Boomtown Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Boomtown CEO Alfred "Chip" Kahn IV (no image)
Alfred "Chip" Kahn IV
22 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Best Job Ever

    Feb 3, 2021 - Technical Resource in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    super user friendly, I'm an EX oil field worker and if i can do it anyone can do it

    Cons

    no real complaints to list

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Flat Tire

    May 5, 2021 - Operations in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's continually referred to as a tech company so you'll get to say you worked at a "tech start up company that raised money." If you keep a low profile with your head down you won't be bothered which is nice. You'll have large gaps of time where you really won't have anything to do so you can fill that time with things you need to get done. There's unlimited PTO but if you use any, you're made to feel like you shouldn't so there's a tradeoff.

    Cons

    "Management," although employed, is not really present and really only starts doing something when someone in San Francisco decides they are going to start focusing on some particular stat. However, no one's ever seen anyone from the San Francisco - sorry "the Tiburon office" so it's hard to say what they actually do for the business. It's hard to find career equity working here and if you want to learn something you'll have to ask the person next to you because a supervisor/manager will just tell you to go "ask so-and-so" or even better "check the wiki." Unfortunately, you'll probably be the one to discover the wiki has an error so your hands feel like they are tied and what you think will take you 3 minutes, will take much longer. I joined this company with great excitement but there's really not much to be excited about and knew it was time to move on when I determined Boomtown was a flashy word for a flat tire.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    could’ve been much much better

    Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    dental benefits are top notch

    Cons

    The leaders could lead better by being human and kind Work harder is the motto, and it keeps productivity pretty low Not a very diverse development team, and it doesn’t try to be Blame culture, no accountability No raises, even though they hired for tons of high salary positions There’s a lot of unnecessary political discussion, and debating of scientific facts Very disorganized team

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with good leadership

    Apr 9, 2021 - Marketing Manager in Tiburon, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people, great platform, care about their employees

    Cons

    Need better communication across departments

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    bad place to work

    Jan 26, 2021 - Technical Support Engineer in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good money good hours good people (team)

    Cons

    training is bad No loyalty for employees a lot of favoritism can not move up unless you are in with management no warnings before they let you go management does not listen when you have a grievance

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, Great product!

    Oct 29, 2020 - Product Manager in Tiburon, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the smartest and most hardworking people I have ever met in my life Over the 4 years I worked at Boomtown, I have seen personal and professional growth in every individual I worked with as well as the company Great product and market fit Very high potential for growth

    Cons

    Need to hire more developers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not just workplace but my Friends as well

    Feb 3, 2021 - Leadship Team in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Family Values Strong Teamwork Open Door Welcomes exchange on Idea's Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    None really at this time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Awesome people and atmosphere

    Sep 29, 2020 - Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick growth and awesome platform

    Cons

    Nothing to say here to be honest

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Separated Culture w/ No Consistency

    Feb 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed office, cookies are provided

    Cons

    Sharing an office with another company feels real weird, there does seem to really be a sense of caring about their employees, there is no growth paths. Additionally they undercut the wages for almost every position, to the point where people are hurting bad. Additionally, it feels as though in almost all departments the application of rules is inconsistent, where certain members of team are disciplined/scolded regularly for next to nothing, while other members of the team can skate by without a problem. Additionally there is next to no communication regarding lay offs or other negative portions of the business. Seems as though there is an attitude of sweeping unfortunate news under the rug. NOT A TECH COMPANY. Multiple departments are expected to work with no overtime due to almost everyone on the team being salary. This means entry level employees are working 10-12 hour days because there is no work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Highly Recommend

    Oct 24, 2018 - Technical Support Agent 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    --Very close-knit group of highly intelligent, fun, generous people. --Plenty of variety --The opportunity to take merchants who are frustrated with technology and make them happy --Always learning more and more about technology, both from coworkers and from having so many types of payment devices we support --Management knows we're still learning every day as the company grows and the number of items we support grows. So they don't judge or get upset when we don't know everything. --The chance to work from home. --Benefits are good. --It's a company with integrity, so we can be proud of where we work --Instead of Employee of the Month, we have Boomtown Badass. How fun is that?! --And the most important "pro"--looking forward to coming to work each day

    Cons

    --Changing schedules (but call centers are that way) --Supporting sooo many payment devices that we can't possibly know enough and have to research while we're on the phone with merchants (but that's part of the fun, too!)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Boomtown Job Seekers

Regional Support Technician
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Boomtown? Share Your Experiences

Boomtown logo
or