Booking.com "team leaders" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
66%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com President and CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
133 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Good but not for the long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training (although I believe the length has been reduced which isn't a great idea). Free lunches and fruits. Cool office.

    Cons

    Hard to achieve targets. Constant streams of complaints. Unhelpful and overbearing team leaders.

    Advice to Management

    Maybe more focus on the customer, no way to give quality service as you have to turn your call time around.

    Booking.com2018-11-20
  2. Helpful (30)

    "Should be looked into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits, free lunch, great people, friendly approach. The quality role gives you an opportunity to coach others, getting to know several different people and growing your experience whilst doing so. The role gives a good level of autonomy when managing workload. You get the opportunity to join and manage different projects towards your own and your colleagues development. It's a fair place to be working in for some time

    Show More

    Cons

    The job itself changed dramatically within the last year, being now focused on evaluating hundreds of calls every month, in which recurring issues are rarely addressed when solicited. Quality Executive performance is measured in a (quote) "Holistic" way, there is little to no objectiveness as to what is not meeting, meeting or exceeding expectations. The sickness policy of the company can have you receive a verbal warning for feeling ill as little as three separate days within a 12 months rolling period. Lateness is also counted towards sickness instances, needless to say these have nothing to do with each other. Discretion of the Team Leader applies when interpreting this policy, resulting in some employees being held up to completely different standards than others. Whilst Customer Service Agents are micro-managed to a ridiculous extent, management has little to no control whatsoever. I have been working to support different team leaders in different teams. I have seen very significant cases of management not acting in a professional manner and reported some, nothing tangible has ever been done. On the contrary, on a couple of cases promotions were given within a month of reporting. Almost all internal positions given within the last 12 month have been temporary roles. Those who apply for positions have to go though extensive interview and preparations processes, for positions on contracts that last at times three months. When approaching the end of the contractual period, the employee is told if they will be getting an extension or be returned to their old role. Thanks to this process the company can save an amount in pay, and keep all temporary employees on edge, having them fear for their future and work twice as hard.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Whilst "Small minded" staff are being blamed for the negative reviews on the site. I personally think after several years in the office, management needs to get out of their walled garden and understand there are some serious issues with lack of professionalism, candidate selection and management supervision within the site.

    Booking.com2018-10-19
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (10)

    "Do not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Leader in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were some TLs who where amazing as well as people... most of them are gone from Sloterdijk of course...

    Cons

    I was working for more than 3 years at the Sloterdijk office. Do not apply... the more I grew in the company the more I regret it... site leader and CSM are corrupt. They allow fraud from agents as long as the numbers make them look good. They will cover each other even when they know they are not doing things right and will ask anyone that does try to change that leave. They have 2 awful senior Team leaders, the senior team is sick or leaving cause of the poor management and CSMs or site leader do nothing. Site leader ask for permanent contract for friends even though this people have work avoidance and cheat the system. If you do not think like they do, you are not worth their time. They do not want new ideas, they want sheep...I made a mistake and went to ethics ambassador and HR within the office.. noone listen to me, I should have gone to HQ to get something done.. my bad really... I got one CS manager putting me against the wall and asking me to kiss him, no one cared, i flagged work avoidance and people not doing their job.. they do not care, and started saying I was not communicating properly (I have checked with several other people, and they saw me and disagreed wwith the managers as my communication was on point, professional and so on). I am happy all this happened as I am in another company with a much higher position and they love my style and accept my ideas... they are not afraid of different points of view as the people in ASD is. Senior management do not comply with values from Booking, they do not care.. they tell you the opposite of what the videos from compliance from HQ say... ethics, zero, willigness to work, zero... This is anhonest advise, please if you value yourself and want to feel valued and do your best work, do not come here... Booking.com is great but this office really makes it look bad, very very very bad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    quit.... really, site leader 1st one and then the rest. They are disrespecful, selfish, unprofessional, fake... they talk bad about people on their back, and believe me, this is not only about me, I did hear it myself about others.. coming from the site leaders , the CSMs and the TL that are friends with CSMs... I just hope compliance, finance and HR go to sloterdijk to see what is really happening...

