Bonusly Reviews

Updated May 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 17 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Bonusly CEO Raphael Crawford-Marks (no image)
Raphael Crawford-Marks
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Come work with us!

    Apr 21, 2021 - Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Bonusly has the best clients, best solutions, amazing perks, and great teammates! -Our CEO, Raph, is someone that you can support and trust -Excellent hiring and onboarding process -High Integrity -DEI thought & action leader -Amazing culture -Very competitive OTE & base pay -Fun virtual events -Weekly lunch budget

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lots of growing needed by leadership team for company to be successful

    May 24, 2021 - User Experience Designer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Room to grow (maybe), solid stepping stone, low expectations performance-wise, product is interesting

    Cons

    CEO lacks leadership skills/empathy, company is on a clear track towards being left behind by competitors, release of new features is rare or non-existent, high turnover, CEO continues to squash culture by invading personal space in a remote ecosystem

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good environment to contribute to a well-liked product

    Feb 15, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bonusly is a pretty great place to work! The team makes a genuine effort to adhere to our core values. The work-life balance is good, and we do a good job of practicing what many companies preach. We actually have a flat structure, with approachable senior and directors-level folks. The team respects everyone's working styles and hours and so far, we've maintained an actually-functional unlimited PTO policy with a strong WFH culture. The product is loved. There's a culture of autonomy and responsibility and usually (thought not always) openness to new ideas. Although we sometimes disagree, there's a genuine effort to hear employee opinions. We have generous education and team-building budgets, and most teams have nice cultures and sweet bonding activities/retreats. I really like almost everyone I work with.

    Cons

    We're a startup doubling in size every year, which is often a bumpy ride. There's a bit of an old-guard/new-guard mentality, especially as the company grows; on one hand, resistance to change, on the other, company-wide changes without much input from the employees. There's sometimes a disconnect between customer-facing teams and the product team. There's a DEI effort, but we have ways to go, particularly in Boulder (this is getting better, I think).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Culture, culture, culture: truly a unique place to work!

    Jan 8, 2020 - Director in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with Bonusly for several months and so far, the experience has exceeded my expectations. People here truly embody and live the values that the company publishes for everyone to see. Sometimes that means asking the tough questions in a public forum, and sometimes it means facing conflict head-on with humility. But everyone is here for the right reasons and is committed to not only the company's success, but lifting each other up. Even though the company is growing and that means a lot of change, I'm constantly surprised by how willing people are to step up and be agents of that change. Other pros: - top notch benefits (fully covered for individuals) - generous continuing education allowance - autonomy in decisionmaking and departmental spend - genuine concern for employee well-being - true work-life balance (nothing like east or west coast hours/expectations) - laid-back, animal-friendly office

    Cons

    The growing pains of a rapidly scaling startup (priority shifts, reorganization, feeling like you're getting pulled in a million directions with equally high priority) abound, but if you're someone who thrives in an environment of ambiguity and opportunity, that could be a good thing!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Loving it here! Bonusly truly embodies its values

    Jun 11, 2020 - Customer Education Specialist in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    One of the things I love most about working at Bonusly is our people. We have a culture centered around core values that are embedded in everything we do. Our team is full of ambitious and autonomous workers that thrive on collaborating to make our team and our product better every day. I was thrilled to see how much we incorporate our values into our work and it wasn't just a sales pitch to join the team. Each person brings their own unique perspective an background, which is a value to our efforts to be more diverse and inclusive. I admire that we strive for action and evaluate continually how we can improve our processes and workflow. Our leadership team is top-notch. And by that I mean they are real people that are amazing leaders. They are teammates who you can talk to, reach out for help, and collaborate with. They embrace transparency and vulnerability and work beside you, not above you. There is two-way communication and collaboration and reviews don’t just come from the top-down. Our leaders are our partners and we are all working together to do great work. Another thing that I truly love about Bonusly is the emphasis on taking care of the team. Our leadership team encourages a work-life balance by providing the opportunity to take care of life. You don't have to clock in or clock out. You are expected to get your work done but it doesn't have to be on a traditional 9-5 schedule. There are many perks including weekly company lunches, additional company time off, social activities for the entire team, budgets for professional development, and unlimited PTO. I finally feel like I found a company that gets it. Taking good care of your people leads to better work.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons at this point because when things go wrong we learn from it and each other. Mistakes are seen as valuable learning opportunities and pave the way for building a better organization.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Great Place to Work

    Mar 10, 2020 - Paid Media Manager in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - smart and talented co-workers. - clear company goals and the freedom to approach them creatively. - good equipment: Macs, external monitors, a variety of desk options, and a home office stipend. - real investment in professional development, from a $2K/year learning budget to weekly 1:1s to career development planning. - extremely accommodating of flexible working arrangements, whether it's WFH or taking time off for personal obligations.

