Boston Consulting Group Summer Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Consulting Group Summer Associate Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Boston Consulting Group CEO Rich Lesser
Rich Lesser
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunities/Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    People are fantastic. Managers are invested in personal growth. High level of transparency regarding expectations/promotions.

    Cons

    Can be draining to travel constantly. Work life balance can be highly case dependent

    Advice to Management

    Best part of this company is investment in each individual's growth. Keep it up as the company grows.

    Boston Consulting Group2017-10-09
  2. "Good company to work at, sometimes not optimum with work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of resources and opportunities to go abroad, great compensation and benefits.

    Cons

    Work-life balance and daily stress.

    Boston Consulting Group2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great experience, little balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for more than a year

    Pros

    great learning and mentoring opportunities

    Cons

    little work life balance despite efforts

    Boston Consulting Group2017-04-21
  4. "Can't imagine being somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Summer Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredibly smart people Dedication to client and providing the right answer and value Great team dynamic

    Cons

    Be ready for plans to blow up in order to finish time-sensitive deliverables, but expect management to help you find a way to do them again Lots of travel can be a great thing, but not always the best for starting relationships

    Boston Consulting Group2016-08-09
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't ask for a better working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible colleagues and supervisors that really care about your progress and development - A culture of feedback and openness - Highly efficient office team and flexible work structure

    Cons

    - Hours are somewhat longer than 40 hrs per week, though work is very engaging - Travel often required for work

    Advice to Management

    Keep the amazing work atmosphere, and convey how great the BCG culture is at recruitment to get that edge over Bain and McKinsey!

    Boston Consulting Group2015-10-26
  6. "Great work, great people, great summer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group

    Pros

    I. Incredible people development: a) Extensive feedback b) Small team structure --> extensive interaction with managers c) Structured and organic peer-to-peer learning and on-the-job learning via rotating case work d) Scholarships for high-performing associates to return to school and acquire masters+ (usually MBA) II. Amazing support resources: a) Very generous expensing/travel policies b) In-house R&D,... production and research teams on-call for consulting staff c) Continual check-in procedures on work-life balance, overall happiness, value added assessments etc. d) Career services and graduate program placement & prep teams available for all

    Show More

    Cons

    I. Difficult work-life balance a) Unpredictable hours b) Heavy travel

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Boston Consulting Group2011-08-01
  7. "Nice people, nice place, nice worl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group

    Pros

    there are a lot of perk : you travel, people there are realy nice, lots of feedback, gorgeous offices and nice place overall

    Cons

    you work a lot, lots of meeting, very challenging job, not for everyone but at the same time interesting and motivating

    Advice to Management

    More communication and more help on work, more guidance and care more about the work charge you ask people to do.

    Boston Consulting Group2010-05-18
  8. "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people and opportunity to contribute to the actual project. Luxurious lifestyle and fantastic benefits (cross-country travel, insanely nice hotels and dinners)

    Cons

    The actual work can be extremely mundane. There was a lot of learning in the first two weeks, but after that, just a lot of Power Point and political, bureaucratic nonsense. Absence of work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Instruct managers on how to conduct feedback sessions-- I often found that the "feedback" session I would have with my manager would be extremely broad and did not help me figure out how I could actually improve. My manager would start every session asking how I thought I was doing instead of giving me her opinion at all.

    Boston Consulting Group2018-10-09
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Associate in Jakarta
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Best consulting firm with great culture, good compensation, great colleagues, and opportunities to learn things fast

    Cons

    Might need to adjust with work life balance, should be fine after few months work.

    Boston Consulting Group2017-01-17
  10. "Hard work but the people make the company great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Summer Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Consulting Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work that is helping shape some of the most influential companies around.

    Cons

    Hours are pretty antisocial but changes quite dramatically from case to case

    Advice to Management

    Healthy snacks that arent nut bars would be great!

    Boston Consulting Group2016-10-10
Found 17 reviews