    Booking.com2018-12-27
  5. Helpful (9)

    "“I am Woody Woodpecker and I am the sheriff of the Town”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training; Flexibility at work; Great international colleagues; Decent pay + quarterly bonus; Monthly party.

    Cons

    Customer/Partner specialists very well pressed to reach unrealistic targets. The job is stressful per se like in other call centres; some agents speaking some languages are most of the time on the phone listening to both realistic and unrealistic complaints(really demotivating task), whereas some others work on the picklist only (which is equally bad for the PSAT/CSAT, KPI related to the quality of the job as it is related to unresolved past cases) and listening to the music. -Changes of procedures occur continuously. -Quarterly bonus set to meet expectations only (almost impossible to exceed them). -Booking Annual Meeting (BAM) in Amsterdam “transformed” (read “cancelled”); -Many positions (Guest Reviews, CRA etc) disappeared and or fused with other departments within few months, forcing many employees to leave the company; -contact per hours (the second most important KPI which shows the productivity of the agent) is measured on number of calls received, not any more per single item. Good luck! - small properties heavily strangled by the rules dictated by the company. - A lot of Bookers do not know how to use the website to reserve rooms/apartments. Not user friendly at all. Internal Promotions: the pre-selection is based on the above-mentioned KPIs. Absences in the past might influence the final verdict. However, it is the grade of connection you have (networking inside and outside the office with the key players) that will give the opportunity to grow professionally inside the company, despite the ridiculous videos prepared in the headquarter want to persuade you that meritocracy is key. Seniors: Most of them are not very approachable, they undergo a metamorphosis once they leave their previous job as simple agents. Team leaders: Their main duty is to report who complains too much in their own group to their line managers who know how to get rid of them. No leadership skills, no technical knowledge of the software, no knowledge of the easiest procedures (this is especially true for those hired externally). Most of them belong to ONE NATIONALITY. Customer service managers: They are in competition among themselves (and the rest of the offices worldwide) they push their team leaders to get from their teams the best KPIs in order to get bonuses. Also here, only ONE NATIONALITY. Does the obsession of their motto “The right people in the right place at the right time” want to suggest that other nationalities are not good in managing a call centre office?? HR: They work for Management, despite they hypocritically claim to support agents (which is the majority part of the offices) and that the internal promotion process is clear and fair. This department has the courage to send to some of its former employees an email to refund the company some money (the amount varies from €50 to €500 and sometimes more) as they calculated their last payslip incorrectly and blackmail them in case they will not give money back. Here again, only ONE NATIONALITY.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There was an external inspection occurred some months ago and nothing happened. They know that they have cyclical high turnovers and they are fine with that. Generally speaking, those are People obsessed by numbers -anytime, anywhere - (yes, even here they are inventing fake reviews to alterate the steep decline of their poor score). So, Nothing to suggest to the management.

    Booking.com2018-12-27
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Avoid London CS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hotel discounts and multicultural environment

    Cons

    - It’s almost impossible to ever get the holidays you want (“computer says NO”) - sickness policy is too strict and does not respect medical and personal needs of the individual person - time spent at the toilet is measured and you get told off if you stay more than 10 mins - the “free” food they serve at the canteen is unhealthy and smells/tastes bad - team leaders do not have any knowledge, be it technical or operational - senior management is selected with apparently poor criteria and recruitment process is not transparent - all feedback you offer to management goes wasted, and if they don’t like you they make sure they find a way to sack you or to make you leave - very difficult to get through seniors for support - different team leaders treat their staff very differently in the same office, and be prepared to change yours every 2 months

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    you don’t listen to anyone and you don’t make real structural changes. look further than your macbook and start taking feedback seriously

    Booking.com2018-12-20
  7. Helpful (38)

    "Just a terrible company for devs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Developer in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Relocation package is good. If you eager to leave your third-world country this is an option. - Subsidized lunches are good. - You can meet a few smart people there. Will find x5 more idiots though... - Work-life balance is good - you can do nothing for many months and no one will notice it. - Good salary and bonuses according to the local job market(which is very bad) - If you always wanted to play a "House of cards" IRL this is your chance! Don't read further, apply immediately.

