Booz Allen Hamilton "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Booz Allen Hamilton Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Booz Allen Hamilton President and CEO Horacio D. Rozanski
Horacio D. Rozanski
1,083 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work-life balance is hard to maintain(in 205 reviews)

  • "Burns through people by chasing awful work to maintain company revenue after going public(in 100 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is highly valued and encouraged

    Cons

    Salaries not as competitive as their peers

    Advice to Management

    Challenge your employees more

    Booz Allen Hamilton2018-11-24
  2. "Booz Allen Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cyber Security Analyst in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good base salary and benefits

    Cons

    Work/life balance isn't very good.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-12-04
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Technologist in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, growth opportunities, flexibility to move projects or teams

    Cons

    Disorganized processes or requirements in some teams

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-21
  4. "Good work life balance but disengaged management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, flexibility, and continuing education opportunities

    Cons

    Managers are not engaged with staff on my team; frequent no shows to meetings

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Company Values Potential Over Proven Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on team and project, there can be much flexibility and work life balance

    Cons

    People are often chosen for promotion based on likability and not intelligence or past performance of proven work. Company has assumption that those promoted will manipulate others to perform the work for them if they don't have the qualifications.

    Advice to Management

    The southern plantation style of employee management seems to be working for the firm since profits are up. If ethics and morality ever become a priority along with profits, then the plantation style should be re-evaluated.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-11-13
  6. "Work life balance and people are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middleware Administrator in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Technologies People Pay is fair

    Cons

    Hard to grow professionally and move up the ladder

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-10-17
  7. "Great firm to work for as a data scientist interested in public sector consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Excellent work-life balance and ability to "determine your own destiny" - Great firm resources and a culture of collaboration

    Cons

    - As with most federal consulting positions, navigating public sector clients can come with a learning curve.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-10-11
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time

    Pros

    Terrific breadth of opportunity and great work life balance

    Cons

    Miserable internal and HR systems

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-10-18
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great company, horrible leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - I/O Psychologist and Human Capital Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits, outstanding work life balance, lots of career opportunities, and you get a say on how far you want to go in your career. For lazy people like me who want to be overpaid just doing their jobs, this is great. I told them I didn't want to get promoted after the first promotion. They were totally cool with that and didn't hold it against me.

    Cons

    Their managers do not know how to effectively lead. Every single one of my program managers had poor people skills, were condescending, patronizing, and passive-aggressive.

    Advice to Management

    Send your newly promoted lead associates to leadership training. Even send your associates to leadership training so that when they're up for promotion, they will know how to effectively lead people, which will help retain employees and improve employee satisfaction.

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-18
  10. "good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Booz Allen Hamilton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good work life balance. good employee benefits

    Cons

    mainly facing government clients. need clearance knowledge

    Booz Allen Hamilton2019-09-30
Found 791 reviews