Boots Reviews | Glassdoor

Boots Reviews

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Boots Senior Vice President and Managing Director Sebastian James
Sebastian James
195 Ratings
  1. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant 

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, one of the best

    Cons

    Stressful like any shop rude customers

    Boots2020-01-24
  2. "Pre- registration pharmacist 2019-2020"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Pre-registration Pharmacist 

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice employee discount benefit scheme

    Cons

    Long working hours to deal with

    Boots2020-01-23
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Beauty Consultant in Doncaster, England

    I worked at Boots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team Free stuff Loads of training Career progress

    Cons

    Manager was a bit horrible

    Advice to Management

    Don’t treat staff like rubbish

    Boots2020-01-21
  4. "Could use improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good money especially if your working part time alongside education. - Pushed further to develop your skills when the managers believe you are ready so that you are always improving.

    Cons

    - Management is poor, rotas always have mistakes in and find that some managers are quite unprofessional in the way that they show favouritism in and out of work between colleagues - definitely isn't the case for all managers though some are the loveliest people I have met. - Customers tend to be quite rude especially to us younger girls (aged 16-18) and we have little support from management when this occurs. - Allow very little sick periods and when you have had one you get told that it will go higher next time but you are always uncertain of what they mean by this - need some clarity here. - Holiday is quite strict as you are only allowed 4 weeks a year but there are many restrictions on when you are allowed to take this - you are very unlikely to get all four weeks that you would like. - Working part time can be a lot when in education as well. Once a fortnight you have to do a 10 O'clock finish and then have to go to school early the next morning - they aren't very flexible with work hours and school meaning it is hard to complete much work outside of school.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Double check all rota's are correct and fair before submitting them (some people won't do a weekend late for up to three months when it's supposed to alternate every week) and give more than 1 weeks notice for the next weeks rota (most of the time we get then Saturday afternoon for the following week when the work week starts on a Sunday...)

    Boots2020-01-19
  5. "Avoid avoid avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time

    Pros

    I honestly cannot think of one pro of working at the Hammersmith King Street branch.

    Cons

    The managers all micromanage. If you go to the toilet more than once during your shift, they complain. Although they expect full flexibility from you, they are completely inflexible. The branch on Hammersmith King Street has the worst management in any company I’ve ever worked at.

    Advice to Management

    Hammersmith King Street Boots - Be a little more human and remember that everyone has their own struggles. Your employees don’t want to come to work and feel like they are in the military.

    Boots2020-01-18
  6. "Help and guide people to beauty products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time

    Pros

    Pay is good compared to other jobs

    Cons

    It can get boring in months with no events

    Boots2020-01-17
  7. "could be worse i guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - No7 Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount and training, pays well for a retail job!

    Cons

    depends on an individual store but personally my store the managers don't even care I leave sometimes without telling anyone and they don't even notice! the theft is ridiculous and I think this is a nationwide problem for Boots so expect to be verbally abused and threatened without management caring or a security guard ever being hired. No7 training was fun but if you're in a small store you'll be expected to work on other departments despite being employed to sell No7.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take responsibility for your store and employees instead of just swanning in and out without a care in the world! it's so unprofessional and affects the whole moral of the store

    Boots2020-01-15
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant 

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, and good pay

    Cons

    No overtime hours available to work

    Boots2020-01-14
  9. "Overall a great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time

    Pros

    Genuine purpose. Good career opportunities across the group

    Cons

    Can be slow to deliver change

    Boots2020-01-14
  10. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relief Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fair salary and fair manager

    Cons

    short of staffs and very stressfull

    Boots2020-01-13
Found 2310 reviews