KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Boots

Engaged Employer

Boots

Add a Review

Boots Employee Reviews about "hour"

Updated Aug 18, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 of over 5,788 reviews

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Boots Senior Vice President and Managing Director Sebastian James
Sebastian James
908 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The pay was good for someone my age (£10 per hour) and we also got free makeup(in 562 reviews)
  • "Discount and other friendly staff(in 353 reviews)
  • "Colleagues are nice but other than that it's horrible(in 274 reviews)
  • "The people I work with are all nice people and generally enjoyable to work alongside.(in 265 reviews)
  • "Very helpful when starting and training was good.(in 171 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management; timetabled me too many hours and didnt listen when i told them.(in 418 reviews)
  • "managers don't know what they are doing they bully there staff especially in central london stores(in 218 reviews)
  • "6pm shift = long hours to be on your feet all day (can't sit down at the tills)(in 195 reviews)
  • "No work life balance(in 38 reviews)
  • "Long periods of work and a short break(in 36 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Gender

This rating reflects the overall rating of Boots and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "hour"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Jul 4, 2022 - Customer Service Advisor in Derry, Northern Ireland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Enjoyable job, nice team, decent pay, avenues to progress

    Cons

    Zero hour contract for the young ones at Christmas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Unorganised

    Feb 17, 2022 - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Saint Albans, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The other Christmas temps were nice. Pay isn't bad.

    Cons

    Management very unorganised. Waited for over an hour and a half for the interview in a back room. Given no training other than a few online safety things - nothing about the store. Managers passive aggressive and made me feel guilty when I couldn't pick up extra shifts, but I had NEVER even been asked to do any extra shifts. Payroll bad - ended up with an emergency tax code as I hadn't sent a P45, but there was no possible way to send a P45. Wasn't paid properly for a while.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee

    They treated us like we were disposable

    Jun 11, 2020 - Beauty Specialist in Milton Keynes, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The pay was good for someone my age (£10 per hour) and we also got free makeup

    Cons

    We were treated badly and the hours were very long

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible

    Apr 18, 2017 - Customer Assistant in Coventry, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    •The pay is decent for a first job flexible hours if you are on 0 hour contract(I'm not) •staff discount

    Cons

    •pharmacy staff are rude and stuck up • management are unhelpful and disorganised •usually understaffed and no help is given to staff on tills when busy • workplace is filthy eg. Tillpoints and counters are never cleaned by the cleaners

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Boots Response

    Digital Attraction Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    boots customer assistant Northamptonshire

    Apr 19, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great wage (everyone's on the same rate per hour) good amount of hours lovely co-workers I'm Very close to my management but it depends if you work in a small store or not (mine is a smaller store) you are able to communicate with customers and break down the wall between the customer and sales assistant brilliant schemes available for chance of progression

    Cons

    now little chance of overtime because of recent changes

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Boots Response

    HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Zero Hours at Boots

    May 11, 2018 - Customer Service 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    super felixible for uni student

    Cons

    sometimes no shifts available and communication to zero hour contract employees can be poor but is improving

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I want to do something else

    Dec 21, 2020 - Warehouse Operations Supervisor in Burton, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    it is good pay 10.50 per hour employees are good

    Cons

    I want to get out of there because I had no transport but now I have my own car

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0