Booking.com Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
222 Ratings
Pros
  • "open culture, career growth, almost free lunch(in 119 reviews)

  • "Good benefits compared to other companies(in 89 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low salary compared with competitors(in 59 reviews)

  • "No one except the other 3 girls who also had no team or we had to call the Senior Line religiously to make sure we were doing things correctly(in 52 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (11)

    "The booking.com experience has no rival"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Analyst in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I chose Booking because of the kind of work I would be doing, the people that interviewed me which would be the my working colleagues, and because of all the booking.com experience described in the material I received. Everything is going the way it was described. Other than that, in Booking.com you are valuable. I had a short start and then felt sick, serious disease, and since then I had ups and downs, and my management at Booking gave me every opportunity to recover, to work on things I was able to due to my condition and so on. I am still under recovery, and the company still values me at most, providing me help and support beyond expectations.

    Cons

    I can't name a "con" at this moment. Even the "con" for me which is the fact that all offices is on the city center which is hard to reach by car, for most of my colleagues this is a "Pro" because of the multitute of public transportation modals they can use.

    Booking.com2019-11-20
  2. "Amazing work place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is good. work environments are really good.

    Cons

    I don’t have any bad situation

    Booking.com2020-03-10
  3. "Positive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees and supportive enviroment

    Cons

    No Cons to report besides general Office Politics

    Booking.com2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Like sitting in a cab for hours to get no further than 3 blocks..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some travel perks, various reimbursement programs Easy "work/life balance" lifestyle and very routine

    Cons

    Stagnant environment unfit for personal and academic endeavors, Saturated with superficial reporting processes and routine call meetings, Talked up by skewed survey responses of employees eager to fit the mold, Some sort of belief that perks will make up for not getting paid nearly as much as counterparts at Expedia and other companies. Success is measured, not by the work you accomplish, but how loudly you can brag about it and how many people you can get to notice.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2020-05-21
  5. "Love the people!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 

    I worked at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    Great team and team lead!

    Cons

    N/A As far as CS jobs go, they're treating everyone really well

    Booking.com2020-05-04
  6. "Great company culture. Not crazy about hospitality or call centers."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Guest Specialist in Wyoming, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company atmosphere. Tons of great benefits. Very supportive staff and lots of advancement opportunities. They also allowed everyone to work from home when the outbreak started coming to my state.

    Cons

    Definitely a global company, as they will stick with their company policies as often as possible. I gave a lower rating because I am personally drained from the hospitality industry as a whole. If you are someone who LOVES hospitality or call centers, Booking is a wonderful place for you.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2020-04-29
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Good Company Culture and Benefits, Inflexible Otherwise"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company culture: Managers (NORAM, revenue-side) care about their teams and want to change what's within their ability to change to keep team morale high. Feedback was always constructive and and a two-way street. Retaliation was not a worry. Surveys: An annual company-wide, third-party survey was followed up by team workshops to address management issues and employee satisfaction; this excludes salaries and yearly bonus gift, which always comes up with poor ratings but were rarely addressed unless all salaries were adjusted across all career bands. Benefits: Aetna medical, Delta Dental, and vision insurance were good. Quarterly bonuses can be the equivalent of 1-2 paychecks if an employee exceeds all bonusable targets and Exceeds Expectations in their quarterly review. Also, 401K employee match of 6% is good. Paid volunteer days were provided to help company-approved non-profits. Other perks: Team events and lunches were budgeted and scheduled based on employee availability. The half-year themed summer party/event usually means great food and music. Booking Annual Meeting (by raffle only). Fully stocked breakrooms with free healthy produce, snacks, and beverages. Work-life balance (as hourly, non-traveling FTE): Managers have always been very specific to not take work home and were open to constructive feedback regarding keeping proper work-life balance. Salaried employee experiences may differ.

    Cons

    Booking Annual Meeting in Amsterdam: BAM (2 days of workshops, trainings, and a themed party) was almost always guaranteed for sales employees in good standing, but was cancelled for 2018. Employee morale suffered. Then, BAM was turned into a disappointing 1-day kick-off 2019 event, no trainings, no workshops. Later in 2019, the Amsterdam BAM was reinstated for 2020. Attendance was raffled and uneven across offices. Trainings: Multiple quarterly trainings in different NORAM offices, one DNA training in Amsterdam, and regional reunions were cut for non-management and restricted to online trainings. Other benefits: Travel reimbursement was offered on personal bookings up to EUR 1000, but only 25% of a booking was reimbursed at a time. Yet, salaries were till low-to-middling compared to other online travel companies. Low career mobility (from NORAM offices): You don't want to be an account manager, senior account manager, key account manager, etc? Too bad because that was the dominant Partner Services career track in NORAM. Telecommuting: Applying for a job in a different department/country felt hopeless. EMEA postings require applicants to already have a work visa prior to applying, and visa sponsorship was rare. Yet, EMEA had the biggest job variety. The company was inflexible on telecommuting from any one of the 198 offices. Job duties can be 100% changed at any time, but pay may not be increased: Account Executives were operational and took care of partner inbound via phone, email, and tickets. Account Executives also helped meet sales targets at times depending on the office. In 2019, the AE role was "commercialized" meaning we now managed our own accounts, provided partners with strategy/advice, and ran partner meetings without account manager pay because AE travel was forbidden. New AEs were hired at a higher pay rate compared to AEs who worked years at Booking.com. Targets: Sales goals changed to include itemized tracking of all calls and emails like a call center. Calls and emails were not bonusable targets, but could've negatively affected quarterly reviews (which affects bonuses), even if all other sales targets were met or exceeded. Bonusable product target tracking was faulty at times, then targets were thrown out of bonuses mid-quarter, only to be re-introduced the last week of the quarter.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2020-02-29
  8. Helpful (94)

