Booking.com "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booking.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
65%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Booking.com CEO Glenn Fogel
Glenn Fogel
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some Team leaders treat their agents differently(in 125 reviews)

  • "Progression for next step would be in Amsterdam(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Company Culture is great in general - but not in China office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1) Great people 2) Awesome company culture 3) Superb mission and belief 4) Work life balance - Good 5) Willing to invest in trainings

    Cons

    1) Salary wise. 2) Career advancement

    Advice to Management

    1) Stick to your Mission & Belief - as people will follow and join u 2) Do not take KPI & targets too seriously (is important, but do not go overboard)- as that's the result of us making it happen. First of all, we must know why we do it and the main reason for us to make B.com great. Not just solely by hitting target and compromise our standard

    Booking.com2018-02-01
  2. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great development opportunities if you have a good manager. Good work-life balance. Inclusive work environment.

    Cons

    Too much internal promotions, even when it makes more sense to hire externally.

    Advice to Management

    Always allow for everyone on the team to practice personal development.

    Booking.com2019-11-22
  3. "Great Company but you can find better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the office, the environment is very motivating and it feel like home. Work life balance is good but many companies allow working from home whereas Booking does not.

    Cons

    Opportunities for promotions are very limited, pay is not great.

    Advice to Management

    Pay a better attention to managers and their performance/skills/ability and willingness to manage.

    Booking.com2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (31)

    "Steady Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined Booking.com right out of college. I had the opportunity to travel to 7 different cities and 4 countries while working at Booking. 2 years ago I was full of aspirations and goals for my professional career. Booking is a great place to begin. You have a great work life balance and flex scheduling. As a credit controller you learn how to negotiate with partners, soft phone skills, team work, and account... management. But over the last 2 years that has drastically changed. I made some great friends at booking and most of the people are very friendly.

    Show More

    Cons

    Booking has slowly declined over the last 2 years. Management is all about office politics and they only help their "favorites". The bonus structure is terrible. For example, a top performing employee receives 1% higher of a bonus than an employee that does the bare minimum. Management has cut bonuses to save the company money because of the slowed growth. For Christmas we did not get a gift or a bonus but rather we... received a cookie for our hard work. There are a few managers that will undercut their employees ideas and act as if they are their own for their own gain. They also began taking away our 2 15 minute "allowed" breaks during the day. Booking continues to pay their employees poorly and their are limited opportunities for advancement. The credit control position is becoming more automated and more customer service like.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit playing favorites. Quit blaming poor employee morale on the employees and take a look in the mirror. Listen to your employees and their issues, they might very well have a solution.

    Booking.com2019-04-11
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Don't come"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and benefit. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    There are too many politics and you need to spend a lot of time on communication.

    Booking.com2019-04-27
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A lot of fluxuation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, PTO, create your own travel schedule

    Cons

    Direction fluctuates from local to headquarters every quarter. There is no ownership over KPIs, everything comes from upper management. Very micromanaged

    Booking.com2019-01-22
  7. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time

    Pros

    People, Atmosphere, Benefits, Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Salary promotion opportunities no room to grow

    Booking.com2018-12-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Credit Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Controller in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work- life balance, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunities, terrible communication of changes and processes

    Advice to Management

    Hire internally

    Booking.com2018-10-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    positive work-life balance and Top accommodation company worldwide.

    Cons

    Too many internal meetings that don't focus in business

    Booking.com2017-11-21
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Customer service executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booking.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Healthy free fruit, technically savvy company, dual monitors.

    Cons

    Schedules that do not fit into work life balance. Changing schedule for special needs, circumstances is nearly impossible, even with documentation. They are not flexible. So many issue are up to the discretion of your manager. Hopefully they will understand your situation and go to bat for you. Some will not and use most of their time on their personal cell phone while on the floor and on the clock, totally... absorbed in everything else but work and team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Attendance policy is up to discretion of managers, when it should be office-wide. There is a lot of favoritism and discrimination shown by some management along with Inconsistent policies, with unclear interpretations.

    Booking.com2017-10-18
Found 163 reviews