Booking.com "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some Team leaders treat their agents differently(in 125 reviews)

  • "Progression for next step would be in Amsterdam(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Empowering People to Experience the World"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Booking.com is the leading Digital Travel Company, dedicated to supporting millions of customers around the world, avid travelers who are eager to book their next destination. The working environment, although it has changed and evolved a lot from a Startup environment 7 years ago when I joined, is amazing to see the growth and progress that takes us here and what excites me more is the opportunities ahead: from... Artificial Intelligence investments in Tel Aviv to our Customer Care Centers across the globe, we are a Global Company but locally relevant. Internal benefits include Health Plan, PTO and for me the most imporant: a lot of investment in Learning & Development, with Annual Benefits that could be used towards your development through internal or external courses. The work environment is also very rich, with different backgrounds and professionals from different areas that compose a rich and diverse culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    We have been through changes, kind of a growing pain, which is necessary to keep the company competitive in a changing landscape of Global Tourism. If you are willing to accept change on a day to day basis, this is definitely a place to be!

    Advice to Management

    Review the Salary Ranges to be more adequate to local markets and different realities.

    Booking.com2019-07-03
  2. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great development opportunities if you have a good manager. Good work-life balance. Inclusive work environment.

    Cons

    Too much internal promotions, even when it makes more sense to hire externally.

    Advice to Management

    Always allow for everyone on the team to practice personal development.

    Booking.com2019-11-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Diverse setting, but company slowly becoming less desirable to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse and friendly work environment, not scripted dialogue, not forced to sell anything. Great benefits Yearly gifts Bonuses

    Cons

    Management is not realistic as far as the expectations put on the employee Number system they use to represent employee standing is quite flawed Company becoming more robotic, and less concerned about employees Pay raises are a bit low Managers say they are forced to mark employees as 'needs improvement' even if they are doing well. Managers are not qualified and do not know the job, so they set unrealistic... goals and expectations for the employees No sick time off, so if you get sick, be careful with planning a vacation

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the job and know the job before setting expectations for the employee.

    Booking.com2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and work environment.

    Cons

    At this time I am happy with my employer.

    Booking.com2019-07-25
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Hopefully it has gotten better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clean and bright work environment Lots of cheerful people Cool company culture Free fruits and veggies

    Cons

    Low pay (was very low when I was there but may have improved) Not a lot of career opportunities when I was there One of the worst contacts was regarding overbookings, which was a horrible process for both the agent and the customer. Literally would take hours and would hurt your numbers. Do not be a "backup" for a language, got a $0.25 raise but all of my contacts were for my backup language because of lack of... coverage. Should have been paid the higher rate as a full time for that language.

    Show More
    Booking.com2019-05-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun place to grow and learn. Great culture and fun working environment. Encourage you to share best practices and support you to take on new challenges. Awesome benefits, time off and really was a great place to go to work everyday.

    Cons

    Limited opportunity to move up without moving around, but that’s basically everywhere anymore.

    Booking.com2019-05-07
  8. "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment and great coworkers.

    Cons

    Management has long way to go.

    Advice to Management

    People are not robots and can’t expect to work like a machine. People like to think outside the box and authoritarism is not good to manage people.

    Booking.com2018-12-01
  9. "Customer Service Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Specialist in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and reinforcement Good Benefits PTO is great Great culture and values

    Cons

    -Limited and very competitive growth opportunities with a few exceptions -Pay could be better but they reward hard work/efficient employees -Inconsistent management, whoever your Team Lead is can greatly impact your work environment for better or worse, I've luckily had good ones thus far but other colleagues can't say the same.

    Booking.com2018-10-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Multi-lingual environment in Customer Care Executive Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Executive in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues Diverse work environment with many languages spoken on a daily basis Great parties and give aways at the end of the year Very high tech with great technology

    Cons

    Low salaries (instead of increasing employee salaries Booking.com throws massive holiday parties, and gives away ipads etc.) Management is not very transparent No communication or interaction with other departments

    Booking.com2018-03-20
  11. Helpful (6)

    "Customer Service Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    -Easy interview if you prepare -Good benefits as PTO, health insurance -Good work environment

    Cons

    -Sometimes managers are not clear of what you need to do better -You need to meet the requirements of calls, questionnaire... a day, a month

    Booking.com2017-12-05
Found 165 reviews