for several months and so far, the experience has exceeded my expectations. People here truly embody and live the values that the company publishes for everyone to see. Sometimes that means asking the tough questions in a public forum, and sometimes it means facing conflict head-on with humility. But everyone is here for the right reasons and is committed to not only the company's success, but lifting each other up. Even though the company is growing and that means a lot of change, I'm constantly surprised by how willing people are to step up and be agents of that change. Other pros: - top notch benefits (fully covered for individuals) - generous continuing education allowance - autonomy in decisionmaking and departmental spend - genuine concern for employee well-being - true work-life balance (nothing like east or west coast hours/expectations) - laid-back, animal-friendly office

    Cons

    The growing pains of a rapidly scaling startup (priority shifts, reorganization, feeling like you're getting pulled in a million directions with equally high priority) abound, but if you're someone who thrives in an environment of ambiguity and opportunity, that could be a good thing!

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2020-01-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Lies and fake reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bonusly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During my employment at Bonusly I was forced to post reviews written by our CEO which did not reflect employees views or the actual company culture. Now that I no longer work there I can actually share the truth!

    Cons

    Bonusly states being employee engagement focused but all the employees I was working with were actively looking for work elsewhere. The CEO is a narcissist and creates a toxic work environment where backdoor politics and lies are free flowing. The ''flexibility'' is the result of a lack of leadership and vision. The legacy code needs to be completely replaced and is a massive security vulnerability, but management prefers to patch and put their heads in the sand under pretext that they are ''growing'' (which is false). As for transparency management only share what reinforces their preaching and if you challenge them on missing information you get the silent treatment... All in all this company looked amazing from the outside, but once you are in you start noticing the dirty truth that they do not care about anyone including their clients... what ever sells licenses is whatever they will say and ask their employees to repeat...

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2019-09-09

    Bonusly Response

    September 13, 2019

    This review is full of false information, and could not have been posted by one of our employees, current or former. As the CEO, I take this very seriously and am working with Glassdoor to investigate this post. "I was forced to write reviews" - this has never happened. I have never asked employees to write glassdoor reviews, let alone forced them to do anything. Furthermore, if you were forced to write a positive review, why did you not log back in and edit that review to say all this, instead of writing a new one? "all the employees I was working with were actively looking for work elsewhere" - this can't be true, because our unwanted attrition rate for the last two years was 0%. "The CEO is a narcissist and creates a toxic work environment" - Our quarterly employee engagement scores range from 4.6 to 4.9 (out of 5) across 7 questions. It seems unlikely that this would happen if I was creating a toxic work environment. "The legacy code needs to be completely replaced and is a massive security vulnerability" Also false. Our codebase is very up-to-date and we dedicate one or more development threads at all times to address tech debt. We undergo an independent security audit annually that consists of both black-box and white-box testing. We are PrivacyShield certified. We are currently undergoing a SOC2 assessment and anticipate full certification by Q1 2020. "As for transparency management only share what reinforces their preaching" Not true. We share all company KPIs, in real time, with all employees. Those KPIs don't always have good news. For example, I recently shared our company demographic data with the organization, and acknowledged that we have real deficiencies in diversity in certain areas. I invite critical feedback and thank employees whenever they deliver it, because it helps me better serve them. It saddens me that someone who never even worked at Bonusly felt the need to post all this false information about us.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "An exemplary example of an excellent company that values its employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The default-to-transparency style of management, inter-department communications and projects, and work-life-balance has made Bonusly a dream to work at. You are friends with your coworkers, encouraged to collaborate, and everyone is respectful and communicative. Company values are upheld, encouraged, and Bonusly is vigilant as a group to keep them part of the ongoing conversation. This is what a workplace should look like. The company invests in you. Bonusly recognizes, appreciates, and respects that you are giving the company your time, energy, and creativity. That is noted and reflected in how well they take care of their employees. On top of their already great benefits (seemingly unheard of these days), the work-life balance is a rare example of excellent employee-employer loyalty and trust in each other that I hope will continue to catch on as the right way to run a business. Do you know how motivating it is to know that appointments, emergencies, vacations, and disconnecting from work is understood, valued, and encouraged? You’re a human being, with needs, goals, responsibilities, hardships, celebrations, and a life to lead. Bonusly knows that, celebrates it, and works with you to find the work/life balance that allows you to figure it all out. By encouraging employees to take the time needed recuperate and allowing flexibility within the work/life balance, loyalty and productivity is returned with vigor. A happy and empathetic team always willing to help just incentivizes and energizes everyone to give more back. We all work hard, but it’s work that we’re inspired to do. Bonusly gives you autonomy to lead, grow, experiment, and wants you to get creative. Trust is a vital part of the relationship, and you are respected as an adult to manage yourself. You are given guidance and support from your superiors. Weekly one-on-ones encourage connectiveness, and where your opinion and input are encouraged. In regards to office mood and vibe, it’s a place to be dedicated to the projects that inspire you, surrounded by others who are equally motivated. Bonusly is welcoming, encouraging, and truly feels like a family. Employees regularly socialize outside of work hours, enjoying common interests together such as: trivia, bouldering, board games, hiking, meditation, and running. So, if you want to work in a place that: puts something good into the world, gives you independence and support to thrive and push yourself, invigorates you and makes work a joy, while surrounding you with an amazing team, then look no further! Bonusly is right for you.

