Cover image for Bose
Logo
See All Photos

Bose

Engaged Employer

Bose

Add a Review

Bose Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 23, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,810 of over 2K reviews
3.9
69% Recommend to a Friend
Bose CEO Lila Snyder
80% Approve of CEO

Found 54 of over 2K reviews

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Bose CEO Lila Snyder
Lila Snyder
177 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with and Good products(in 181 reviews)
  • "good benefits for full time employees(in 102 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance considering retail industry(in 80 reviews)
  • "Great culture of respect and a fun place to work with other like(in 68 reviews)
  • "Good pay and hours.(in 51 reviews)
Cons
  • "The hardest part of working for this specific store was the inadequate management and poor organization my managers seemed to lack.(in 63 reviews)
  • "4 leardership changes in the past 4 years and many layoffs(in 43 reviews)
  • "Terrible upper management (Director up to President).(in 33 reviews)
  • "Low salaries as compared to other retailers(in 27 reviews)
  • "Account managers and senior leadership have a drink the kool aid and head in the sand approach.(in 27 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bose and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company

    Oct 19, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Salary Life/work valence, Environment, Upper management, Benefits ,PTO

    Cons

    Advancement opportunities, Communication,Upper management changes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Engineers, Bloated Management

    Oct 12, 2021 - Software Engineer II in Framingham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Engineers Great projects Good/Cheap R&D Cafeteria Frequent dev products to take home Talented foreign contractors to collaborate with locally when necessary

    Cons

    Bloated management Shifting upper management since 2019 Non-competitive salaries/benefits Most teams have 1-2 employees that cause negative work progress

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Bose team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Intern

    Did not like experience

    Oct 23, 2021 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits but can be improved

    Cons

    Lack of clarity from upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Not what it used to be but still pretty good.

    Feb 15, 2021 - Technician in Framingham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the draw

    Cons

    The upper management has lost their way

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Not the Same Company it Once was

    Apr 22, 2020 - Engineer in Framingham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sadly - None at this time

    Cons

    Terrible upper management (Director up to President). President was fired a couple months ago but that is too little too late. Outsourced all manufacturing and now some of the engineering work to China. This is failing miserably. Offered early retirement and then laid off all of their seasoned talent to be replaced by younger inexperienced people over the past 3 years. This has resulted in new products that literally don't work and/or can't be manufactured so the projects get cancelled. I'm not sure this company is going to survive more than a few years. If it does, it will be a much smaller company. This has all come about over the past 5 years with Dr. Bose's passing. So sad to see. They have announced more layoffs are coming.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Overall, good experience at Bose.

    May 28, 2020 - Sales Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work environment, tuition reimbursement, easy and laid back managers.

    Cons

    Upper management has gone through so many changes no one knows who works there anymore.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Stay away from Bose

    Oct 23, 2020 - User Experience Designer in Framingham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people, good work / life balance

    Cons

    Turnover, constant layoffs, poor upper management

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Ok job for short term

    Sep 14, 2020 - Sales Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Monthly bonuses and good medical benefits

    Cons

    Poor communication from upper management

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Bose has been great for me.

    Jan 14, 2010 -  in Stow, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with are great, the products are generally well perceived, and generally people are well treated. Bose, being a privately held company, has been fairly stable.

    Cons

    The upper management at Bose makes a real effort to walk the talk of respect and fairness. Unfortunately, not all middle management takes that to heart. There is more political intrigue then the should be, or needs to be. There is a management practice duJour mentality that permeates this company. If six sigma is good, seven should be better. I don't know, maybe that's in every company.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Retail segment of company going downhill

    Jun 19, 2017 - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Vacation, Tuition reimbursement, Gym membership reimbursement

    Cons

    There have been a constant amount of changes with middle and upper management, and it is ruining the company. Middle management (District Managers) are slammed and have no time to help their store managers develop and grow. I know of numerous store managers that have left simply because they were going absolutely no where and were getting almost no feedback. One of the worst mistakes this company made was off-shoring our call center and technical support to another country. Now they are laying off upper managers and moving their jobs to other countries.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Bose Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Bose? Share Your Experiences

Bose logo
or

Bose Careers

Cover image for Bose

We're uncompromising innovators. We’re addicted to innovation. It’s what keeps us going, and why curiosity and imagination are so...More

  • What We Do
  • Why We Do It
  • Reach Your Potential
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Bose

212 days ago

Culture
We recently celebrated the start of a new fiscal year- and so we chose to celebrate in style! At our corporate headquarters in Framingham, as well as at events around the world, we paused to convene and enjoy time with friends, food, and fun. Spending an afternoon at work with free food, beverages, live music, product demonstrations and giveaways, games.... not a bad way to start the year! Thanks to all the employees who came together to make this event series great.
Shared image
Logo

Bose

284 days ago

Culture
Black History Month is an annual reminder to reflect on the impact Black people and Black culture have had on the world. This year, we celebrate Black musicians who used their art to give a glimpse into the Black experience. When speeches don’t say enough and snapshots don’t capture the full picture, music has the power to connect us as humans so we can shape our future together. As part of our internal Black History Month celebration, we were thrilled to have two music scholars — Kyle Brooks, PhD. from the Methodist Theological School in Ohio and Deborah Smith Pollard, Ph.D. from the University of Michigan-Dearborn — lead us in conversation about the important role Black protest music plays in uniting all who care about racial equity.
Shared image - Black@Bose: Music is Black History
Black@Bose: Music is Black History
dms.licdn.com
See all

Bose Photos

+ Add Photo
Bose photo of: United Way Bose Gives
Bose photo of: SWE
Bose photo of: Ice Cream Party at HQ
Bose photo of: On the top of the mountain
Bose photo of: Marketing Team Bose Gives
Bose photo of: SXSW
Bose photo of: Bose Sunset
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Bose Job Seekers Also Viewed

Apple Logo
Apple

4.3

34,596 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,811 Bose reviews submitted anonymously by Bose employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Bose is right for you.