Boston Market Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Market Reviews

Updated September 12, 2017
136 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boston Market CEO George Michel
George Michel
42 Ratings

136 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • autonomy, use of own vehicle, flexible hours, great management (in 23 reviews)

  • Good food, good discount, free drinks, worked with school schedule (in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management doesn't invest in the workforce (in 21 reviews)

  • General manager needs to provide better service to customers (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Hard, but rewarding work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market part-time

    Pros

    I've been at Boston Market since the start of summer break, and I have to admit it is an OK first job. My coworkers are friendly and thanks to the fast service you don't have to deal with the customers as long as a waitressing job. The menu is easy to learn, and cashiering is probably the best assignment to have when you have a moderate amount of people coming in.

    >Easy Menu
    >Happy Coworkers
    >Free Drinks and 50% off on food
    >Managers sometimes get chocolate or food to brighten up employees
    >customers are usually friendly and fun to talk to
    >it doesn't take long to be moved up to your assigned position
    >during the downtime between rushes things get easier and everyone is happy
    >Generally easy to scedule off time if family emergencies pop up. Off time is usually given if requested within 2-4 weeks before the schedule is posted
    >assistant managers give great advice
    >one of the best paying jobs for a teen, if you have 4-6 months experience they bump you up to ten dollars an hour

    Cons

    The bad sides are pretty clear
    >everything from dishwashing to cashier is hard manual labor
    -General Manager loves to tell people how to do their jobs while not doing hers, getting salaried pay so she can leave and the rest of the work is dumped on all of us clocked in.
    -General Manager creates the schedule, always, and ALLWAYS expect to be put on the weekends or during the buisiest days.
    -General Manager thinks learning happens instantaneously, and not through trial and error
    -General Manager seems to hold long term grudges
    -General Manager gives all the crappy hours and jobs like washing dishes to the new employees and the assistant managers get overburdened with the deadweight
    -cashier assigned to WAAAY too many jobs, you literally have to be everywhere at once to finish on schedule. Cashier does serving, bagging, ringing up, food temperatures, sanitation strips, keeping the hotcase clean, bringing dishes to the dishwasher, wiping tables, sweeping the dining room, cleaning and restocking the drink station, refilling the ice, mopping and restocking bathrooms, wiping down the front window, and a few others. You can see how all of this can add up and make for another hour of work off schedule.
    >Dishwasing is manual and strenuous. I lost 7 pounds in my first two weeks working there
    >when it's understaffed things can get chaotic and you can get assigned to even more jobs you aren't supposed to do. Also you get out later.

    Advice to Management

    +Audit the general managers, make sure they do their job, like adding a clocking system special for the managers
    +Realize that it takes time to learn things.
    +Try to assign peoplewhere you need them. If it's a day that is usually busy, get a server on duty to assist with drive thru and cash
    +distribute side jobs more evenly on busy days so the cashier doesn't have to stay till 10 finishing up after a rush

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 15, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We value all of the reviews we receive on Glassdoor as we want to better understand where we are meeting the needs of our employees and where we can continue to improve.


  2. "Long hours underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Former Employee - Assistant General Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Best standards for clean workplace. Consistent expectations. They have many locations throughout the United States. The training program is outstanding.

    Cons

    Seems that they change the inventory just as bonus are due so you never seem to attain the bonus then a few days later the inventory is correct.

    Advice to Management

    Pay managers better.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we’re sorry to hear your experience was mixed. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "My Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to grow within the company. Learn how to multi-task and work in a fast paced environment.

    Cons

    The location I worked at had poor management. Employees and managers were often distracted my drama instead of working. Too many managers coming and going. It was hard to work in a restaurant that was poorly managed. Hours and opportunities to be promoted was no longer earned but handed to managers friends.

    Advice to Management

    Be professional. Set an example for your employees and fellow managers and shift leaders. Step in and help when your employees need help. Don't over work employees.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we’re sorry to hear your experience was mixed. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve.


  4. "Not the worst, not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Driver in Trenton, MI
    Former Employee - Catering Driver in Trenton, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    For the most part it is easy work: cleaning, prepping, delivering, etc. The management and staff are very friendly and fun to work with.

    Cons

    Sometimes you will have to do many different roles with little help. Many times the store would not be stocked and the employees would have to drive to many different locations to get food.

    Boston Market Response

    Sep 21, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, we’re sorry to hear your experience was mixed. We take all feedback into consideration and are always looking for ways to improve.


  5. "Hourly Shift Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time

    Pros

    You become so close with your coworkers.

    Cons

    No sick time, raises are a joke, pay is very minimal for the amount of stuff you are responsible for, barely any vacation time nor bonuses.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your shift managers better they do more work than GMs and AGMs actually do. Also offer benefits for the ones who are in college like most companies do!


  6. "A good starting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market part-time

    Pros

    Discount for food, good co-workers, decent management

    Cons

    Hard to get more than twenty hours a week (so it's good for high schoolers or college students), the way things get done and locations of items get moved with little notice

    Advice to Management

    Train an employee in everything they might have to do. A crew member should know how to man the cash register even if that's not their immediate job.


  7. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market full-time

    Pros

    not a 24 hour business

    Cons

    overly tight on labor budget

  8. "Hsm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HSM in Irving, TX
    Current Employee - HSM in Irving, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Market part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It's a good company to work for

    Cons

    It does not pay well

    Boston Market Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Human Resources Team

    We're glad to hear you believe Boston Market is a good company to work for! It's people like you who make Boston Market a great place to work!


  9. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boston Market part-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Great management

    Cons

    You have to pay your meals.

    Boston Market Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Human Resources Team

    Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear you enjoy the flexible schedule and management at your location!
    Thank you for sharing your feedback and keep up the good work!


  10. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Hackensack, NJ
    Former Employee - Cashier/Server in Hackensack, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Market full-time

    Pros

    Discount on one meal per day

    Cons

    Poor Management, Poor Teamwork, Poor Organizational Skills, Drama

    Boston Market Response

    Jun 28, 2017 – Human Resources Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of working for Boston Market. We're sorry to hear your experience with not a positive one. We take your feedback into consideration and are always... More


Showing 136 of 425 reviews
Reset Filters