Cover image for BoomTown (South Carolina)
Logo
See All Photos

BoomTown (South Carolina)

Engaged Employer

BoomTown (South Carolina)

Add a Review

BoomTown (South Carolina) Reviews

Updated Nov 17, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 124 of over 134 reviews
3.9
62% Recommend to a Friend
BoomTown (South Carolina) CEO Grier Allen
89% Approve of CEO

Found 124 of over 134 reviews

3.9
62%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
BoomTown (South Carolina) CEO Grier Allen
Grier Allen
77 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

497

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great place to work

    Dec 27, 2021 - Software Trainer in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote Work life balance Cool office

    Cons

    None really Very enjoyable experience Need 5 words but don’t have anything negative to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work with strong focus on work/life balance.

    Aug 28, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Title says it all. Strong work/life balance, decent raises, low stress environment

    Cons

    The work could be more varied / challenging

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the BoomTown (South Carolina) team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok for side job

    Nov 17, 2022 - SR SMS Concierge in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great at work/life balance and undertanding how remote work is done and how to manage it

    Cons

    Promotion from within is not based on experience but on how well you "get along" with the higher ups. Pay is not equal to work that is being done & metrics are outdated .

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Borderline Micromanaging

    Oct 30, 2022 - Concierge 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The couple hundred dollars a week is helpful with this inflation The people are friendly Lots of opportunities to grow within the company from part time to full time Still get some of the tech culture even as a part timer

    Cons

    Every thing you do is monitored like a hawk Even when you feel like you are improving, the quality assurance team will flag you for something so small You have to ask for permission to step away from your computer. It can bee very repetitive

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Awesome Company with Growth Challenges

    May 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    BoomTown is a great place to work overall, offering competitive salaries and benefits. Their core values are not just something that's posted on the wall in a break room, as the leadership team and individual contributors walk them out in their daily interactions. Prior to the pandemic, the office was not just a place to work but to also have fun and enjoy all the amenities of a google-ish environment.

    Cons

    The company struggles to manage change throughout the existing organization for the acquisitions. There may be plans for how best to assimilate the staff and systems, but they're not well defined or communicated. This applies as well to new service and product offerings, where the focus is primarily on marketing and sales with the rest of the organization being in a reactive mode. There has also been a significant impact to morale and stability due to the number of long-time employees who have left the company for greener pastures. With most of the new staff being strictly remote, the culture and comraderie is suffering.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    BoomTown (South Carolina) Response

    Learning Strategist

    Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback. I loved your comment around our Core Values. As a fellow Boomer, you know here at BoomTown we take our values very seriously and try to keep them top of mind throughout each day. I understand your comments around managing change through Acquisitions. As I’m sure you can imagine, integrating two organizations is always a complex process and there is certainly room for improvements to that process. Rebuilding BoomTown culture post pandemic is top of mind for all of us. It’s a new world that all companies are adjusting to but I strongly believe that BoomTown culture will prevail as we continue to stay aligned to our Values. We would love to hear more about your ideas and experiences. Please reach out to your leader to discuss any thoughts or suggestions you might have or you may contact your HR Business Partner at talent@boomtownroi.com. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to continuing the conversation!

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    An okay job

    Sep 14, 2022 - Onboarding Specialist in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was okay, training was good, had a good and clear routine, very stable, not stressful.

    Cons

    Sometimes it was too busy and it was a challenge to book all client appointments without working additional hours off the clock.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Lack of leadership

    Sep 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited time off, not micro-managey, remote as an option, mostly good people

    Cons

    Serious lack of leadership. Leaders in place are weak and are overly concerned with everything being"fair" and not ruffling feathers that they are missing major problems. Gaslight when you come to them with concerns. Company has so much potential, but will never reach when a few non-leaders run the show.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company!

    Aug 27, 2022 - Shift Leader/Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Communication and manager support was phenomenal. I also thoroughly enjoyed my position as a Shift Leader. Great work/life balance as well.

    Cons

    Workload at times was hectic, but manageable.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    SMS concierge

    Aug 1, 2022 - Client Concierge 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I absolutely love this job, so much support it’s not like any other job I had where they just throw you to work,I love how supportive everyone is to one another, the job itself is easy and self and the growth opportunities is amazing

    Cons

    Pay is my only concern

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Anonymous

    Aug 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall good company to work for

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 124 Reviews
</>Embed

BoomTown (South Carolina) Reviews FAQs

BoomTown (South Carolina) has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 134 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at BoomTown (South Carolina) to a friend and 72% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, BoomTown (South Carolina) employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at BoomTown (South Carolina). This rating has decreased by -8% over the last 12 months.

62% of BoomTown (South Carolina) employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated BoomTown (South Carolina) 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at BoomTown (South Carolina) to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be workplace, compensation.

Popular Careers with BoomTown (South Carolina) Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BoomTown (South Carolina)? Share Your Experiences

or

BoomTown (South Carolina) Careers

Cover image for BoomTown (South Carolina)

What exactly is BoomTown? We are 500 doers, makers, and trailblazers on a mission to make real estate agents successful. The software and...More

  • Core Values
  • Our Product
  • Locations
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

BoomTown (South Carolina)

1449 days ago

A student, a CEO, a neuroscientist, a professor, an innovation director, an engineer, a tech executive, and MORE - Oh, and did we mention that BoomTown's very own VP of Sales and Marketing, Shannon Williams, was among the greats? Amazing job to every speaker at this year's Charleston Women in Tech meetup. Thanks for inspiring every woman in technology to GSD!
Shared image
See all

BoomTown (South Carolina) Photos

+ Add Photo
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: Cheers to 10 BoomTown years!
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: Welcome to BT
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: These are the items that make a house a home. These items also make for a great game of 'I spy'!
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: Chilling out, maxing, relaxing all cool
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: When Boomers get tired of sitting at their desks, they can pop into multiple different environments...or alternate universes in this case.
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: Sharing knowledge, but not sharing Grandma's secret cookie recipe.
BoomTown (South Carolina) photo of: New Space Sneak Peek
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BoomTown (South Carolina) Job Seekers Also Viewed

Benefitfocus Logo
Benefitfocus

2.7

997 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 134 BoomTown (South Carolina) reviews submitted anonymously by BoomTown (South Carolina) employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if BoomTown (South Carolina) is right for you.