Borgess Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Borgess Health Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Thomas Stover
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises even when you get an excellent review(in 3 reviews)

  • "Two hour meetings where the three managers sit and gossip with each other about higher management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "patient care associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Borgess Health part-time

      Pros

      fast paced and fun work environment

      Cons

      the job can sometimes be stressful

      Borgess Health2018-09-10
    • "Great places to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Activity Therapist 
        Recommends

        I worked at Borgess Health part-time

        Pros

        Nice people and attention to spiritual care

        Cons

        Decent salary but could be better

        Borgess Health2019-04-22
      • "No upside to working here"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Patient Access Specialist in Kalamazoo, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Borgess Health full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Becoming friends with doctors and nurses comes in handy when you’re sick. By coincidence, met some fantastic coworkers.

        Cons

        No raises even when you get an excellent review. Unrealistic expectations of upper and lower management when the work load was meant for a team with at least 3 more people. Health benefits that are lackluster.

        Advice to Management

        Raises based on reviews. Hire more people.

        Borgess Health2019-04-06
      • "No structure. Lack of direction. Very short staffed"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Kalamazoo, MI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Borgess Health full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Pay is ok. Lots of opportunities to get into positions you wouldn’t get into at a hospital that is more structured and well managed.

        Cons

        Lack of direction. Awful management. Lots of union nurses who are awful nurses but rely on the union to protect their job. No one is happy here.

        Advice to Management

        Staff your hospital! Focus on creating better patient outcomes. Developing standardized order sets based on diagnosis and best practice. Appreciate the staff you already have that has stuck with you through it all and stop your awful billing practices. Look at your waste!! Ask your front line staff for help identifying the waste!! Educate your staff!!!!

        Borgess Health2019-01-10
      • "Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Project Manager 

        I worked at Borgess Health full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Great mission, great people

        Cons

        Senior leadership not in touch with operations

        Borgess Health2018-12-23
      • "Medical assistant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Kalamazoo, MI
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Borgess Health

        Pros

        I love everything I do, my co-workers and provider and managers are amazing

        Cons

        The wage we start at.

        Borgess Health2018-10-24
      • "LRT"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Borgess Health full-time

          Pros

          I like the location of the job

          Cons

          getting tired of working 12 hours shifts

          Advice to Management

          do what you can to build morale

          Borgess Health2018-08-21
        • Helpful (1)

          "Poor management"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Dowagiac, MI
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Borgess Health full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Great nurses and other floor employees

          Cons

          Management and administration has poor communication, talks down to staff, changes policy frequently and puts productivity and money over patient and employee satisfaction. A very frustrating and stressful place to work. In addition, nurses are wanted for every possible position and therefore little room to grow and no autonomy as a RRT.

          Advice to Management

          Learn to streamline processes and create better more efficient communication

          Borgess Health2018-08-11
        • "Potential to be great"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Borgess Health full-time

          Pros

          Friendly staff and decent benefits.

          Cons

          Lack of stability and pride in organization. Much needed process improvement.

          Advice to Management

          Stop hiring individuals to just fill the role. Hire quality employees, provide support, and compensate them accordingly to allow them to want to stay with the organization.

          Borgess Health2018-08-08
        • "Good company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Borgess Health

            Pros

            only three days a week and 12 hour shifts

            Cons

            not everyone is friendly so can get frustrating

            Borgess Health2018-07-30
          Found 80 reviews