Boston Consulting Group Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Consulting Group Associate Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
120 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (15)

    "A romanticized job that doesn't disappoint"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Business support teams make this group a true pleasure to work at. Working day in, day out with some of the highest level minds on the planet. Benefits include: fully paid health coverage for the fam, generous time off for the junior level staff, an industry leading luxury travel policy. Training is person, not career, centered. The training and personal development I've received has provided me with some of... the most valuable advice I've ever received for my life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Negative experiences almost always derive from our position as a client services firm, not internally.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-07-15
  2. "Good company to work at, sometimes not optimum with work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of resources and opportunities to go abroad, great compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Work-life balance and daily stress.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-09-08
  3. "Everyone complains, but we're still here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Interesting work, amazing people, the best benefits possible

    Cons

    WLB can vary depending on projects

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Feel lucky to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable benefits / health insurance, great job perks (travel, team events, etc.), very supportive culture with great people that want to help you grow and succeed

    Cons

    Tough work life balance typical to consulting Going through a lot of growth right now so some changes but seem reasonable

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great network and smart people. Cut-throat competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looking back, I have a lot fond memories of my time at BCG. I also have a lot of bad ones but I'll get to that next. I had a lot of fun with my case teams, and I learned much more than I would have anywhere else. Most of my cases were interesting and I was challenged constantly. Being a part of BCG had tons of perks too - I definitely miss traveling and eating like I used to. But in all seriousness, the network... I built there is going to serve me for life. I don't know if I could have made a better choice out of undergrad.

    Show More

    Cons

    With all the great things I said, they worked us hard. I barely saw some friends for months at a time, between the work and the traveling. I think the worst thing about the company is how competitive it is. I saw a lot of people struggling to figure things out and other associates wouldn't help. Some people were pretty two-faced, and they would act like your friend but would never actually help.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to encourage collaboration and team work

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training Ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Learned so much to help me land a job in a great industry

    Cons

    Extremely demanding and management can be very wound up

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-04
  7. "Associate at BCG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with smart people, fast learning

    Cons

    Very long hours, personal life subject to work needs

    Boston Consulting Group2019-05-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good compensation, but at the cost of personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fair compensation Allows you to gain valuable experience Good exit opportunities

    Cons

    Terrible work-life balance You have to be willing to give up any semblance of a personal life Operating model does not set up new people for success, getting staffed on projects is all about people that you know

    Boston Consulting Group2019-04-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great learning opportunities; grueling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Interesting, impactful casework with well known clients who are leaders in their fields -The smartest, most driving coworkers who will challenge you to grow every day (and many will become life long friends) -Decent comp with great benefits -Amazing office and flexible working style (WFH)

    Cons

    -Hours can be brutal and partners often don't care as long as we are delivering -Enticing opportunities that lead you to BCG aren't always as attainable as they make them seem

    Advice to Management

    Listen when your employees are getting burnt out; don't repeat staff A/Cs on burners

    Boston Consulting Group2019-03-26
  10. "Best company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, a lot of training, great learning curve

    Cons

    Work life balance still has space for improvement

    Boston Consulting Group2019-02-14
Found 260 reviews