Boston Pizza Line Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Pizza Line Cook Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Jordan Holm
0 Ratings
  1. "Work 12hrs don’t get a break"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount on food while at work....too bad they refuse to give breaks most of the time

    Cons

    Doesn’t know what the employee standards act is. Would work multiple shifts for 8plus hours and they would refuse to give breaks. Do not know how to properly plan staff, constantly under staffed which results in the kitchen being slammed and unhappy customers.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the employees standards act and learn to properly schedule.

    Boston Pizza2019-06-13
  2. "Line Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Burlington, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, fun to work at

    Cons

    Not a lot of kitchen structure, messy, not a lot of hours.

    Boston Pizza2019-04-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Line cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Pizza full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Expectations high for pay of minimum wage. No benefits. Schedule unpredictable, and can change with only a few hours notice.

    Boston Pizza2018-12-04
  4. "bp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Kenora, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the people are kind and caring and will do a lot to make you stay

    Cons

    the hours are wacky unless you've worked with them for over a year

    Advice to Management

    don't make someone clock out 1 min before you have to give them a break!

    Boston Pizza2018-12-13
  5. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone looks out for each other's

    Cons

    There are no downsides working ay Boston pizza

    Advice to Management

    Stay on top of things at all times

    Boston Pizza2018-06-22
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Sylvan Lake, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like the people. only reason I said so long.

    Cons

    Sometimes the higerups make mistakes on the menu and make everything look easy. there are some items that ruin a rush.

    Boston Pizza2017-10-10
  7. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Line Cook 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Pizza full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent discount friendly people understanding

    Cons

    Late Hours, Little Room to Move Up

    Boston Pizza2017-10-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Standard Kitchen Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Kingston, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Electronic clock-in and clock-out so your managers can't stiff you on pay - Management would be reasonable about booking time off ahead of time

    Cons

    - Hard thankless work with little pay - They make you do a fair amount of your training (online courses) on your own time at home instead of on the clock.

    Advice to Management

    Kitchen workers are people too.

    Boston Pizza2017-06-20
  9. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Prep/Line Cook in Vancouver, BC

      I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good hours, opportunity to learn various roles i.e. Line Cook, Prep Cook, etc. Coworkers were fun.

      Cons

      Owner/Manager was cheap (if you dropped a slice of pepperoni she'd yell at you and was also cheap with giving gloves for cleaning even using heavy detergents i.e. Ajax), has a short fuse (one time she fired me and phoned me the next day to ask me to come back and one time literally chased me around a kitchen threatening to hit me with a spatula)

      Advice to Management

      Don't take advantage of employees' good nature, employees being polite and willing to do your bidding is not an invitation to be figuratively pushed over or walked on

      Boston Pizza2017-02-01
    • "Good Start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Line Cook in Kitchener, ON
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Pizza

      Pros

      Good place to learn how to work in a kitchen

      Cons

      no gaurentee of hours until you learn all skills needed

      Advice to Management

      Better Pay

      Boston Pizza2016-11-03
    Found 22 reviews