    Cons

    - open-office environment can be distracting. - feels like some teams work harder than others.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Lies and fake reviews

    Sep 9, 2019 - Software Developer in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    During my employment at Bonusly I was forced to post reviews written by our CEO which did not reflect employees views or the actual company culture. Now that I no longer work there I can actually share the truth!

    Cons

    Bonusly states being employee engagement focused but all the employees I was working with were actively looking for work elsewhere. The CEO is a narcissist and creates a toxic work environment where backdoor politics and lies are free flowing. The ''flexibility'' is the result of a lack of leadership and vision. The legacy code needs to be completely replaced and is a massive security vulnerability, but management prefers to patch and put their heads in the sand under pretext that they are ''growing'' (which is false). As for transparency management only share what reinforces their preaching and if you challenge them on missing information you get the silent treatment... All in all this company looked amazing from the outside, but once you are in you start noticing the dirty truth that they do not care about anyone including their clients... what ever sells licenses is whatever they will say and ask their employees to repeat...

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful

    Bonusly Response

    This review is full of false information, and could not have been posted by one of our employees, current or former. As the CEO, I take this very seriously and am working with Glassdoor to investigate this post. "I was forced to write reviews" - this has never happened. I have never asked employees to write glassdoor reviews, let alone forced them to do anything. Furthermore, if you were forced to write a positive review, why did you not log back in and edit that review to say all this, instead of writing a new one? "all the employees I was working with were actively looking for work elsewhere" - this can't be true, because our unwanted attrition rate for the last two years was 0%. "The CEO is a narcissist and creates a toxic work environment" - Our quarterly employee engagement scores range from 4.6 to 4.9 (out of 5) across 7 questions. It seems unlikely that this would happen if I was creating a toxic work environment. "The legacy code needs to be completely replaced and is a massive security vulnerability" Also false. Our codebase is very up-to-date and we dedicate one or more development threads at all times to address tech debt. We undergo an independent security audit annually that consists of both black-box and white-box testing. We are PrivacyShield certified. We are currently undergoing a SOC2 assessment and anticipate full certification by Q1 2020. "As for transparency management only share what reinforces their preaching" Not true. We share all company KPIs, in real time, with all employees. Those KPIs don't always have good news. For example, I recently shared our company demographic data with the organization, and acknowledged that we have real deficiencies in diversity in certain areas. I invite critical feedback and thank employees whenever they deliver it, because it helps me better serve them. It saddens me that someone who never even worked at Bonusly felt the need to post all this false information about us.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Wonderful place to work!

    Aug 6, 2019 - Software Engineer in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collaborative, positive, flexible, and non-competitive. The company is growing quickly, and you have the ability to contribute both in your work and with regards to company policy, etc. Very transparent and it seems the transparency is always increasing - this is a really good thing. The people here are amazing!

    Cons

    Some growing pains, but very few actual negatives.

    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Highly recommend for proactive & autonomous people

    Jun 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Leadership and everyone on the team care a lot about creating a great work environment, so things like flexibility, autonomy, and fun are prioritized. - Leadership cares about getting feedback from everyone on the team, and when they get it they listen and take action. - Working on a product that brings people good news creates really positive interactions in a lot of our conversations internally and with customers. - There's a lot of potential for the company, and a lot of potential for individuals to take on interesting projects and make an impact.

    Cons

    As a small team, we're not able to get to all the things we want to do, so we have to say no to some pretty interesting projects so that we can focus on top priorities. It can be hard to have your ideas deprioritized, but everyone does a good job explaining why we're making the choices we are. Plus the projects we do take on are interesting too :)

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Bonusly Response

    Head of People Operations

    Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're working hard to ensure our #default-to-transparency and #be-an excellent-teammate values carry on even as we grow and scale. One of our top priorities for 2020 as a leadership team is maintaining swift and consistent communication across teams and aligning all team objectives to our overarching companywide goals. We're improving the ways we communicate news and changes to people in the company, and know we won't always get it right—that's why getting feedback from our employees is so important to us!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Make an impact and work with a great team

    Feb 21, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The Bonusly team has some of the most delightful, intelligent, thoughtful people I've ever met. - The team is not competitive internally. We're focussed on the same mission. Bonusly is truly a value-driven company that lives its values and cares about the product. - Things change quickly, and you're part of driving that change. We're a small team, which means there are not hoops to jump through to make things happen. - The enviroment/workplace experience is great - healthcare is impressive, work from home or remote, etc.

    Cons

    We're growing fast and figuring things out as we go, so things aren't always perfect. Being proactive is an important skill to be happy and successful here.

    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Bonusly Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bonusly? Share Your Experiences

Bonusly logo
or