Boston Market Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Market Reviews

Updated September 17, 2017
421 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boston Market CEO George Michel
George Michel
147 Ratings

421 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • autonomy, use of own vehicle, flexible hours, great management (in 23 reviews)

  • Good food, good discount, free drinks, worked with school schedule (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management doesn't invest in the workforce (in 21 reviews)

  • General manager needs to provide better service to customers (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Passionate People, Great Food and Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time

    Pros

    Boston Market has a ton of passionate employees that care deeply about the success of their employees and their restaurants. There are a lot of examples of employees that started as team members with the company and grew into management level positions. They also have great food that the team can feel proud to serve.

    Cons

    Nothing that is really apparent.

    Boston Market Response

    Feb 17, 2017 – Field Recruiting Specialist

    Your review made us smile! We can tell you’re someone who embraces our vision, mission, and values at Boston Market. Thank you for sharing your insight and keep up the great work!


  2. "Drive-Thru Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Drive Thru Cashier in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Drive Thru Cashier in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere and fun work

    Cons

    No organization and no voice in choosing schedule

    Advice to Management

    Organize better

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we’re sorry to hear your experience was mixed. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve.

  3. "If you need a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time

    Pros

    Will hire anyone if you take the time to fill out an app

    Cons

    Pay and management doesn't really manage. They just kinda hang out noy really working


  4. "Deliver driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boston Market part-time

    Pros

    Good payment. Nice people.

    Cons

    Sometimes are slow. Not always give you hours

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for your great review! We love hearing you’ve had such a positive expedience working at Boston Market. It is people like you that make Boston Market a great place to work!


  5. "Hard, but rewarding work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market part-time

    Pros

    I've been at Boston Market since the start of summer break, and I have to admit it is an OK first job. My coworkers are friendly and thanks to the fast service you don't have to deal with the customers as long as a waitressing job. The menu is easy to learn, and cashiering is probably the best assignment to have when you have a moderate amount of people coming in.

    >Easy Menu
    >Happy Coworkers
    >Free Drinks and 50% off on food
    >Managers sometimes get chocolate or food to brighten up employees
    >customers are usually friendly and fun to talk to
    >it doesn't take long to be moved up to your assigned position
    >during the downtime between rushes things get easier and everyone is happy
    >Generally easy to scedule off time if family emergencies pop up. Off time is usually given if requested within 2-4 weeks before the schedule is posted
    >assistant managers give great advice
    >one of the best paying jobs for a teen, if you have 4-6 months experience they bump you up to ten dollars an hour

    Cons

    The bad sides are pretty clear
    >everything from dishwashing to cashier is hard manual labor
    -General Manager loves to tell people how to do their jobs while not doing hers, getting salaried pay so she can leave and the rest of the work is dumped on all of us clocked in.
    -General Manager creates the schedule, always, and ALLWAYS expect to be put on the weekends or during the buisiest days.
    -General Manager thinks learning happens instantaneously, and not through trial and error
    -General Manager seems to hold long term grudges
    -General Manager gives all the crappy hours and jobs like washing dishes to the new employees and the assistant managers get overburdened with the deadweight
    -cashier assigned to WAAAY too many jobs, you literally have to be everywhere at once to finish on schedule. Cashier does serving, bagging, ringing up, food temperatures, sanitation strips, keeping the hotcase clean, bringing dishes to the dishwasher, wiping tables, sweeping the dining room, cleaning and restocking the drink station, refilling the ice, mopping and restocking bathrooms, wiping down the front window, and a few others. You can see how all of this can add up and make for another hour of work off schedule.
    >Dishwasing is manual and strenuous. I lost 7 pounds in my first two weeks working there
    >when it's understaffed things can get chaotic and you can get assigned to even more jobs you aren't supposed to do. Also you get out later.

    Advice to Management

    +Audit the general managers, make sure they do their job, like adding a clocking system special for the managers
    +Realize that it takes time to learn things.
    +Try to assign peoplewhere you need them. If it's a day that is usually busy, get a server on duty to assist with drive thru and cash
    +distribute side jobs more evenly on busy days so the cashier doesn't have to stay till 10 finishing up after a rush

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 15, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We value all of the reviews we receive on Glassdoor as we want to better understand where we are meeting the needs of our employees and where we can continue to improve.


  6. "Sala r y"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Crew in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Crew in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Ok decent I guess pay could be better

    Cons

    Pp aid less than rent

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for your great review! We love hearing you’ve had such a positive experience working at Boston Market. It is people like you that make Boston Market a great place to work!


  7. "Long hours underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Best standards for clean workplace. Consistent expectations. They have many locations throughout the United States. The training program is outstanding.

    Cons

    Seems that they change the inventory just as bonus are due so you never seem to attain the bonus then a few days later the inventory is correct.

    Advice to Management

    Pay managers better.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we’re sorry to hear your experience was mixed. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve.

  8. "Lots of drama. Decent pay. No hours after Christmas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hourly Shift Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Hourly Shift Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Free food for management.
    Do great and possibility for promotion and regular raises
    My store is flexible in scheduling.

    Cons

    No breaks.
    Mandatory Thanksgiving that will break you.
    Poor communication.
    Upper management and corporate are not down to earth and expect unrealistic results.
    After Christmas (also mandatory) no one gets near 25 hours per week. Overworked you for two months and until July no hours.

    Advice to Management

    Close the restaurant after Christmas. Because having to cut individuals hours to make up for no sales instead right. It should be considered unjustified and cruel.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thanks for the feedback, we’re committed to creating a comfortable and collaborative environment for employees so we’re disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We value and consider all... More


  9. "Boston Market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier

    I worked at Boston Market part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Employees pay half price on food purchases.

    Cons

    When busy, you might work in multiple positions (Ex. cook,cashier, and server)

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    We’re glad to hear that working at Boston Market was such a positive experience for you. Good luck with your future endeavors!


  10. "Overworked and Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Drive Thru Cashier in Chandler, AZ
    Current Employee - Drive Thru Cashier in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, always busy

    Cons

    Have to fight for hours, get paid minimum wage for a busy restaurant, not allowed to take tips from guests, absolutely must work Thanksgiving.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people who don't deserve it, treat your long term employees better.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thanks for the feedback, we’re committed to creating a comfortable and collaborative environment for employees so we’re disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We value and consider all... More


Showing 421 of 423 reviews
Reset Filters