Booz Allen Hamilton "going public" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booz Allen Hamilton Employee Reviews about "going public"

Updated Feb 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton President and CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1,083 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 206 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "going public"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "IT Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    Work life balance Benefits: Even though nearly every business changed medical plans after Obamacare, BAH's remained better than most. Similarly retirement plans used to be incredibly generous, they were cut but are now still much better than most other companies. My leadership was excellent, no micromanagement and minimal scrutiny provided I performed to their expectations.

    Cons

    This could be a pro or con, the company shifted to a hoteling model for offices vs. assigned offices. The end result was more working from home, but the con part of this was reduced face time with peers and feeling more out of touch. After going public, the firm had less flexibility to weather financial stress. Meaning budgets were often slashed/reallocated elsewhere and occasionally staff cutbacks, however those... were very reasonable in my opinion as well as done in a most respectful and supportive manner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leadership always successfully straddled the best interest of both the firm and employees in my opinion, kudos.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-09-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Complete Body Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Good Brand, Good 401k program

    Cons

    Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-02-20
  3. "Best days are behind them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Associate in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Salary and benefits. Perfect job for someone looking to stat their career.

    Cons

    Politics and going public destroyed the culture. Listen, learn, then leave for a better job opportunity,

    Advice to Management

    None

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-01-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great room for technical growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer/Technologist in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of opportunity exists for growing your technical skills

    Cons

    A lot of the benefits have been drastically reduced since going public.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-10-16
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not your mother's Booz Allen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For a junior staff person right out of college, Booz offers a good first job experience with comprehensive training and a large resource base.

    Cons

    Once you reach middle management, opportunities for advancement are limited to who you know and how much pull they have. The leadership is underwhelming, since going public, all the good people have left and they have lost sight of strategy and replaced it with butts in seats.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2017-10-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid BAH at ALL Costs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Talented colleagues, good company reputation

    Cons

    Everything is based on utilization (% funded), management was frozen in time in 2010. Going public destroyed this fine firm. Look someplace else,

    Advice to Management

    Take your own advice and value people.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-12-21
  7. "A decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead Engineer/Technologist in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton

    Pros

    Good pay Good benefits Professional atmosphere Stable employment

    Cons

    Strict dress code Has lost its "startup" atmosphere since going public

    Advice to Management

    Focusing on the customers and promoting morale were the priorities that made the company attractive to talent. Bring back that atmosphere from before share holders drove more bottom-dollar practices.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-12-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Downhill Slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company has a competitive benefits package.

    Cons

    High turnover rate. Company culture has taken a nose dive since going public. BAH really used to be a great employee-centric place to work. Employee orientation used to be a week long event in DC that educated the employee on the company's history, ethic, and culture. Last I was there, it was only 2 days long and Principals were in such a hurry to staff they were skipping orientation altogether. Because of the... senior staff's financial incentive to grow teams, BAH has become much more about quantity of folks rather than quality. Why hire one highly qualified individual at 80k, when you can hire two inexperienced folks at 40k?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put half as much effort into recruiting and retaining quality employees as you do attempting to increase the bottom dollar.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-12-07
  9. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Company with great people

    Cons

    since going public there is no bench depth. If you are not billable you are gone.

    Advice to Management

    WE need more bench depth. Customers do not want to wait for the best they want them when the contract is issued.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-10-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great opportunity(s) - but be ready to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow and be tested in your area of expertise and career overall. I loved learning around other people who were experts in my field and other fields. And there is a certain prestige that comes with having Booz Allen Hamilton in your email signature and your business card. It's up to you to live up to it though and they will help you do that. And finally, because it is a... relationship-based company and business, you can make some friends in and out of the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    In my opinion, and I know other alumni will disagree, but the company changed after going public. Despite their attempts to seem up to date and agile, they are still a buttoned up, staid culture. The benefits were great when I was there but I have since heard they're not so great anymore. I also did not like being rewarded for growth, whether it was a promotion or pay raise.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people (better), and relax.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2016-08-13
Found 100 reviews