Booking.com "amsterdam" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Employee Reviews about "amsterdam"

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
104 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some Team leaders treat their agents differently(in 127 reviews)

  • "Progression for next step would be in Amsterdam(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "amsterdam"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "An amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the best reasons to work at Booking.com is its culture and values. An amazing place that empower you and helps you to embrace who you are as a professional. The company is always providing trainings to develop your skills. I really love how things changes all the time, not everybody likes it but I love it because there is no way to get bored and beside that you are always learning something new and facing new challenges. I love how the company has been structuring its fields, all internal tools and work around this to improve. The company does everything, go above and beyond to offer the best support ever to partners and guests booking through. Benefits are amazing, getting a percentage off in bookings, help with external trainings, and managers helping with PDP.

    Cons

    The company should be more flexible with locations to work and expand some interesting positions to others countries/regions beyond Amsterdam. Sadly the big annual meeting that used to be in Amsterdam is not happening anymore but I hope the company finds a way to keep the cultural exchange and region experience exchange.

    Booking.com2019-01-07
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Management sucks and your mental state is not worth the money sometimes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes they offer free lunches, PTO, overtime

    Cons

    Management breaks or makes the job and recently management has caused so many people to quit or find other opportunities. I worked there 3 years and had to leave because they hardly offered new shifts. When they did, it always seemed people that sucked up to team leads and management would get morning shifts. Everything changed! When I started it wasn’t stressful and our main goal was to provide great customer service to our guests. Now they are numbers based when this job doesn’t require any sales or retention of guests. They make you worry about your talk time, customer satisfaction, your adherence, hold time, your contacts per hour on phones and email, finalize and then make you track every reservation you worked on. Basically the job is being micro managed and are just money hungry. Booking offered a trip to Amsterdam for conferences but that was cancelled. They are open 365 days, they do not close for any holiday. So chances of you working important holidays are high. I spend my New Years at work when the clock hit 12:00 am, January 1st. Management will stab you in the back especially if they do not like you. I’ve seen it happen to a lot of people. Management is bad, favoritism, stressful, dispensable, they don’t care about you.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2019-01-08
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (14)

    "Not like it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Language Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great teams. Emphasis on personal development. Lots of training opportunities. Quarterly get-togethers. Decent benefits. Fun working atmosphere.

    Cons

    Terrible pay without any explanation of who we’re benchmarked against. Very little flexibility in schedule. Some teams are allowed remote work, others are not. Once annual trip to Amsterdam now scrapped. Double standard with many policies. Favoritism. Inept project managers. Career opportunities lacking in certain departments. Some managers are great. Others love to micromanage.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-12-14
  5. Helpful (6)

    "A good stepping stone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Guest Representative in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for the city of Orlando for unskilled work. Free fruit ( apples, orange, banana, and grapes ) readily available at all times. Free coffee, including espresso. Massage chairs in the break room. Quarterly bonuses based on performance and how much your team lead likes you. Fantastically diverse company. You get to talk to people all over the world every day. Your co workers teach you every day, as they are all from different cultures and speak different languages. They are lenient about performance and give a lot of chances - you really have to screw up your performance to get fired for this. As long as it shows you are trying, they will not fire you for performance even if you suck. Free parking on premises, and those that do not have cars qualify for a hefty travel expense bonus. A constantly changing company that listens to its employees most of the time and changes what needs to be fixed most of the time, even if it takes a while. They are constantly trying to engage, whether it be with parties, spirit days, Booking.com swag, or encouraging posts on the work social media. They usually give you cake on your birthday and frequently attempt to lift spirits with pizza or contests ( depending on the team lead ). It is a good, encouraging company that tries its best, but has gotten too big for the attitude it used to have towards employees and is struggling as it has to adapt to the fact its growing too quickly and taking on too many changes. There are ways to move up if you would like to be a Senior Executive, a Team Lead, a Quality Executive, or a Customer Service Manager. This job gave me quite a bit of skills in patience and problem solving. Thinking on your feet is essential here, and they absolutely give you those skills if you work at it here.