    Show More

    Cons

    First of all, I beg you to believe and I swear everything you may read in negative reviews here is absolute truth. If still you decide to join after this please have a clear understanding of why you are doing this and always keep in mind a backup plan in case you realize you can not stand it anymore. - The company doesn't make any profit because of successful tech products. The only things that make it work are lack of competition, heavy usage of dark patterns and google ads. Obviously, if you don't have a need in tech people who can do more than moving buttons around a form you don't want to waste your money and efforts for them. I believe this attitude is the main driver that leads to all the ugliness Booking has inside. - The middle management is deeply rotten. All around the company, you will find managers and product owners who only care about what is good for them to get a bonus or a promotion and don't care if these actions make sense for the company. No need to say they will evaluate you in terms if you are helping them to achieve these goals. - The first line managers aka Team Leads is nothing better. At one point a couple years back anyone who was willing to be a team leader was promoted. As you can imagine this led to many brown-nosers in TL position. Nowadays it is normal to see former UI designers and copywriters leading dev teams. Obviously, they have no clue what their people are doing and how to assess their work. - The higher management is either dumb or, what is most likely, don't care about this issues while cash-flow keeps going. - Almost any manager or product owner will retaliate over your badly in case you disagree with them. Don't worry, they will do this without violating the code of conduct. And believe me, they will make your work life miserable from that point - A noticeable part of your compensation is a bonus which is not guaranteed and can be cut off by a wish from anyone from your management line. - The company is corporate "nonsense" driven. From higher management, you will never hear anything except politically-assured answers(which are usually not the answers). For the middle management, you will easily notice a huge difference between what they say and what they do. - No need to say your technical skills and achievements worth nothing at Booking. Most likely you also won't learn anything new. After a few years there no decent tech company will hire you. - I will not elaborate on this but here is a huge amount of politics on every level. - There are quotas in recruitment and promotions. Which may be good for you if you are a girl. - Recently started a cost-cutting which is nothing good. No one knows which benefit will disappear the next month. - Local Amsterdam job market is very bad. You will hardly find a company who can pay you comparable to Booking, which makes you sit in a golden cage if you were committed to this move. Booking knows this so they will squeeze all the forces out of you until you are empty, then they will throw you away.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You may disapprove negative reviews here as much as you want this will change nothing. Just keep investing in real estate in Amsterdam and enjoying your bonuses, this music won't stop for your lifetime.

    Booking.com2018-12-02
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Guest Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The environment is great and everybody is friendly. Flexible schedule, it’s very easy to get holidays. Great food is served at the canteen and there are lots of coffee points.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. When you progress and become a senior or a team leader you are stuck in a interim position even for a year, so you get paid as a normal agent with lots more responsibilities.

    Booking.com2018-09-25
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Avoid avoid avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSE in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They will blind you with benefits that are not all they're cracked up to be so the biggest pro will be the coworkers and the casual dresscode. The booking discount (25% refund on reservations) gets refunded to you AFTER AT LEAST TWO MONTHS and even simple pros they lure you in with have weird conditions. The free fruit is just 1 piece of fruit per person per day. C'mon you guys have enough money to stop being weird like this.

