Booking.com Software Developer Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Software Developer Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
3 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "The booking.com experience has no rival"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Analyst in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I chose Booking because of the kind of work I would be doing, the people that interviewed me which would be the my working colleagues, and because of all the booking.com experience described in the material I received. Everything is going the way it was described. Other than that, in Booking.com you are valuable. I had a short start and then felt sick, serious disease, and since then I had ups and downs, and my management at Booking gave me every opportunity to recover, to work on things I was able to due to my condition and so on. I am still under recovery, and the company still values me at most, providing me help and support beyond expectations.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't name a "con" at this moment. Even the "con" for me which is the fact that all offices is on the city center which is hard to reach by car, for most of my colleagues this is a "Pro" because of the multitute of public transportation modals they can use.

    Booking.com2019-11-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Working at Booking.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great work life balance.

    Cons

    Comp is decent. Tech stack is kind of old.

    Booking.com2017-02-03
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Cool opportunities, bad day to day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    Free trip to Amsterdam, stock options that are worth something, large scale, lots of trainings, interesting problems, leader in their space.

    Cons

    Perl. Giant unmanageable code base. Lots of beauracracy and lots of denial. Under average pay. Not enough testers or test infrastructure.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay, reevaluate technology stack, listen to your people more, more quality control, better benefits, be more open to change.

    Booking.com2016-04-22
  4. "Typical for a company if its size"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good product focus. Very good testing methodology. Interesting and innovative tech in some areas of the business.

    Cons

    Trying to grow too fast, and the culture is suffering. Too many inexperienced managers.

    Booking.com2019-11-27
  5. "Overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work: Good - Learning curve: Good - Flexibility of work: Good You will love the city and diversity within the organization :D

    Cons

    - Legacy code - Need infrastructure change

    Booking.com2019-11-26
  6. "The best Tech employer in Amsterdam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in several Amsterdam companies. Booking is the best, no doubt: -great work-life balance -international colleagues -cool offices -interesting projects

    Cons

    not aware of any yet

    Booking.com2019-11-21
  7. "One of the best places to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of colleagues from whole world Global, international company Big challenges and opportunities

    Cons

    Legacy codebase and infra Different standards across teams

    Booking.com2019-11-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Madhouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Visa and Relocation support is the only thing useful here

    Cons

    Is just blame game and internal fights and no value for tech. There are frustrated TLs just taking out their personal problems on productive employees.

    Advice to Management

    Need to fix this from root.

    Booking.com2019-11-22
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy for teams and individuals to improve product

    Cons

    One might need to drive oneself in order to succeed

    Booking.com2019-10-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great variety of projects to work on, nice people

    Cons

    Some confusion in general leadership, otherwise it's quite nice

    Booking.com2019-08-10
Found 53 reviews