    Cons

    Over the time I've worked here, I watched it go down hill. When I was first hired, we had fab Fridays twice a month where the company gave us free food or gifts. We were able to listen to music while working. Their motto was numbers don't matter as long as the guest is satisfied. They had a yearly meeting in Amsterdam you could be chosen to attend, all expense paid, that everyone worked towards, and if you weren't chosen, there were parties at your office with games, food, and gifts. Before our eyes we watched this all change. The meeting in Amsterdam was discontinued, fab Fridays faded to one Friday a month, and then disappeared altogether. Music was banned, and suddenly it felt every time you turned, someone was pushing numbers. The system of bonus structure changed, making it harder for employees to get a high bonus, if any. You get heavily impacted on your customer satisfaction scores, despite the fact that most of the time, the guests are rating the hotel or the situation, not you. How your lead sees you and how motivated they are to see you get a bonus is how you get one. The PTO system is wack. They give a massive amount of PTO ( a month ), however, they give it to you all at once, and that is all you get. Sick? PTO. Vacation? PTO. Emergency? PTO. You can't ask for days off unpaid, you can't give them doctors note to get unpaid days off, you can't even give shifts away. You can switch to have days off, but that's it. Although PTO is supposed to be used at the employee's discretion, Booking.com forces you to use yours in order to get a day off at all, even when sick. Although they have FMLA after a year, it's nearly impossible to get and constantly denied. It's a broken system that needs to be fixed, as no other company forces hourly employees to take PTO for a day off or does not allow them to opt for unpaid days off. Even when telling them a year in advance about a vacation, if you don't have the PTO for whatever reason, you will not be able to go or will lose your job. Even if you have a doctors note letting them know you physically can not work, if you don't have the PTO, you're either coming in anyway or getting written up. And if you get written up, it lasts forever and never falls off. In the long run there is one thing a prospective employee should remember about this job title - it is a call center. It is also the complaints department. You are going to be yelled at. Screamed at. Blamed. Sometimes Booking.com's system screws up but they will adamantly deny all responsibility and point fingers at hotels that have no idea how our system works, leaving the agent forced to stammer and stutter out excuses to both the guest and the hotel to try to spin blame when we all know really who's fault it is. Guests are angry and they're going to take it out on you. Grab your patience, your softest, most calming voice, and get ready. Quality and coaching is vastly dependent on the Team Lead and the Quality Executive you have. I had several teams during my time, and some quality executives would ding me for things others had told me to do. There was no winning unless you hone yourself to exactly what THAT quality executive wants. The parking is free but lately there have been break ins and a few people's car windows were smashed. My own tire was slashed in the parking lot. They got extra security, but it was like pulling teeth to get it. There are ways to move up, but they are so few and far between that the entire building goes for them when they pop up. Anywhere outside of your building is barely worth hoping for since you'll most likely never get it. All of the good jobs are in Amsterdam. It's a good job for now. If you can't see yourself in a specific position there, it's best to get the skills and the name on your resume and go somewhere that will help you grow and excel into higher positions after a while

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-12-29
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Customer Service Guest Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Guest Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -PTO is very good about 144 hours a year -Medical Insurance is good- Aetna offers three programs- the third one is free, you just contribute money to you HSA account, they also contribute $500 a year for single $1000 a year for family -Paid Holidays- You get time and a half plus 8 hours of PTO or you get double time pay. You also get paid 8 hours if you don't work -Pay is somewhat reasonable- not a living wage in Orlando

