Booking.com Customer Service Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Customer Service Executive Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
61%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
4 Ratings
  1. "I actually miss it a lot!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Rockledge, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * I got to meet and talk to so many different people from all around the world - literally on a daily basis! It was truly fascinating. * The other booking.com staff are excellent and always quick to assist you when you need help (huge shout-out to the seniors! Their jobs are arguably the hardest) * Browsing the booking.com website itself while assisting guests on the phone has truly instilled in me such a powerful desire to travel to as many different places as possible in the foreseeable future; not just in my own country, but in every other country!

    Show More

    Cons

    * This is more of a personal con, but sometimes dealing with the overly negative and hysterical guests was difficult and often triggered my anxiety. If you suffer from the same issue, then you may need to find a way to deal with it while under pressure - and sometimes there is a LOT of pressure. * Sometimes it was difficult to maintain a good set of metrics (I struggled the most with receiving positive customer satisfaction surveys back - but this only is because I had trouble with pushing for the CSATs and encouraging guests to fill them out). If you just get into the habit of pushing the surveys, then you have nothing to worry about! * This may have been exclusive to the location I worked at, but there wasn't a lot of recognition from management for the agents who worked harder and went above and beyond to deliver that authentic 'wow' experience to the guests. My location's management in particular also really struggled with keeping their favoritism under wraps, and it made some of the agents feel left out and unimportant. * Agents at my location also did not receive the Pay For Performance when it was rightfully due to them. Again - this was only an issue at my particular call center. *** Disclaimer: Most of these cons ONLY apply to the location I worked at. The location I worked at was a third-party outsource, and was NOT an actual Booking.com location. I am not educated on the condition and atmosphere the actual Booking.com call centers, but I imagine that they were significantly better. The agents and seniors from the other sites that I got to speak to were wonderful and very easy to work with. The positive ratings found throughout this survey apply only to my experience with the people employed at the official Booking.com call centers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management: PLEASE recognize your agents who put forth more effort, and please praise them when you're able to. This will make them want to stay and will boost morale in general.

    Booking.com2019-09-04
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Diverse setting, but company slowly becoming less desirable to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse and friendly work environment, not scripted dialogue, not forced to sell anything. Great benefits Yearly gifts Bonuses

    Cons

    Management is not realistic as far as the expectations put on the employee Number system they use to represent employee standing is quite flawed Company becoming more robotic, and less concerned about employees Pay raises are a bit low Managers say they are forced to mark employees as 'needs improvement' even if they are doing well. Managers are not qualified and do not know the job, so they set unrealistic goals and expectations for the employees No sick time off, so if you get sick, be careful with planning a vacation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the job and know the job before setting expectations for the employee.

    Booking.com2019-08-16
  3. "Fantastic Company, the best I worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Berlin, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many that it is diffcult to name all of them. A lot of benefits, the management tries all the time to motivate its employees and to make the job day as smooth and stress-free and possible. Good salary, good atmosphere, possibility to grow inside the company if you really want it and if you are worth it.

    Cons

    The job it is quite tough and you need a lot of resistence in order to stay in the role of Customer Service for a long time. But it is normal, if you want to work for the company leader in the world for hotel reservations, you get a lot and you have to give a lot too! It's just not for everyone :)

    Advice to Management

    More attention to really make sure that the Booking.com values are respected from everyone.

    Booking.com2019-06-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Hopefully it has gotten better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean and bright work environment Lots of cheerful people Cool company culture Free fruits and veggies

    Cons

    Low pay (was very low when I was there but may have improved) Not a lot of career opportunities when I was there One of the worst contacts was regarding overbookings, which was a horrible process for both the agent and the customer. Literally would take hours and would hurt your numbers. Do not be a "backup" for a language, got a $0.25 raise but all of my contacts were for my backup language because of lack of coverage. Should have been paid the higher rate as a full time for that language.

    Show More
    Booking.com2019-05-22
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Customer service guest executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Guest Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Onsite gym Free coffee and tea Free fruit Free massage chair LGBTQ friendly Market place cafe (with discounts on healthy food) Nice break room area Desk moves up and down (so you can stand) You get a locker to store personal belongings

    Cons

    Open 24/7 GR office closes at 2:30AM Sharing desks (gross) No Monday-Friday shifts You will work a Saturday or Sunday No assigned seating (you have to locate a desk) When you move to new desk it can take up to 10 minutes to get logged in, so you should be at work much earlier than scheduled. 30 minute lunches No cubicles (loud neighbors on the phones, hard to hear) Because of no desk, you don’t have basic things on hand, you’re living out of a bag or backpack. You have to pack up your desk after every shift because you may not sit there the next day. You have to work 6 months on your shift before bidding on another. (You’re stuck)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It’s not a bad place. A good first job for younger people. The scheduling is hard, it’s like factory hours, giving up your entire day is rough. Therefore I don’t think it’s idea for people with families (unless you’re trying to get away from your family) Mid-day shifts would be great, like 11-7. The environment is nice but a bit boring. Training was too short, information overload and it felt rushed, a lot of things could have been covered better. I didn’t feel prepared to take calls. Not enough hands on training before taking calls. There are a lot of cultures you are dealing with and they have different ways of communicating and we didn’t learn this in training, that’s very important.

    Show More
    Booking.com2019-03-24
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Customer Service Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In the beginning everything is wonderful. They pride themselves in honoring their employees with monthly potlucks, good benefits, maternity leave, trip to Amsterdam, overtime, Travel benefits. You make friends from all over the world, Pto, decent pay, free fruit.

