Boston Consulting Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Consulting Group Reviews

Updated 22 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2165 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
980 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good comp, slow progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Business Development Management in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, smart people, fast-paced

    Cons

    Poor wlb and few career options for people not in client service

    Advice to Management

    Need to think about career trajectory for BST

    Boston Consulting Group2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic work culture - absence of mentorship - luck based growth rather than outcome based growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Leader in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Brand name: Sadly even today the outside world values a "BCG Consultant" as though they have magical powers. This will change very shortly! Because within BCG, people grow into senior roles without having true leadership skills. Most of the partners do not have good leadership skills.

    Cons

    - Mentorship & leadership: Although this is the aspect that BCG publicizes, this is the one component that is missing completely. 90% of BCGers would be scared to express their true thought process or push back to a P/ PL or Partner in a case. - Work culture: If you are lucky enough to be staffed with a P/ PL who is open to learning alongside you and mentoring you, you will be in constant threat of being... counselled out. If you somehow end up being well liked by your P, you will get good scores irrespective of your true performance. The only factor to success at BCG - Luck! - Diversity & Inclusion: Again an aspect they publicize on, but is completely absent! Just count the number of women partners vs white male partners. Someone with pedigree is valued way higher than someone who doesn't have a fancy Ivy league MBA - even if the latter adds more value, is hard working, motivated and dedicated and is open to feedback. - WLB: I don't think I've ever heard people at BCG use this term - if you ever bring this up with your P/ PL, you can expect to be counselled out post next CDC. - Happiness: You are neither happy at your job given the bad work culture nor happy at home given the bad work culture! It consumes you. People end up going to therapy to deal with the stress and low self confidence. Job security is severely low. One could probably even seek the up-or-out mindset and say that they like the fast paced growth. But the "up" is not dependent on how dedicated you are. The "up" is dependent on your luck in terms of the P/ Partner you end up working with. - Pay: Again another aspect heavily publicized in the positive light. There are many places outside of BCG that pay much better for significantly better WLB. For example: tech, start-ups Advice to folks looking to join BCG: Heavily recommend spending some time on Fishbowl (or similar apps). Fishbowl is an app where current and former consultants share anonymous posts about their experiences pre, post and during their consulting days. This opened my eyes! I wish I had read this before joining the firm.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow what you showcase to the outside world as your principles.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-07-07
  3. "Tremendous Intellectual Challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work with some of the brightest, most innovative people in the world

    Cons

    Two tier society -- consultants and everyone else

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not the right fit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Summit, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are the golden handcuffs. But actually once you leave, you realize benefits are also great at other companies.

    Cons

    You are analyzed for social behavior and cues that are completely unrelated to your actual job performance. The pay is FAR BELOW pay grade for assistants spanned across competitors. The raise is a joke and the bonus after it's taxed at 40% is laughable.

    Advice to Management

    GET NEW MANAGEMENT. This is the poorest job in managing people that I've ever witnessed. They are not invested in employees who represent the values at BCG. What they rely on is fear and micro managing to keep the assistants pigeon holed and afraid but also greatful for their duration at the company. It's sad because the partners are amazing but unfortunately you are managed by the managers.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Neutral experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company culture, fun people, constant learning

    Cons

    Management is often unresponsive to employee concerns High turnover and burn out rate

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great network and smart people. Cut-throat competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Looking back, I have a lot fond memories of my time at BCG. I also have a lot of bad ones but I'll get to that next. I had a lot of fun with my case teams, and I learned much more than I would have anywhere else. Most of my cases were interesting and I was challenged constantly. Being a part of BCG had tons of perks too - I definitely miss traveling and eating like I used to. But in all seriousness, the network... I built there is going to serve me for life. I don't know if I could have made a better choice out of undergrad.

    Show More

    Cons

    With all the great things I said, they worked us hard. I barely saw some friends for months at a time, between the work and the traveling. I think the worst thing about the company is how competitive it is. I saw a lot of people struggling to figure things out and other associates wouldn't help. Some people were pretty two-faced, and they would act like your friend but would never actually help.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to encourage collaboration and team work

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work but not forever for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Leader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, salary, teams, projects, management -> really too many to list

    Cons

    Lifestyle and travel can be draining

    Boston Consulting Group2019-05-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training Ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Learned so much to help me land a job in a great industry

    Cons

    Extremely demanding and management can be very wound up

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-04
  9. "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Consultant 

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time

    Pros

    Real focus on development at every level

    Cons

    Not an easy job, and if you don't want to do it forever, you max out on learning pretty early

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-07
  10. "Long hours, but pros outweigh cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, perks, physical office space

    Cons

    Work-life balance could be better

    Boston Consulting Group2019-06-05
Found 2165 reviews