Booking.com Credit Controller Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Credit Controller Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
3 Ratings
  1. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for

    Cons

    Must be open to fast paced changes

    Advice to Management

    Honestly best company I have worked for

    Booking.com2019-11-07
  2. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great development opportunities if you have a good manager. Good work-life balance. Inclusive work environment.

    Cons

    Too much internal promotions, even when it makes more sense to hire externally.

    Advice to Management

    Always allow for everyone on the team to practice personal development.

    Booking.com2019-11-22
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, great benefits, terrific colleagues. There is room to grow to a certain extent. Strong values and they care about their employees here.

    Cons

    Be prepared to have some difficult conversations on the phone with customers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees and improve from their feedback.

    Booking.com2019-10-09
  4. Helpful (32)

    "Steady Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined Booking.com right out of college. I had the opportunity to travel to 7 different cities and 4 countries while working at Booking. 2 years ago I was full of aspirations and goals for my professional career. Booking is a great place to begin. You have a great work life balance and flex scheduling. As a credit controller you learn how to negotiate with partners, soft phone skills, team work, and account management. But over the last 2 years that has drastically changed. I made some great friends at booking and most of the people are very friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Booking has slowly declined over the last 2 years. Management is all about office politics and they only help their "favorites". The bonus structure is terrible. For example, a top performing employee receives 1% higher of a bonus than an employee that does the bare minimum. Management has cut bonuses to save the company money because of the slowed growth. For Christmas we did not get a gift or a bonus but rather we received a cookie for our hard work. There are a few managers that will undercut their employees ideas and act as if they are their own for their own gain. They also began taking away our 2 15 minute "allowed" breaks during the day. Booking continues to pay their employees poorly and their are limited opportunities for advancement. The credit control position is becoming more automated and more customer service like.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit playing favorites. Quit blaming poor employee morale on the employees and take a look in the mirror. Listen to your employees and their issues, they might very well have a solution.

    Booking.com2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Credit Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work- life balance, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities, terrible communication of changes and processes

    Advice to Management

    Hire internally

    Booking.com2018-10-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Flexibility, Valued Employee, Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Booking values their employees through their benefits package, such as travel options, competitive insurance rates, pay, and small perks such as fruits and veggies and flexible schedule. I have worked here for years and I love this company. They value diversity and the culture on the floor is open and inviting for all.

    Cons

    It is a fast paced environment and things are constantly changing and testing new ideas. You have to be agile to change to flourish in this company.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate the changes more clearly and make sure the vision is clear.

    Booking.com2018-08-29
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Don't waste your time in Credit Control"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free coffee, fruit, and all the water bottles in the world. Occational trips. Some coworkers are cool. Hours are ok.

    Cons

    So many cons. Any manager above team lead is a complete joke. They will not hire anyone out of their 20s and are slowly getting rid of older employees. They are constantly preaching that only young, energetic people fit the "culture". They treat the GRR, Orlando, and Bellevue credit control departments as a frat house. You are made to feel bad if you don't want to go drink and goof off many nights a week. Heaven forbid you have a life outside of work. These so called managers are telling employees that it doesn't matter if you're good at your job, if you dont fit their idea of the "perfect personality " they will replace you. Clearly they dont comprehend that Booking believes in diversity. New, young employees are hired in making more than those that have been there for years, while experience is given a 2% yearly raise. Experience is also treated as a bad thing and those employees are told they bring down the engagement score. Don't bother wasting your time here. Unless the senior managers in the company can wake up and treat get rid of the bad managers in this department, this is on a fast track to failure.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the bad managers in this department. Listen to seasoned employees. Stop getting rod of older people. Stop only hiring young people.

    Booking.com2017-07-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company Culture, Fast-Paced Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great company culture, chilled-out and fun atmosphere, approachable management, very nice office space

    Cons

    not too many growth opportunities result in high competition when they finally arrive

    Booking.com2017-06-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, very new."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Controller in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great! Great people, nice and happy atmosphere. Company cares about their employees

    Cons

    Career growth is very limited.

    Advice to Management

    .

    Booking.com2016-06-24
  10. Helpful (8)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Controller in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com

    Pros

    Nice events and Company Party

    Cons

    Bad Management, They dont care about people

    Advice to Management

    Middle Management is two faced

    Booking.com2016-03-25
Found 32 reviews