Boston Children's Hospital "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Children's Hospital Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Mar 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Boston Children's Hospital President & CEO Sandra L. Fenwick
Sandra L. Fenwick
306 Ratings
Pros
  • "You'll get good benefits like insurance, etc(in 59 reviews)

  • "Work life balance, great place to work(in 43 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Data Science Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Great mentor, clean workspace, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Relatively low pay, hard to park

    Boston Children's Hospital2020-03-02
  2. "its great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital full-time

    Pros

    flexible time off and vacation

    Cons

    low pay salary and i have a bachelors

    Boston Children's Hospital2020-01-06
  3. "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Research Assistant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Children's Hospital for less than a year

    Pros

    Very manageable work-load with lots of educational exposure.

    Cons

    Very low pay and hard to move around internally.

    Boston Children's Hospital2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Understaffed, underfunded, undertrained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Specialist I in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -BCH makes accommodations for their clinicians and research faculty (MD/PhD/etc) which allows them to do innovative work that might not be possible elsewhere -Facilities are new and beautiful -Good benefits

    Cons

    If you do not have a doctorate degree, your experiences/opportunities are entirely dependent on how large and well-funded your department is, and if you have a supervisor who cares and is willing to push for you. -Low pay compared to neighboring hospitals, no overtime, very little room for raises or even annual increase for inflation. -No management: I was given so many tasks/projects that I was often working late nights and weekends. I had to manage up with PI's and managers. Lots of egos. -No training: Often told to Google how to do tasks that usually require extensive coursework or certification to do. Departments meant to provide expert technical support are understaffed and also undertrained, meaning they give slow and/or wrong responses often. -No transparency or accountability: Career ladder is very limited for research, and until a couple months ago, written documentation of these ladders was hidden and only available to managers. I did not get any opportunities for my own career development, and when I brought it up with my PI's and manager, they all pointed the finger at each other for whose responsibility it was. When we lost grant funding for my salary, I had to chase after PI's, manager, and HR for weeks to find out what was happening with my job

    Boston Children's Hospital2019-10-02
  5. "Good place for an internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital

    Pros

    Great for gaining experience and a great environment

    Cons

    Low pay, not enough for the typical life expenses in Boston

    Boston Children's Hospital2019-07-05
  6. "Overall good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Experience Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hospital has an amazing mission. The doctors and staff are wonderful to work with and the benefit package is great as well.

    Cons

    Low pay for the amount of work that is being done. Difficult room for growth

    Boston Children's Hospital2019-07-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Experience Representative II in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable job, ability to gain some exposure to other areas

    Cons

    Low pay, micro-management, heavy workload given pay

    Continue reading
    Boston Children's Hospital2019-06-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Hospital Clinically, dedicated and loyal staff

    Cons

    Employee engagement, Silo departments, low pay for admin staff, low vacation time and overall benefits package is sub par

    Boston Children's Hospital2019-04-30
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reputation, bus shuttle, tuition reimbursement, prestige

    Cons

    Toxic culture , low pay, advancement happens for you depending who your friends with. Young Pharmacists here tend to try to ruin techs careers here--- well after they leave. Don't tell them personal info.

    Continue reading
    Boston Children's Hospital2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great hospital; too much focus on proft"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Children's Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Maybe the worlds best children's hospital Great colleague

    Cons

    Pay is low for many jobs Current management too focused on good publicity for themselves and $$$

    Boston Children's Hospital2018-12-06
Found 50 reviews