Boston Children's Museum Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Children's Museum Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Boston Children's Museum CEO Carole Charnow
Carole Charnow
1 Ratings
  1. "Best Place That I've Ever Worked! Fabulous Education Department!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Countdown to Kindergarten Fellow, AmeriCorps in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an amazing environment with supportive staff who genuinely care about the work that they do for children and families. The work that is being done is meaningful and innovative. The programming is cutting edge.

    Cons

    I enjoyed my experience and counted it an honor to work in a place that didn't have so much drama and office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Boston Children's Museum2017-05-05
  2. "Visitor Experience Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Experience Associate in Boston, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good starter job to get a look into how a museum works. Fun atmosphere that fostered staff creativity.

    Cons

    Very low pay. Though some people had managed it, it seemed nearly impossible to advance from visitor services into other museum offices, even with appropriate education and background.

    Boston Children's Museum2018-07-08
  3. "Fun Environment, Bad Management and Little Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - VEA - Cashier in Bostonia, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work has the potential to be very engaging and fun if you throw yourself into it. You get to be creative and learn and contribute a lot.

    Cons

    You are expected to progressively do more work without a raise or promotion, and even if you get one you make hardly any more money. In addition, management is not very responsive and are out of touch with what actually is going on in the museum.

    Advice to Management

    -Pay your workers a livable wage -Credit them for their contributions -Listen to your staff -The customer is not always right, don't throw staff under the bus.

    Boston Children's Museum2017-07-13
  4. "Visitor Experience Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visitor Experience Associate in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's in a museum, which fit my background. Most of the people that work there are very passionate.

    Cons

    Upper management and office staff has very little respect for front of house staff. Pay is so low it felt borderline abusive, especially when a yearly raise is only 30 cents per hour, regardless of performance. Lots of opportunities to grow your responsibilities but very few to increase your pay or change your title. No upward mobility.

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate the fellows program, as it does not actually solve the upward mobility issue. Raise the hourly pay to at least $12, preferably $15. Be respectful to the front of house staff. Offer pay increases or at least bonuses for any additional duties, such as being an exhibit mentor.

    Boston Children's Museum2017-06-23
  5. "Customer Service employees are undervalued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum full-time

    Pros

    As a member of the floor team, you have lots of opportunities to interact with the public and grow as an educator. The Education team is driven and passionate, and programs are high quality.

    Cons

    Management did not care about customer service staff. We were underpaid based upon our experience, taken advantage of, and discriminated against for using paid sick time. There is no support for cashier staff.

    Advice to Management

    Support your low-level employees. It will decrease turnover, increase morale and decrease the need to constantly train new employees. Offer opportunities for professional development and career growth.

    Boston Children's Museum2017-01-18
  6. "Wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Ballet Teacher and Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful co-workers Friendly environment Learning around every corner I was able to cross over from membership into doing a lot more design which is/was my primary focus I got to work across other departments and interact with all aspects of running the museum. Working on the annual gala was extremely fun!

    Cons

    Higher-ups extremely conservative Very limiting in terms of design Strict yet vague dress code for us office dwellers As an intern, there was a lot of busy work involved, but expected!

    Advice to Management

    Think about your web design as more family fun and less corporate. I want to see more focus on the fact that this museum is a non-profit! (donation button year round!) Clarify the dress code a little more

    Boston Children's Museum2016-12-11
  7. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Jamaica Plain, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Children's Museum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BCM has a great Mission and commitment to serving all families in Boston. The staff are talented, creative and passionate. There is never a dull moment. Lots of opportunity to learn new skills. Though there are frequent holiday and weekend hours. Management works with salaried employees to grant time off for important family time.

    Cons

    Salaries are abysmal - it is a non-profit. They're working on it. Not a lot they can do quickly but there is a long term plan. Diversity in Management could be improved.

    Boston Children's Museum2016-07-05
  8. "A great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I worked with at the Museum was really friendly and really hard working. My supervisors were upper management and they went out of their way to make sure I had work to do and to challenge me with tasks. It is in an AMAZING location right in the seaport district a few blocks from South Station.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be boring without any tasks/work to do

    Boston Children's Museum2016-05-11
  9. "Not my favorite"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Development Intern in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum for less than a year

    Pros

    Participated at a couple of events. Had a good boss who taught me how to use RE

    Cons

    Had to work some weekends without pay, on top of an unpaid internship to begin with. Usually did daily tasks other people in development were paid to do as opposed to an intern project where I could really get something out of it. No set time for internship- I thought I would be there for about 3 months, they were under the impression I could stay for over 6 months working unpaid

    Boston Children's Museum2015-12-22
  10. "Good place to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Boston Children's Museum

    Pros

    This organization offers a lot of opportunity for creativity and professional development. Its position in the community also allows you to connect with a lot of other people and groups.

    Cons

    The pay is in line with other museums, but it is not easy to move up within the organization itself, making it hard to stay on for along period of time.

    Boston Children's Museum2015-09-03
Found 19 reviews