    "Awesome!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    First off the atmosphere and diversity is amazing. It’s an awesome company to work for. The pay is good and quarterly bonuses are a perk. They offer free food a lot and the canteen offers healthy food choices that B.com pays 50% of the price for. They offer Monster energy drinks in the canteen and free Starbucks coffee. The PTO is also very good.

    Cons

    None that I can think off.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-04-22
  9. "Great growth experience."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booking.com

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity to develop

    Cons

    Customer service and Micromanagement, Micromanagement, Micromanagement

    Booking.com2020-02-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Quickly turning into the stereotype of a call center."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Insurance benefits 25% compensation for accommodation stays (€100 + 25% on the first booking of the year). It doesn't apply to flights or car rentals though. Getting to talk to people all over the world is really cool. If you work a later shift you'll communicate with more guests and partners in Asia, Australia, and the Middle East. Yearly raffle to go to Amsterdam where the company's HQ is located. A set schedule allows you to make plans well in advance, and overtime has never been forced.

    Cons

    Open office layout - I'm not sure how this could ever work for a call center. The customer you are speaking with hears not only your voice, but the voice of everyone around you. Changes - Employees joke that Booking.com is Booking.changes because everything changes so often. It's very true. Obviously the company needs to change at the same speed the travel industry is changing, but this should be taken into account when training and evaluating employees. I have personally spoken with a large number of new-hires that were trained in procedures and policies that were outdated or just wrong. Changes Pt 2. In the 3 years and 9 months I worked at Booking.com the way customer satisfaction was calculated changed 3 times, as did contacts per hour/interval. The bonus structure was changed so that employees were awarded less in the short run, but after 4 quarters you would be benefiting. Unfortunately it was changed after 3 quarters in a way that no longer benefited employees in the long run. Bugs - I could say "everything at Booking.com is broken" and you'd think I'm exaggerating. I'm not. The ticketing system used by customer service was built in-house. When originally created it worked pretty great. However, as new products and features were added the reliability of the system quickly fell. Of course, you will be expected to maintain "good scores" regardless. A great example is how they track performance. Entire months of data have been thrown out because something bugged. You'll quickly find yourself running out of breathe trying to reason with your manager that a quarter with 3 months months of data shouldn't be compared to one with 2. Criticism - The company stresses the importance of taking feedback in a professional manner. However, they don't like it when you provide feedback or critique internal processes, procedures, or products. I once disputed a quality score I was given for a ticket where I was clearly correct according to procedures. I was given quite a bit of pushback, and in the end had to deal with the score I was given to begin with. Quantity - Booking.com has moved away from a customer centered focus in the last 3 years. How many tickets you start is far more important than how many tickets you resolve. Work avoidance by colleagues trying to save their "numbers" runs rampant. Employee Wellness Facade - The actual problems employees have are never addressed. The company will do a lot to push employee wellness and will provide resources, but won't actually change anything. Pay - Glenn Fogel, the CEO of Booking Holdings made $20,459,184 in compensation in 2018 while the average customer service agent was paid $15/hr. Mark D. Okerstrom, the CEO of Expedia pulled in $13,089,562 of compensation, yet his customer service agents were paid $16/hr on average. Also, as of late February, new hires are being paid more than employees that have been with the company for years. The cost of living will increase far faster than any pay increases. Advancement - There is very little room for movement within the customer service department. Unethical - There seems to be no quality control for new products and questionable changes have been made. While I was employed the company partnered with another company based in India called OYO. The procedures of OYO were vastly different than ours and resulted in quite a bit of conflict. It seems that a multi-million dollar contract was signed without ever discussing the logistics of Booking.com and OYO working together. Overall, the company has fallen quite a ways in the last 3 years. Unless you are a robot, I do not recommend working here. They simply do not value you or appreciate the work you put in being the voice of the company when support is needed.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2020-02-27
Found 2652 reviews