    Cons

    As a growing company, we do have the associated pains. Learning how to scale communication, and create a sense of togetherness among dispersed teams can take a lot of effort. I'm happy to say that Bonusly sees its areas that need improvement and sets about correcting them. There's no hubris here, nor assumptions of continual perfection.

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2018-07-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Highly recommend for proactive & autonomous people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Leadership and everyone on the team care a lot about creating a great work environment, so things like flexibility, autonomy, and fun are prioritized. - Leadership cares about getting feedback from everyone on the team, and when they get it they listen and take action. - Working on a product that brings people good news creates really positive interactions in a lot of our conversations internally and with customers. - There's a lot of potential for the company, and a lot of potential for individuals to take on interesting projects and make an impact.

    Cons

    As a small team, we're not able to get to all the things we want to do, so we have to say no to some pretty interesting projects so that we can focus on top priorities. It can be hard to have your ideas deprioritized, but everyone does a good job explaining why we're making the choices we are. Plus the projects we do take on are interesting too :)

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2018-06-15

    Bonusly Response

    December 10, 2019Head of People Operations

    Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're working hard to ensure our #default-to-transparency and #be-an excellent-teammate values carry on even as we grow and scale. One of our top priorities for 2020 as a leadership team is maintaining swift and consistent communication across teams and aligning all team objectives to our overarching companywide goals. We're improving the ways we communicate news and changes to people in the company, and know we won't always get it right—that's why getting feedback from our employees is so important to us!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Make an impact and work with a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The Bonusly team has some of the most delightful, intelligent, thoughtful people I've ever met. - The team is not competitive internally. We're focussed on the same mission. Bonusly is truly a value-driven company that lives its values and cares about the product. - Things change quickly, and you're part of driving that change. We're a small team, which means there are not hoops to jump through to make things happen. - The enviroment/workplace experience is great - healthcare is impressive, work from home or remote, etc.

    Cons

    We're growing fast and figuring things out as we go, so things aren't always perfect. Being proactive is an important skill to be happy and successful here.

    Bonusly2018-02-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bonusly full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Transparency like nothing you've ever experienced - including knowing the company financials in real time. Lots of work from home flexibility, and travel opportunities to their HQ in Boulder. You can pretty much get your hands involved with anything internally that you think you can add value to.

    Cons

    Very little interaction with the team aside from weekly virtual stand-ups. If you thrive in little to no team interaction, then this won't be an issue. Their leadership roles are a bit undefined (due to operating with little to no hierarchy) and thus create some misunderstandings.

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2018-01-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bonusly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Information is shared freely so employees have a holistic picture of the company and its goals. This helps to empower everyone to take action and use their own judgment.

    Cons

    None - but as an early stage startup it's a very fast-paced work environment, and everyone carries a lot of responsibility.

    Continue reading
    Bonusly2015-09-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews