Boots Reviews | Glassdoor

Boots Reviews

Updated July 22, 2017
361 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Elizabeth Fagan
25 Ratings

361 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Due to the demand of the job it is long hours and this is across the weekend (in 53 reviews)

  • Rigid and unflexible with work life balance (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Beauty Advisor Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Tanasbourne, OR
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Tanasbourne, OR

    I have been working at Boots full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    provides tools to succeed, places value on employees, flexible with scheduling, provides frequent communication and company updates, great brand and products, inspirational values

    Cons

    unreasonable goals, lack of structure, frequent miscommunications,

    Boots Response

    Nov 10, 2016 – Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We will share this with senior management.


  2. "Job Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Plainville, MA
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Plainville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    It is a great company employee experience. You get to introduce the brand to many customers and explain the benefits and features of this historical British drug store. You will work inside and outside of Target or Walgreens. It is a great way to build experience as a Beauty Advisor

    Cons

    The existence of the Target Concierge program makes it very challenging for the Boots Beauty Advisor, because it makes one of the other redundant and it also makes it look like two people are in the Isle. One ambassador for cosmetics is needed, and it is starting to look like the Target Concierge program won because she or he will know all things cosmetic dept, including being trained on Boots products

    Advice to Management

    Try to maintain relationships with Target so that employees can have an even richer Leased Employee experience

    Boots Response

    Jun 28, 2016 – Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  3. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    if you have a background in sales the job will seem easy
    pay is good -commission and hourly pay
    maybe travel depending on location and tile
    paid holidays /great benefits / and perks/ discounts

    Cons

    no co worker (all responsibly falls on you at times )
    most locations you will work inside another store (target/Walgreen/ulta)
    its near impossible to get help for store leads
    hours are not really available in certain stores
    very lil to no growth the company

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  4. "Beauty Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Fountain Hills, AZ
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Fountain Hills, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is a challenging and rewarding position. Great working environment for developing customer relations and an opportunity to gain knowledge in cosmetology through continued training.

    Cons

    Standing on hard concrete floors.

    Advice to Management

    Better synergy between Boots beauty advisors and Walgreens employees as they combine Walgreens and Boots Retail personnel.

    Boots Response

    Feb 16, 2016

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  5. "Beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    Pros

    the Boots management is great very nice and awesome yo work with

    Cons

    The boots boutique is inside of walgreens. Alot of people come asking for walgreens customer service

    Advice to Management

    We need more positions available to grow in the company

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for this feedback.


  6. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay at Boots is on of the best for retail and cosmetics, the discouts are great for staff and the place has a family feel to it.

    Cons

    There are some stresses during peak period, and often you recieve to many task and to little time

    Advice to Management

    Better yearly bonus's, spend more moneh on smaller stores and imrpove older stores before opening more

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  7. "Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice environment to work, looks after staff in regards to well being and care, there are opportunities to develop throughout the business if you are in the right business area

    Cons

    They dont pay their internal employees well and struggle to keep up to market rate, certain areas of the business focus on development and progression of employees more than others, more employees need to be held accountable for their work

    Advice to Management

    Hold your employees to account for SLA's and KPIS (make sure you have set them first)

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Boots - customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    friendly environment. busy day enabled me to stay on task and not get distracted. Enough breaks and good work life balance.

    Cons

    management were not too approachable and lazy. Some of my colleagues obviously had an issue with management and would make it known to staff constantly

    Advice to Management

    Become more involved with the people running the store. Also don't think that just because you are a manger you can walk past a shampoo bottle facing the wrong way and moan to the staff (who are engaged in other activities) to stop what they were doing and spin it round

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review


  9. "I am a beauty expert at Walgreens, i love my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Building amazing relationships with both customers and Walgreen co-workers. Pay is great.

    Cons

    Standing on feet for long hours.
    Hours there cuts my days as so i cannot obtain a second job.
    Wants us to push sales on every customer that comes through door
    Goals at times are unattainable
    My store manager is super passive aggressive, which is annoying
    Our uniform sucks (raggidy tshirt, dress pants, dress shoes (all black), does not potray high class to me, or professional to me)

    Advice to Management

    My biggest advice would be to bring more make up that is competitive to other brands. More colors of eye shadows and lips, better eye pencils, and more shades of beautifully matte foundation. Our ability to be competitive in make up is our down fall.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.


  10. "Love it, best company I've worked for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice management, work hard enough and def room to advance!

    Cons

    Have seen nothing bad so far

    Advice to Management

    More updated makeup products

    Boots Response

    Feb 9, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. Keep up with the good work.


Showing 361 of 1,112 reviews
Reset Filters