    Cons

    What began as one of the best jobs I've ever has turned into a complete nightmare. The company initially reaped of benefits and managerial staff had empathy for it's employees, we had end of the month catering- noted as Fab Fridays, for the holiday's they would provide food, we had an annual, all expenses paid trip to Amsterdam to learn about the culture, and meet global colleagues. Flash Forward 3 years later, our Fab Fridays are non existent, for holidays they request that we, the employees contribute the food now, they've eliminated the Amsterdam trip and have created a local "Roadshow". The employee experience has gone from 5 star drastically down to a 1 star rating. Something that has shocked a lot of employees because the company is growing exponentially and making tons of money, yet the employees benefits have been slowly taken away. Another negative of this company is that as it is currently growing, trying to become a monster hospitality website, it lacks in consistency with its guidelines, procedures and even its security guidelines . As a Customer Service Guest Specialist, rules, procedures, and important security guidelines change constantly with just an email telling us to review the material and compelling us to learn it ourselves- sometimes our team leaders just tell us about the change but they themselves aren't given enough time to even study the guidelines and therefore provide effective counsel on such changes. The quality team than reprimands you, which in return results in threats by your team lead with Performance Improvement Plans because you didn't adhere to such guidelines. Before there would be training sessions for such drastic changes and they would be discussed in workshops- these workshops are also non-existent. The structure for reprimanding employees is inconsistent as higher management doesn't have a proper checks and balances system to ensure that their team leads are treating employees fairly. An example: Someone that i knew was late every single day for two months and only got a write up, he was favored by his team lead, yet an agent the other day had 3 late occurrences and got the same level write up. The policies are biased and unfair. The environment at this office has always been encompassed with favoritism, what you read in other posts in regards to favoritism is all true. Team leader's have favorites on their team and therefore sometimes sanction some differently than they do others and keep in mind that this can also affect you from growing in this company- again no consistency. The Human resources department is also a joke. They protect the team leads instead of actually listening and INVESTIGATING the concerns brought to their attention by subordinates. There is nothing kept anonymous as Team Leads and HR representatives have close bonds. The code of conduct states that Retaliation is forbidden, but the same employees who reach out to HR in confidence that their concerns will be heard, addressed and rectified eventually end up at the bottom of the food chain and well, let go or fired for "other reasons". Strict scrutiny, i have come to notice, is placed on these employees. Human Resources does nothing about it! For solutions we have to perhaps reach out to Amsterdam to get a positive result but I personally am not certain how effective they do their jobs.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2018-12-25
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Preaching to the Choir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Travel Free snacks in kitchen

    Cons

    Low pay vs the amount of money Booking reels in. Young/inexperienced management Hire Then Fire - No idea how to run a company Hard to move up unless you're in amsterdam

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2017-10-23
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Customer Service is not or everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accommodation Service Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    – Great benefits – Free parking – Free bananas & avocados every day! – Great people and friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    –If you never worked in CS, you will HATE the micro management (your schedule is completely planned for you, some team leads don't even allow you to take your daily 10 minute personal time, which was constantly pointed out from HR as one of the great benefits) – 30 minute break is not enough. – Great opportunities, but they are all in Amsterdam.

    Booking.com2017-05-17
  9. Helpful (29)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Booking.com

    Pros

    DO NOT WORK HERE!

    Cons

    This place is toxic, very passive aggressive political work environment, poor leadership, too much gossiping, no growth within the company unless you move to Amsterdam HQ, unprofessional co-workers/team leads/managers!

    Booking.com2017-03-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to get your start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Honestly a very open and accepting culture that values diversity in all it's forms. You get to travel a couple times a year for most roles.

    Cons

    You'll never make as much as you would at a competitor. The company is painfully bureaucratic. Everything is top-down from Amsterdam, so if you are not in that city you will find it more or less impossible to get your voice heard.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2017-02-14
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Growing Travel & Tech Company w/ good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    Great PTO plan, nice work environment, relaxed culture, nice perks- such as a company wide party in Amsterdam every year. Global company with a lot of opportunity. Great if you are interested in living in a new place, or travelling.

    Cons

    Low salaries, very flat organization, headquarters are in Amsterdam - so most opportunity to grow there. Not the best company for copywriters or people passionate about writing.

    Continue reading
    Booking.com2017-01-10
Found 92 reviews