Border States "employee owned" Reviews | Glassdoor

Border States Employee Reviews about "employee owned"

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend

Reviews about "employee owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The Career for Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Desk in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work Hours, Employee Owned, Fast Paced, Advancement Opportunities

    Cons

    Entry Pay, Corporate Structure, Training Materials

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-05-17

    Border States Response

    June 19, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for the 5 stars! And for the honest feedback on training opportunities – learning and development is an area we are focusing on to be the best we can be.

    Continue reading
  2. "Border States Invests in You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Leadership Trainee in Brooklyn Park, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Border States has shown time and time again that they are willing to but in the time and resources to fully develop their employees into leaders. Being employee owned means that everyone has a stake in the company itself, so in taking the effort to develop their employees means that everyone in the company is a valuable resource to you. Everyone (and I mean everyone) is willing to lend their time and knowledge to help you develop further. The care that they had shown me as a Distribution Leadership employee is genuine and unrivaled compared to other companies I have worked with before. Other Pros: -Get to travel a lot throughout the region -Travel expenses all paid for by BSE -get in-depth knowledge of how each department operates -Very friendly environment to work in -Many career opportunity to move up within the company ranks

    Cons

    Cons: -hours can get very long especially in the summer -Non-paid lunch (have to clock out when eating lunch which turns any 8 hour day into a 8 1/2 day)

    Continue reading
    Border States2019-04-11

    Border States Response

    April 16, 2019HR Recruiting Supervisor

    Thanks for the honest feedback on the hours and for pointing out that we are willing to put in the time and resources to fully develop employees into leaders. This is a great place to build a career and wealth for the future.

    Continue reading
  3. "Help Desk Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Supervisor in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee owned shared ESOP. Good medical benefits. Over 100 branches across the USA.

    Cons

    Some growing pains as we have rapidly acquired branches.

    Border States2018-01-08

    Border States Response

    March 15, 2018VP Human Resources

    Thank you for the great comments. Our growth in recent years has had many benefits for employee-owners and our communities. But, you are correct, it has come with challenges. We're excited to tackle them. Not to sound too cliché but the growing pains are also opportunities for career growth and development for our employee-owners. Thanks again for the feedback. Glad you are with BSE!

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time

    Pros

    Lots of room to grow. 100% employee owned.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind. Company is solid.

    Border States2017-10-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time

    Pros

    Shealy Electrical is now a division of Border States and the company is now part of the 8th largest Employee Owned (ESOP) electrical distributor companies in the U.S. By being a part of a larger company, there seems to be more career opportunity for those wishing to advance or seek new roles within the company. All employees are owners in the company.

    Cons

    Not applicable for the moment.

    Continue reading
    Border States2017-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at Border States

    Pros

    Employee owned with a flat management structure

    Cons

    Conservative management can be slow to hire which creates the need for overtime.

    Border States2016-11-02
  7. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time

    Pros

    The company is employee owned, great atmosphere in the branches , and plenty of opportunities for advancement throughout the country.

    Cons

    Training is not always a priority for new hires but a driven employee will not have a problem. Processes are in the works.

    Continue reading
    Border States2016-04-26
  8. "Great employer - the only thing holding you back is you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Trainee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture. Really focused on mentoring all levels of employees. Very open communication. Locations in large cities and in rural areas. You will find a perfect home here! And if you are open to relocation then you will have many opportunities to move up through the organization. Being an employee owned company means that you get out what you put in.

    Cons

    Can only carry over 2 days of vacation. Schedules are rather strict - working from home is generally not acceptable.

    Continue reading
    Border States2016-03-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Respected company with a good track record"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Alliance Pricing Analyst in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good leadership from manager up to Senior Level. Employee-Owned. Promotes safety and wellness. Opportunities to advance. Co-workers are fun to

    Cons

    Lower pay than I expect. Work/Life balance is not ideal for wanting to move up in the business. Not very keen on working from home.

    Continue reading
    Border States2016-02-22
  10. "Employee owned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fargo, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Border States full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall a good company to work for. Employee owned which is nice. I would recommend overall to someone. My team offers good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry standards and there are inconsistencies in how teams are run. My manager is good about flexible scheduling but most are not.

    Continue reading
    Border States2015-08-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 12 reviews