Boots Reviews | Glassdoor

Boots Reviews

Updated April 24, 2017
945 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

945 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • very good pay, enjoyable work environment (in 92 reviews)

  • Staff discount is reasonably good (in 87 reviews)

Cons
  • Long Hours over Christmas, Short contract (in 46 reviews)

  • Workload is often unmanageable, there is not much work/life balance (in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    if you have a background in sales the job will seem easy
    pay is good -commission and hourly pay
    maybe travel depending on location and tile
    paid holidays /great benefits / and perks/ discounts

    Cons

    no co worker (all responsibly falls on you at times )
    most locations you will work inside another store (target/Walgreen/ulta)
    its near impossible to get help for store leads
    hours are not really available in certain stores
    very lil to no growth the company

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  2. "Beauty Advisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Bakersfield, CA
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Bakersfield, CA

    I worked at Boots part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hours were good and working independently was perfect for me. But you must be self motivated and willing to work hard to reach monthly goals. This was not difficult for me but for others it may not be the ideal job. Pay was ok but compensation was great as long as you reached goal at the end of the month. Schools were good and informative.

    Cons

    Communication was lacking from managers. Stock was slow to come in most of the time.

    Boots Response

    May 4, 2016 – HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.


  3. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Make a difference in the lives of the people you meet. Meet nice people. Great support from Dist Mgr . No micromanagement. 32 hrs is full time so you qualify for insurance benefits that start 30 days after hire! Retail but you never work late. Get bank holidays off.

    Cons

    Standing on hard store floors for long periods of time. Just started but the outlook is good.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more HR staff . Just started but will update later

    Boots Response

    Feb 16, 2016

    Thank you.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Beauty Advisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Fountain Hills, AZ
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Fountain Hills, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boots (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is a challenging and rewarding position. Great working environment for developing customer relations and an opportunity to gain knowledge in cosmetology through continued training.

    Cons

    Standing on hard concrete floors.

    Advice to Management

    Better synergy between Boots beauty advisors and Walgreens employees as they combine Walgreens and Boots Retail personnel.

    Boots Response

    Feb 16, 2016

    Thank you for sharing your review.


  6. "Beauty advisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    Pros

    the Boots management is great very nice and awesome yo work with

    Cons

    The boots boutique is inside of walgreens. Alot of people come asking for walgreens customer service

    Advice to Management

    We need more positions available to grow in the company

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for this feedback.


  7. "Pros and Cons"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay at Boots is on of the best for retail and cosmetics, the discouts are great for staff and the place has a family feel to it.

    Cons

    There are some stresses during peak period, and often you recieve to many task and to little time

    Advice to Management

    Better yearly bonus's, spend more moneh on smaller stores and imrpove older stores before opening more

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  8. "Its was good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice friendly staff,
    Great job with a good pay
    Average amount of hours
    Theres always something to do

    Cons

    Sometimes you have got to deal with arsey customers but sometimes you just got to bite your tongue with them.

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  9. "Boots"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice environment to work, looks after staff in regards to well being and care, there are opportunities to develop throughout the business if you are in the right business area

    Cons

    They dont pay their internal employees well and struggle to keep up to market rate, certain areas of the business focus on development and progression of employees more than others, more employees need to be held accountable for their work

    Advice to Management

    Hold your employees to account for SLA's and KPIS (make sure you have set them first)

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Boots - customer assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    friendly environment. busy day enabled me to stay on task and not get distracted. Enough breaks and good work life balance.

    Cons

    management were not too approachable and lazy. Some of my colleagues obviously had an issue with management and would make it known to staff constantly

    Advice to Management

    Become more involved with the people running the store. Also don't think that just because you are a manger you can walk past a shampoo bottle facing the wrong way and moan to the staff (who are engaged in other activities) to stop what they were doing and spin it round

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review


  11. "I am a beauty expert at Walgreens, i love my job."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Building amazing relationships with both customers and Walgreen co-workers. Pay is great.

    Cons

    Standing on feet for long hours.
    Hours there cuts my days as so i cannot obtain a second job.
    Wants us to push sales on every customer that comes through door
    Goals at times are unattainable
    My store manager is super passive aggressive, which is annoying
    Our uniform sucks (raggidy tshirt, dress pants, dress shoes (all black), does not potray high class to me, or professional to me)

    Advice to Management

    My biggest advice would be to bring more make up that is competitive to other brands. More colors of eye shadows and lips, better eye pencils, and more shades of beautifully matte foundation. Our ability to be competitive in make up is our down fall.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.


Showing 945 of 1,001 reviews
Reset Filters