Boston Pizza "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Pizza Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated Dec 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Boston Pizza President Jordan Holm (no image)
Jordan Holm
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good tips in the right neighbourhoods(in 21 reviews)

  • "small discount on food when ordering after a shift(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Always short staffed and long hours(in 23 reviews)

  • "No benefits as a server, but tips definitely make up for it(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fake Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small discount on food when ordering after a shift

    Cons

    Hired under false pretences, I took the job with the agreement that I'd work no more than 1-2 shifts a week when school started, they gave me 5 a week until they fired me for having incompatible schedules. I wouldn't have taken the job if that was told to me ahead of time. they were short staffed and needed people asap. waste of my time. disrespectful. fired me over the phone.

    Boston Pizza2019-12-14
  2. "Badly Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Banff, AB

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly busy, fun team, discounts on food

    Cons

    Kitchen staff was extremely rude, screamed at you daily, the restaurant closed without any notice. I never got my T4 even after calling the main office in Vancouver.

    Advice to Management

    Promote kindness!

    Boston Pizza2019-11-25
  3. "Hostess at Boston pizza"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host 

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounts on food and great co-workers

    Cons

    Scheduling was difficult to balance

    Boston Pizza2019-09-17
  4. "Work 12hrs don’t get a break"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount on food while at work....too bad they refuse to give breaks most of the time

    Cons

    Doesn’t know what the employee standards act is. Would work multiple shifts for 8plus hours and they would refuse to give breaks. Do not know how to properly plan staff, constantly under staffed which results in the kitchen being slammed and unhappy customers.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the employees standards act and learn to properly schedule.

    Boston Pizza2019-06-13
  5. "Hostess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess/Server in Peterborough, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great customers. Great discounts on food

    Cons

    Rude management, no positive appraisal only what you’ve done wrong

    Advice to Management

    A little encouragement can go a long way. Your staff want to come to work and feel appreciated.

    Boston Pizza2019-03-27
  6. "TERRIBLE PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boston Pizza full-time

    Pros

    the staff was great and good food discount

    Cons

    the terrible treatment from management

    Advice to Management

    be better

    Boston Pizza2018-08-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Doesn’t feel like you’re working for a big company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Huntsville, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston Pizza part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money (when busy) Discount on food (only when working) Friendly co-workers Easy to learn the menu Drink menu pretty straight forward

    Cons

    Owners demand big tip out 4% (goes directly into their pocket) Having to pay into a “staff fund” every shift (illegal) Either really busy and you’re overworked or super slow and you get no hours Feels very unorganized worked here over a year and never met the owner Management loves to stir the pot when it comes to gossip and harassment

    Boston Pizza2018-04-19
  8. "A little bit overstaffed, could be managed better. Nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dishwasher in Abbotsford, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discounts on food (50% usually). People are pretty nice.

    Cons

    Hard to get hours unless you're a senior

    Boston Pizza2018-04-10
  9. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full training, good tips, discount on food. Overall friendly staff and relaxed team. No breaks but that’s the usual for the restaurant industry.

    Cons

    Management was cheap and hot tempered. Training process was a little long especially if you have had prior serving experience.

    Boston Pizza2018-03-11
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boston Pizza part-time

    Pros

    1, Teamwork, I like to work there 2, Food discount

    Cons

    1, Night shift too long

    Boston Pizza2017-12-25
Found 18 reviews