    Cons

    The work is very tedious and the micromanagement is overbearing. It is also very difficult to move up in the company since the promotions are not based on merits but companionship with other team leads/CSM. They would much rather hire someone new instead of giving the opportunity to internal candidates and I saw this many times during my time there. Management is not very transparent, in the Orlando office anyway. -Micromanagement at it’s finest -Unflexible with schedules- You have to wait for years to possibly change your shift and when you want to you have to reapply to the position again like if you’re new -Seniority mean nothing in this company - They say they want good workers and not showponys but none of that really matters as long as you are part of the managers “crew” -Difficult to get promoted -Inadequate management -Tedious work -Unreasonable KPI expectations- some things are out of your control and you are penalized for them anyways. - The website has so many problems and they rather put the blame on the hotels instead of taking responsability and fixing the issues. ( working here made me never want to book through a 3rd party site ever again)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to buy the employees with all your potlucks and gift and actually fix the problems on the website and get rid of the corruption in office.

    Booking.com2018-12-27
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Not a job to Retire From"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - International Travel (Perk) - Fair Pay - Good Benefits

    Cons

    - Unrealistic Metric Expectations - Biased Customer Satisfaction scores affecting "Employee Rating" - High turn over rate due to the aforementioned reasons causing strain on current employees - Condescending "Leadership" - "Customer is ALWAYS right" attitude - None of their policies are enforced

    Advice to Management

    Please, try to properly departmentalize your company. Understand that a low salary grade employee should not be expected to bend to the whim of any single "guest" and go against company policies in order to get a "thumbs up" on their surveys or be forced to throw "compensation" at any cry, snob or raised voice in hopes that there are no detractors in surveys. Educate yourselves on proper soft skills and realize that when a "guest" gets to the point of escalation - it should NOT be on the low salary grade employee to "de-escalate" the situation. If someone asks for a "supervisor", those calls are passed to a supervisor. An escalation is handled by MANAGEMENT - NOT a low salary grade employee! Enforce your dress code! The companies dress code has always been casual/business casual. It's an internet company and probably lax on enforcing some dress codes but it's gotten out of hand. Not every one here is on the same level but the company has such a high turn over rate that it is my personal belief that they simply don't care anymore and are trying to retain as many employees as possible. Has this company's "people" checked in on any of the American Offices? I understand "casual" but come on. The following has been witnessed at the Grand Rapids office: - Revealing leggings, jeggings or other hosiery without the proper top/dress. - House slippers or flip flops. - Wearing a throw blanket around the office. Like a cardigan...it's a blanket. - Overbearing perfume or cologne (take a shower, for Pete's sake!) - Hoodies, zip ups, large jackets (worn around daily!) ** I'm so so very happy when I finally quit this inferno. I always urge anyone who still works there to leave!!!! The money isn't worth the constant stress, the office drama and condescending attitude of the "Management".

    Show More
    Booking.com2019-01-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Office where they offer WII, ping pong table, foozball table and massage chairs. They pay for 50% of any healthy meal sold in the cafeteria, and they offer free food and coffee and tea. They pay well, offer more vacation time than any company I've seen out there. Right out of training you start with 60hrs of Paid time off and it's really easy to use it. They are very open, no cubicles. If you ever have any issue they are open for feedback. They offer great benefits, and bonus as well every quarter. 2 huge parties every year, for example this year for the summer party the whole 700 employees in the office are going to seal world for free to have fun. I have never felt so supported by a company before.

    Show More

    Cons

    About the company I have none. The job itself isn't the most pleasant since you have to deal with some rude customers but that's it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing support you give us

    Booking.com2018-04-15
  9. Helpful (16)

    "DONT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is fun, the office is nice, and the atmosphere is very relaxed, some of the people are great as well…those are the only pros.

    Cons

    Where do I even begin. I was a customer service executive, and they say they focus more about on-call behavior rather than metric goals, HOWEVER, do not believe this. The job is very metric driven, and the team leads pressure you to meet those goals. Over the last 6 months, the bellevue office has gone through some drastic changes that made employment unbearable. Changing the pay structure and so on. After 6 months, you are eligible for advancement, but you won't get it. Some customer service executives had been there 2 plus years, and no promotion. The room to move up is small, and the job is just demeaning. People yelling at you on the phone for a problem you didn't cause is not a way to spend your day. Do yourself a large favor, and apply somewhere else, like Expedia.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more about on call behavior, and not about metrics, I.E. how many calls can you take an hour, how fast can you resolve the problem. Those metric goals take away from the customers positive experience because the agent on the phone is just rushing to get the call over with, so they can answer another.

    Booking.com2018-05-17
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Worse Company Award!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro for Booking.com is the diversity. Nothing else.

    Cons

    The internal communication is fail, with divergent info in each department and between departments as well. HR and director knows about the problems, but they prefer to ignore what happens. They don't really care for employees. HR usually close tickets opened by employees without solve the problem. Is really frustrating. If you get Sick and need to request PTO, you run the rick to have your PTO denied because doesn't matter the reason, you have to tell HR 24 hours in advance that you need PTO. Depending of your team leader, (s)he is going to say that you can Not use the bathroom in the first or last hour of work!! You have also to have print-screen of Everything that you do, because your team leader can decrease your worked ours without your knowledge, besides say that you checked-in late even if you were there on time, but could not login due technical issues. They want you to work on your breaks and lunch. Turnover is extremely high. Must people don't hold the job for more than 6 weeks. In the interviews and during career fairs is said that employees can apply to other positions in the company in 6 months. However, that is not true. Minimum time is 1 year, unless you are an exception, in other words: if you have great contacts And your team leader Really wants to help you. No Booking.com for me anymore.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Should start taking care of the employees Should improve the communication in the company. Should give a very good train to: team leader, HR, trainer and recruiters.

    Booking.com2017-09-10
Found 233 reviews