Border States Reviews | Glassdoor

Border States Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
53%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Border States CEO Tammy Miller (no image)
Tammy Miller
52 Ratings
  1. "Employee-ownership a difference maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Border States full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture of giving back to the communities they live and work in.

    Cons

    Big organization not always the most nimble but invests in technologies.

    Border States2019-12-27

    Border States Response

    January 13, 2020HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for the feedback – we appreciate it – we do have a great culture! And we’ll keep working on being more agile.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Market leader and forward thinking. The ESOP is great for those looking to make a long term career commitment

    Cons

    Large company which means it can be difficult to adapt and change.

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-12-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 

    I worked at Border States full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and reasonable hours

    Cons

    Long drive and hot days

    Border States2019-06-07

    Border States Response

    June 19, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review and for the work you do as an employee-owner!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Career for Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Desk in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Hours, Employee Owned, Fast Paced, Advancement Opportunities

    Cons

    Entry Pay, Corporate Structure, Training Materials

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-05-17

    Border States Response

    June 19, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for the 5 stars! And for the honest feedback on training opportunities – learning and development is an area we are focusing on to be the best we can be.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "All about the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee Ownership is a fantastic benefit. Great people across 22 states. Opportunities to grow for people who want to grow. Every employee gets insight to how the company is doing through monthly videos and reports.

    Cons

    We’ve grown fast as a company, trying to catch up on technology and processes. Lots of overtime, may create burn out.

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-04-12

    Border States Response

    April 16, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    We agree – employee-ownership is a fantastic benefit and the people are the best! Thanks for your positive feedback and noting where we can get better – it is the only way we’ll continue to be the best we can be.

    Continue reading
  6. "Border States Invests in You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Leadership Trainee in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Border States has shown time and time again that they are willing to but in the time and resources to fully develop their employees into leaders. Being employee owned means that everyone has a stake in the company itself, so in taking the effort to develop their employees means that everyone in the company is a valuable resource to you. Everyone (and I mean everyone) is willing to lend their time and knowledge to help you develop further. The care that they had shown me as a Distribution Leadership employee is genuine and unrivaled compared to other companies I have worked with before. Other Pros: -Get to travel a lot throughout the region -Travel expenses all paid for by BSE -get in-depth knowledge of how each department operates -Very friendly environment to work in -Many career opportunity to move up within the company ranks

    Cons

    Cons: -hours can get very long especially in the summer -Non-paid lunch (have to clock out when eating lunch which turns any 8 hour day into a 8 1/2 day)

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-04-11

    Border States Response

    April 16, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for the honest feedback on the hours and for pointing out that we are willing to put in the time and resources to fully develop employees into leaders. This is a great place to build a career and wealth for the future.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Lead 

    I worked at Border States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything is great about this place

    Cons

    No cons I can think of

    Border States2019-03-19

    Border States Response

    April 1, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for your honest feedback – we work hard to remain a great place to work!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with lots to learn everyday. Nice coworkers and excellent customers.

    Cons

    Pay. Being in the oil patch rent is rising really fast and it is very expensive to live day to day.

    Continue reading
    Border States2018-08-26
  9. "Customer Service Representative / Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the few places I've worked where hard work is recognized and rewarded. ESOP is great and so are the people that work here!

    Cons

    Bi-weekly pay and not much else!

    Border States2018-04-30
  10. "Love this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Desk Representative in Lubbock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my first year with a great company! ESOP is pretty good, the salary is fair, and the balance of work and home is good!

    Cons

    No commission a little less pay than previous employer but a lot better working environment.

    Border States2018-04-29
Found 87 reviews