Boots Opticians Reviews | Glassdoor

Boots Opticians Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 161 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Jonathan Gardner
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The favourites can also have their mobiles on the shop floor, instead of in their locker(in 9 reviews)

  • "Not enough optics trained management(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not too bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Congleton, McLean, KY

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours ok, staff discount good. Colleagues lovely and customers ok

    Cons

    Pay isn't great! Work every weekend

    Boots Opticians2015-05-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Manipulative,take advantage of hard workers,no support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Boots Opticians

    Pros

    Customers were nice. Got paid on time. Wasn't physically abused.

    Cons

    Egotistical trainers,who are more interested in going to hotels for meetings than actually training people. Pressure to sell is impossible to correlate with integrity

    Advice to Management

    Examine where your training budget is being spent.

    Boots Opticians2015-01-20
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues Clean environment Easy access

    Cons

    There was nothing negative about working here

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Boots Opticians2019-08-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Optical Consultant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly staff - Good staff discount in opticians and main store

    Cons

    - Low pay even when qualified as an optical consultant - Hours could work 12:30 - 9:30 then 8:30 - 5 next day - No progression

    Boots Opticians2019-07-15
  5. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at Boots Opticians part-time

    Pros

    Very knowledgeable and gained new skills

    Cons

    Long hours are very tiring

    Boots Opticians2019-07-01
  6. "Don't bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Optical Assistant in Ipswich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff are great, just over worked.

    Cons

    They don't care!, no matter how bad the process is, they won't change it but expect you to 'improve it'.! There computers are a pain, you still have to use paper files? And the customers are just there to milk for money not help! Time management is just keep your staff back as late as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Get some!

    Boots Opticians2019-07-13
  7. "Good Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispensing Optician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company perks, discounts, holidays

    Cons

    Not the best salaries

    Boots Opticians2019-06-21
  8. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Trainee Optical Consultant 

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job when you get the hang of it Good pay (£8.50 per hour) Talk to customers/patients on a daily basis Good phone experience and customer service experience

    Cons

    Can get fast paced No real training (learn on the job) Management can be awful

    Boots Opticians2019-06-19
  9. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager in Egham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing support from Area manager.

    Cons

    No Christmas bonus if your a store manager.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-17
  10. "Used to be FANTASTIC, now the leadership has disintigrated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots Opticians full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent pay for experienced people including clinicians. Good holiday times and allowance. A passion for customer service in a lot of people.

    Cons

    I was no longer invited to management interviews whilst pregnant. I was strongly discouraged to return to a management role when I returned from maternity. I had worked my way into management over many many years, yet as soon as I took time away for maternity I was treated appallingly.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on speaking directly to your PM's, not just listen to the RM's and what they want you to see. Spend time in your stores, listen and watch what your customers and staff actually want.

    Boots Opticians2019-06-13
Found 161 reviews