Boots Reviews | Glassdoor

Boots Reviews

Updated October 20, 2017
1,159 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,159 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The work collegues and great and good pay (in 120 reviews)

  • Temp employees still got to use the staff discount card (in 102 reviews)

Cons
  • Long hours but to be expected in retail, especially if temporary (in 57 reviews)

  • Work life balance needs a little adjustment (in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Uxbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay at Boots is on of the best for retail and cosmetics, the discouts are great for staff and the place has a family feel to it.

    Cons

    There are some stresses during peak period, and often you recieve to many task and to little time

    Advice to Management

    Better yearly bonus's, spend more moneh on smaller stores and imrpove older stores before opening more

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  2. "Beauty advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    Pros

    the Boots management is great very nice and awesome yo work with

    Cons

    The boots boutique is inside of walgreens. Alot of people come asking for walgreens customer service

    Advice to Management

    We need more positions available to grow in the company

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for this feedback.

  3. "Its was good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Former Employee - Shop Assistant in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very nice friendly staff,
    Great job with a good pay
    Average amount of hours
    Theres always something to do

    Cons

    Sometimes you have got to deal with arsey customers but sometimes you just got to bite your tongue with them.

    Boots Response

    Nov 11, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  4. "Boots"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice environment to work, looks after staff in regards to well being and care, there are opportunities to develop throughout the business if you are in the right business area

    Cons

    They dont pay their internal employees well and struggle to keep up to market rate, certain areas of the business focus on development and progression of employees more than others, more employees need to be held accountable for their work

    Advice to Management

    Hold your employees to account for SLA's and KPIS (make sure you have set them first)

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Boots - customer assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Boots (Less than a year)

    Pros

    friendly environment. busy day enabled me to stay on task and not get distracted. Enough breaks and good work life balance.

    Cons

    management were not too approachable and lazy. Some of my colleagues obviously had an issue with management and would make it known to staff constantly

    Advice to Management

    Become more involved with the people running the store. Also don't think that just because you are a manger you can walk past a shampoo bottle facing the wrong way and moan to the staff (who are engaged in other activities) to stop what they were doing and spin it round

    Boots Response

    Sep 25, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your review


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Sales Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boots full-time

    Pros

    Good starting pay for little sales experience job and all training. Compensation for gas mileage.

    Cons

    Very short, brief, and unsatisfactory training program. I was a beginner to sales as well as many of the other trainees, and after training many of us were not well prepared for the environment. We were placed in a field competing against other well-experience sales associates which was very uncomfortable and intimidating. This job experience made me hate sales and never want to work in a sales role ever again in my life. Although there was compensation for gas mileage, driving was a hassle, especially when management had the opportunity to place us in store locations close to the areas we lived by.

    Advice to Management

    Better training program and more assistance to help employees who are beginners to sales.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We offer a variety of training courses, leadership programs and mentoring programs to colleagues at all levels of the company. We appreciate your... More


  7. "I am a beauty expert at Walgreens, i love my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Building amazing relationships with both customers and Walgreen co-workers. Pay is great.

    Cons

    Standing on feet for long hours.
    Hours there cuts my days as so i cannot obtain a second job.
    Wants us to push sales on every customer that comes through door
    Goals at times are unattainable
    My store manager is super passive aggressive, which is annoying
    Our uniform sucks (raggidy tshirt, dress pants, dress shoes (all black), does not potray high class to me, or professional to me)

    Advice to Management

    My biggest advice would be to bring more make up that is competitive to other brands. More colors of eye shadows and lips, better eye pencils, and more shades of beautifully matte foundation. Our ability to be competitive in make up is our down fall.

    Boots Response

    Jul 27, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  8. "Beauty Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Portland, OR
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great job for students or people wanting a weekend job. good pay plus commissions.

    Cons

    not many hours. environment in some stores is not conducive to sales.

    Boots Response

    May 19, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.


  9. "Make-Up Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Make -up Artist in Elk Grove, CA
    Former Employee - Make -up Artist in Elk Grove, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boots part-time

    Pros

    The nicest people I ever had the privilege of working with

    Cons

    Not enough hours for part time

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the way you treat your coworker's

    Boots Response

    May 1, 2015

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.


  10. "Beauty Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor
    Current Employee - Beauty Advisor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boots part-time

    Pros

    Great flexibility as far as work schedule goes, good starting pay with exceptional benefits considering it's a part time position. Company gives not full, but many unique benefits to it's employees! Great products to sell and reputable brand, you will be proud to sell Boots' many product lines! Good training provided! Sales goals are fair and just challenging enough. A rewarding job! This job is a hidden gem!

    Cons

    Horrible communication policy! Only allowed to contact your trainers and managers within certain time periods. Product turn around is not fast enough! Boots, tell Target to buy more products and increase the shelf count so we can get more in! As beauty advisors we sell it for you, and the shelves sit empty for two weeks or longer until more comes in. Currently no career advancements available and who knows when they will be, company is doing great, they are just younger and newer in the U.S.

    Advice to Management

    Consistent communication is needed. In addition, District Managers need to come around more. Come visit your beauty advisors at their stores, spend an hour with them on the sales floor, go have a lunch together, etc. More verbal recognition would be nice. Challenges with rewards are always fun and a boost to keep going, more of those would be good.

    Boots Response

    Apr 14, 2015

    We appreciate your feedback and we will share it further.


Showing 1,159 of 1,233 reviews
Reset Filters