Boston Children's Hospital Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Boston Children's Hospital President & CEO Sandra L. Fenwick
Sandra L. Fenwick
370 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great employer and good benefits(in 69 reviews)

  • "It is a great place to transition somewhere else(in 45 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Difficult to move up and low pay(in 58 reviews)

  • "Poor management and no room for growth(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Boston Children's Hospital and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company

      May 5, 2021 - Research Assistant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, large enough to support innovation

      Cons

      Hard to connect with a lot of people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A terrible place to get experience.

      Apr 29, 2021 - Research Assistant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good place if you need to learn to fend for yourself and develop thick skin.

      Cons

      I took the job with mutual understanding that I was new to the type of research the lab was doing, but that I would receive the best training and direction. I worked as a BCH employee, but the lab was at the Harvard School of Public Health. Unfortunately the lab had absolutely no structure. The research associate (who was also my supervisor) I was assisting was off site more than half of the time of my employment and even disappeared for a full week the second week of my employment to attend research conferences. There was no other person in the lab who could provide direction either. Early on I would show up for work and be given no assignments or direction, it would be like "what am I even doing here today?" I had to verify my work hours or activity with the research associate via text or email, because in person contact was rare. Training was also very much a "one and done" experience with the demonstration and too many questions from my end could lead to aggressive criticism. The pay was also poor, in fact my supervisor made special arrangements for me so that I was salaried for what was normally an hourly position. So I never worked under 40 hours, frequently worked 60+ hours a week and got no overtime.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Incredibly Disappointing.

      Feb 10, 2021 - Development Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, incredible mission. I've had the chance to make some life long friends.

      Cons

      Upper management at the Trust is incredibly deceitful. In the span of less than three years, I have been bounced around from team to team without being given any choice in the matter. I have been withheld opportunities to grow and to show the skill sets that I've worked so hard to achieve and I'm never given the chance to express my own opinions or hopes for the future because of the level of my position. The management style on the Planned Giving team is incredibly toxic and has often forced me to leave work stressed and upset. In the span of less than a year, we lost 3 people due to this. The managers are extremely gossipy and have often put me in awkward situations where they've spoken badly about other colleagues and have wanted me to jump in on their "fun." Their behavior is petty, mean and downright unprofessional. They also constantly leave me out of conversations and projects and then turn the blame right to the team and I when something isn't done. Their communication with myself and the rest of the team is completely non existent and their style of handling situations is basically to make you feel like you're a complete screw up.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work for a great organization

      Apr 30, 2021 - Patient Coordinator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management and training for new staff

      Cons

      lack of transparency from management at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice job to get your foot in the door but limited growth opportunities.

      May 4, 2021 - Program Coordinator II in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being able to work in a fast paced work environment and also being able to provide great patient experience.

      Cons

      Administrative duties can be stressful / overwhelming. Feels like leader and management is not supportive (could vary by department).

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best pediatric facility

      Apr 29, 2021 - Nurse in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent place to work and grow.

      Cons

      Can be hectic, fast-moving, stressful.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      BCH research assistant

      Apr 27, 2021 - Clinical Research Assistant II in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      definitely will help with future career

      Cons

      shame can be used as a way to motivate assistants to finish projects

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      good for me at this covid19 year

      Apr 16, 2021 - Applications Development Specialist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ✔️remote working ✔️a little earlier covid19 vaccine ✔️healthy work life balance ✔️work with smartest doctors make you smart ✔️good to feel helping children.

      Cons

      parking near the hospital is expensive lower than competitive salary for a software engineer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of opportunity across the org to learn and develop skills

      Apr 1, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      So many wonderful people work at BCH, and there is so much great work happening. Many employees feel a sense of pride working for BCH. People are willing to connect with you, help you grow, expose you to different opportunities. Great place to learn.

      Cons

      Can be hard to navigate, growth opportunities are there but some departments are better with that than others.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great opportunity, with a great name

      Apr 28, 2021 - Patient Experience Representative in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are amazing and resilient to work with. Working with these kids gives you a great sense of thanks. Amazing benefits.

      Cons

      Consistent paperwork, long hours, low pay, a lot of triaging unhappy parents

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,083 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boston Children's Hospital Job Seekers

    Research Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Research Assistant I
    Learn About the Job
    Patient Experience Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Research Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Quality Improvement Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Clinical Research Specialist II
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Boston Children's Hospital? Share Your Experiences

    or