Boscov's Reviews | Glassdoor

Boscov's Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 253 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Boscov's CEO Jim Boscov
Jim Boscov
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employee discount, friendly coworkers for the most part(in 13 reviews)

  • "Boscovs has a Family type Atmosphere due to being family owned(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "It is or was as low as minimum wage could go(in 10 reviews)

  • "Schedules constantly being changed because upper management doesn't like how the DMs did the schedule(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freight Handler in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boscov's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the Distribution Center. It was a good place to work. Fellow workers were really nice. Management looks out for their employees. The HR department is extremely helpful. You get fair raises for staying and doing a good job. Getting the Boscovs discount was a great benefit too. I only left because I moved out of state.

    Cons

    The one negative is that we were rated on our productivity, but the counting system would frequently malfunction. Management did understand and would take that into account.

    Continue reading
    Boscov's2018-12-01
  2. "Love Retail Envirorment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead for Misses Department in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boscov's full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Coworkers, Benefits, Problem solving,

    Cons

    My Hour Keep Getting Cut

    Boscov's2019-07-31
  3. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Public Relations Manager 

    I worked at Boscov's full-time

    Pros

    Team environment, flexible, and continue to expand

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Boscov's2019-09-12
  4. "How It was working at boscovs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiving in Neshaminy, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boscov's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great People to work with, very nice.

    Cons

    Pay wasn't the best but fair.

    Continue reading
    Boscov's2019-09-04
  5. "Nice people terrible pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inventory Manager 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boscov's full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are great. The job isn't difficult.

    Cons

    It's retail, so count on nights and weekends. No real upward mobility in the company.

    Continue reading
    Boscov's2019-09-09
  6. "Old fashioned hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Department Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boscov's full-time

    Pros

    -Fortunate to work with solid upper management -You will get to meet corporate people face to face and provide them with honest feedback -Lots of repeat customers that you will develop relationship with -Employee discounts

    Cons

    -Old technology systems -more merchandise than can be handled -sometimes high turnover/unreliable employees -long hours

    Boscov's2019-08-21
  7. "Good company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Boscov's part-time

    Pros

    Flexible with schedules. Don’t work you crazy hours.

    Cons

    The pay could be a little better.

    Boscov's2019-08-01
  8. "Boscovs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boscov's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule PTO Bonuses Commissioned depts Good starting job

    Cons

    Hours Call offs Millennials Retail

    Continue reading
    Boscov's2019-06-20
  9. "Aweful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boscov's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Sometimes 1 week holiday pay

    Cons

    Where should I start. Upper management refuses to pay overrides that are owed. Refuses to pay compensation for credit applications. Favoritism to a fault. Outrageous Workplace discrimination! I am surprised there has not been a lawsuit;. Cooperate does absolutely nothing to address discrimination issues.

    Continue reading
    Boscov's2019-07-24
  10. "Christmas help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Pottstown, PA

    I worked at Boscov's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people, good training, nice customers

    Cons

    xmas hours can be long

    Boscov's2019-06-14
Found 253 reviews