    Show More

    Cons

    The London office has a horrible environment. Team leaders are a joke, especially on night shift. They are either having sex with their agents (who get moved to other teams) or they're making racist jokings or they're hiding from their team by having mysterious (work free) meetings constantly. They've no idea about procedures and just pressure you to hit KPIs like you're a robot. After your probation ends your team leader can decide to extend it if you didn't hit just ONE of your 6 stats, even though people from other teams were able to pass with worst stats. They also give bonuses based on if they like their agent and not on your actual performance. The job itself was exhausting when they put you for 8 hours straight on phones while coworkers get lots of picklist (emails). Procedures change every week and alot of times you'll have customers screaming at you over things that are not your fault. they pretend its just peak season that's super busy, NOT TRUE. That's just the period of time when it can take a MONTH to reply to customer. And you have to deal with the angry customer wondering why. During the training you get told ALOT about the premium pay but when you begin you get rostered as close to midnight as possible so they can cheat you out of as much premium pay as possible. This only happened to new staff because they changed the contracts to make you start whenever they want. Daytime pay sucks too because the job is super stressful and underpaid. They also pretend there's a high chance you get promoted but in reality promotions are decided unfairly and the only contracts they give out are temporary ones where you can have NO job security for like 6 months. Most people leave bitterly and don't last more than a year so they staff turn over is super high. Whenever you have an issue the team leaders turn into robots and can't have a human side AT ALL. The sickness and absence policy is crazy because you can only be sick OR late up to 3 times a year. I don't know anyone who doesn't need at least 3 forgivings in 12 months. After 3 instances I couldn't even help I had to have a formal meeting where my team leader told me I could be fired for gross misconduct if it happens again. Seriously?? Team leaders and managers also get fired randomly and an email will be sent to everyone explaining that they broke the code of conduct. Yet if you complain that your team leader has a racist sense of humour it can get downplayed? Team leader also follow you to the kitchen if you go for some water and ask you (with a nice smile) if you're on break or 'personal time' (10 minutes a day that you can use for your own time, that they discourage you from using because it messes your adherence). I truly wish I read an honest review like this before I started because I would not have wasted months of my life in a stressful job being treated like a slave. Good riddance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making fake 5 star reviews here (with barely any information, curiously) because you want to hide the truth! Give people good hours/ fair picklist and call balance, fire team leaders who get reported for racism, start making team leaders be professionals, and stop pretending when you start that everyone will basically be the CEO in 6 months. Promotions are rare, so act like it.

    Booking.com2018-11-17
  10. Helpful (22)

    "London office needs to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Specialist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multi-cultural environment and friendly atmosphere Also, a very LGBT friendly environment (which you do not see in many offices) Free lunches (although very unhealthy) and coffee and fruit Regular work events

    Cons

    When I first joined in 2016 the office was smaller, I received a decent training and felt as if I was a part of a team. There was always pressure and strict lateness/sickness policy - but manageable as the team huddles and other outings partially made up for it. Last two years the office has steadily become worse, to the present time where (I hear from former colleagues) the work environment has become unbearable. Many of the team leaders are not qualified, I have heard several of the male team leaders talk inappropriately about people in the office and even one of them describing having sex with an agent. This was 1.5 year ago, some of the misconducts I have heard about while being away are just utterly shocking. Being promoted is all about networking (did not use to be) and same people get ignored time after time. The TL (especially externally hired) have close to no knowledge of what their agents jobs are and they also do not care. It is all about how long you keep your customers on hold or how many you manage to get through in an hour, encouraging copy/paste replies and sloppy efforts when there are complaints. If you are hired for a smaller language you can be forced to work on the English line, even when your language has a caseload for you to work on. Explanation being, demand on english line defeats enquires in your language? This is clearly poor management as then recruitment will constantly encourages you to refer more people to your line due to demand. So happy I never have to step a foot in that office again, what a depressing dump.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read these reviews on Glassdoor, and do something about it. Have someone come in anonymously and closely monitor the management at London office.

    Booking.com2018-10-07
  11. Helpful (6)

    "Nothing more than a call centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are regular distractions and promotions thrown at you, to distract you from your job. I have had two great team leaders, which strongly impacts your time at the company. Regular team outings, benefits etc Dinner is provided (though by the time we get to eat, most options are depleted). Fruit is provided (though this will run out within 5 minutes of arriving on the floor. The office view is in a good location.

    Show More

    Cons

    The 'pros' listed above are only really created to distract you from the actual job. On the English line, it's 90% dealing with upset American callers who are very rude. not a healthy job to keep for very long. Many 'Team Leaders' and 'Seniors' have a terrible attitude and feel elite compared to the other call centre workers. I have met some awful people here. i have had a very fortunate experience as I have had some great team leaders, but coworkers who haven't been so fortunate are regularly reprimanded for going to the toilet. Whatever your results are, Booking.com doesn't care and always asks you to do more. In summary - the company tries it's hardest to distract you from the most boring and soul destroying job you will ever have.

    Show More
    Booking.com2018-11-07
Found 124 reviews