Boscov's Reviews

Updated May 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Boscov's Chairman and CEO Jim Boscov
Jim Boscov
138 Ratings
Pros
  • "You receive an employee discount, which comes in handy(in 17 reviews)

  • "Family owned company, Great Discounts, Cares About Employees(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management refuses to pay overrides that are owed(in 13 reviews)

  • "Long hours and have to work holidays(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Team Environment

      Apr 16, 2021 - Sales Associatiate in Pottsville, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Boscovs’s has a friendly environment among coworkers, as well as good benefits including vacation time. The starting rate is good for retail.

      Cons

      Swing shifts and long hours, some days working 4-5 hours, others 9 or even up to 11 or twelve. Scheduling is often not done far enough in advance to allow for good work-life balance and making plans.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Toxic Environment

      May 12, 2021 - Sales Associate in Westminster, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Part-Time workers get vacation time after 6 months as well as health care and 401K.

      Cons

      No flexibility. Will make you work on bad weather days. Co-Workers will harass you if you leave. Mostly if you have not been there multiple years, you mean nothing. I would get yelled at for no reason if they were having a bad day my co-workers would just yell at me. I did all of the busywork. I was in school and covering for adults. I was pulling 40 hours. My mental health went down the drain I asked to have Sundays off for tutoring. They told me I would be terminated. I then asked to drop my hours. They said no. I dealt with a lot of racism as a person of color. I would tell them and they said do not bring racism up.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful Traditional Department Store

      Apr 29, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Eatontown, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice management team, flexible schedules, lots of variety, great discounts, wonderful co workers, medical benefits, nice break room, management involves everyone in store iniatives.

      Cons

      Schedule comes out late on Thursday, so you don't know if you have Sunday off. It would be nice if Saturday and Sunday was at least scheduled together.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Review

      May 9, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management and hours scheduled!

      Cons

      Often short staffed in my experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good retail job

      May 10, 2021 - Stock Associate in Easton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good co workers and culture.

      Cons

      People a little too worried about others business.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Idk

      May 6, 2021 - Sales Associate in Reading, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flex availability especially when you’re in school

      Cons

      You can’t have a life outside of boscovs or they complain. The management tells everyone’s business

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work!

      Apr 13, 2021 - Coworker in Altoona, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company appreciates its employees.

      Cons

      There is not a lot of chance for advancement due to changes made during COVID-19.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Used display,& product placement to increase sales 45% in 2 market areas subsequently tripled internet sales

      Mar 7, 2021 - Sales in Camp Hill, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits At 32 hours per week In store discounted glasses, clothes, housewares

      Cons

      Seasonal displays change w regional manager tours. Monday & Thursdays prices change

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible

      Apr 19, 2021 - Cashier in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None that comes to mind

      Cons

      Overdressed for underpaid positions with long hours and constant nagging from management

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Fun while it lasted

      Apr 20, 2021 - Sales Associate in Albany, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant working environment, good people

      Cons

      Low pay and long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 332 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boscov's Job Seekers

    Department Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    VP Divisional Merchandise Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Boscov's? Share Your Experiences

    Boscov's logo
    or